SOCIAL NOTWORKING website Facebook has just come up with a cunning plan to be even more annoying to its users.
If you check in to a store or click the "like" button for a product, Facebook will transmit your actions onto your mates' pages as a "Sponsored Story" paid for by advertisers.
Facebook in its wisdom has decided that no matter how much you might not want it to do this, there is no way for you to opt out of it.
The social notworking operation claims that this lets advertisers promote word-of-mouth recommendations that people already made on the website.
It claims that people do lots of things on Facebook that get lost in a mass of links, photos, status updates and other content users share on what is now the world's largest social network.
Facebook said that it will keep the same privacy setting that the original posting had. So if you limit your check-ins to a specific group of friends, only those same friends will see the "Sponsored Story" version later.
Marc Rotenberg, executive director of the Electronic Privacy Information Center, said in this case the company is making money off a person's name or likeness without their consent.
Certainly there is no way that many people will want to see their name associated with some product that they just happen to have bought, particularly if it turned out to be a lemon. µ
X marks the smart home
The lens said the better
Samsung is planning a camera 'overhaul'