The Inquirer-Home

Opinion

The US net neutrality saga is a lesson to the world

Opinion The wrong people had too much power, and it's not over yet

Fri Feb 27 2015, 17:54

Why Bill Gates is wrong about AI, and smart systems aren't so smart

Bring on the robots

Fri Feb 06 2015, 14:25

The only good patent is a fair patent, or no patent

Column The patent system needs to foster innovation, not feather nests

Fri Jan 16 2015, 15:32

Highlights and lowlights of technology 2014

What we at The INQUIRER loved and loathed about the past 12 months

Fri Dec 26 2014, 09:15

The video games engine and movie post-production gap is closing

Column Games engines will liberate directors from the restraints of post-production processes

Fri Dec 05 2014, 17:08

In praise of puny humans

Column Or why technology won't rise up against us

Fri Nov 14 2014, 15:27

Backlash will render mass surveillance moot

Column The people and the market will defeat it

Fri Oct 24 2014, 16:33

Forget Windows 10, I want to know what happened to Windows 9

Column What foul creature darkened Redmond's development door?

Fri Oct 03 2014, 15:00

Don't let the tech giants kill your gadgets before their time

Skype should still work on 'ancient' Galaxy phone

Fri Aug 29 2014, 15:20

BYOD security involves trade-offs on both sides

Column Professor Alan Woodward says bring your own device requires a fresh approach to security

Fri Aug 08 2014, 12:59

The ATOS debacle shows Westminster is clueless about IT

Column Deja vu all over again

Fri Jul 18 2014, 15:07

Wearable technology cannot be trusted

Column A 135 mile trek across the Outer Hebrides showed it isn't ready yet

Fri Jun 27 2014, 14:54

Reset the Net: Please keep pressing the button

We should fight them on the blogs

Fri Jun 06 2014, 14:33

Virtual assistants like Siri, S Voice and Google Now are futile

Column People won’t get on board with voice-activated software

Fri May 16 2014, 12:00

If we are in another tech bubble, the FCC just burst it

Column Net neutrality rules show we've learnt nothing from the past

Fri Apr 25 2014, 13:56

[Brendan] Eich Carumba: The difficult marriage of politics and business

Column Brendan Eich might have been a good CEO, but Mozilla will never know

Fri Apr 04 2014, 13:01

Don't shun the Internet of Things over privacy and security worries

Column We have the chance to enforce data protection

Fri Mar 21 2014, 16:50

How to learn a lesson for just £2 or 0.01MB

Column Or, my apology to anyone who has ever incurred an unexpected data charge

Fri Feb 20 2015, 13:11

Windows 10 has the potential to save Windows Phone

Column Microsoft is trying to beat Apple at its own game

Fri Jan 30 2015, 13:00

CES 2015: Why I'm disappointed that drones, wearables and TVs dominated this year's show

Column More lowlights than highlights

Fri Jan 09 2015, 14:50

Black Mirror: White Christmas brings a hyper-real version of the Internet of Things

Brooker's twisted take on tech retains its distant plausibility

Wed Dec 17 2014, 12:25

Disney princesses show Barbie how to get kids to code

Frozen's Anna and Elsa lead the charge for women in IT

Fri Nov 28 2014, 14:00

FCC chairman Wheeler's 'hybrid' proposal is questionable

Column Skullduggery is afoot in Washington, DC

Fri Nov 07 2014, 15:06

The Apprentice on wearables shows the risks the market faces

Column Wearable? More like unbearable - and burnable

Fri Oct 17 2014, 15:34

It's time to put US cable companies in their place

Column To preserve net neutrality and foster more competition

Fri Sep 12 2014, 14:00

Microsoft can and should change the name of Internet Explorer

Column Finally, something else that we can agree on

Fri Aug 22 2014, 15:00

CERN's open source commitment shows the IT industry how it's done

Column Open source IT is the future

Fri Aug 01 2014, 13:18

A drip drip drip approach to DRIP would have been preferred

Column Fools rush in to legislate, the wise oppose it

Fri Jul 11 2014, 14:00

BYOD is the wave of the future

Column It'll be a sea change, but will be worth the cost

Fri Jun 20 2014, 17:50

Hold up: Apple's $3bn Beats buy could be one of its smartest moves

Opinion Don't be so quick to criticise

Thu May 29 2014, 12:38

The Internet of Things is already here

Column It will expand, so we need to make good decisions

Fri May 09 2014, 15:40

Looking to its past won't save Blackberry's future

Column Perhaps giving up on mobile phones will

Mon Mar 31 2014, 15:20

AI will play a vital role in our future, just don't expect robot butlers

Column Artificial Intelligence is becoming more commonplace by the day

Fri Mar 14 2014, 15:37

HP's Sprout computer proves the desktop isn't dead

Column The most innovative computing device I've seen in a long time

Fri Feb 13 2015, 16:33

Project Zero's vigilantism is harming Google's 'Don't Be Evil' buzz

Column It's not the Messiah, it's a very naughty boy

Fri Jan 23 2015, 12:19

New year in tech: Wishes and fears for 2015

What we can't wait for, and what we're dreading

Thu Jan 01 2015, 09:55

Government's data-grabbing hands just won't let go

Opinion DRIP is slow water torture and we are drowning in stupidity

Fri Dec 12 2014, 15:25

Here's why we've not been reporting on Uber

Column As Ubergate rumbles on, time to bring you up to speed

Thu Nov 20 2014, 14:47

Nexus 6 destined to flop owing to high price and pre-order disaster

Column Google demonstrates how not to release a smartphone

Fri Oct 31 2014, 14:36

Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they can't log your keystrokes

Column Windows 10 privacy scoop has gone on a world tour of missing the point

Fri Oct 10 2014, 16:42

The fat cat, the cloud, and the little old lady

Column An allegory for the virtual data age

Fri Sep 05 2014, 14:59

Wearables will transform the healthcare industry

Column But it won't happen quickly

Fri Aug 15 2014, 15:33

Apple-IBM deal will save the iPad

Column Apple is right to target BYOD to turn around tablet sales

Fri Jul 25 2014, 08:00

Voice Memos glitch in iPhone exposes the peril of relying on free apps

Column Lost audio files show the right kit is worth the money

Fri Jul 04 2014, 15:00

I'm not quite ready to trust my pet robot yet

Column Passing the Turing Test doesn't strike me as a good thing

Fri Jun 13 2014, 15:03

eBay: How not to handle a security breach

Column The auction website has failed its customers over password reset

Fri May 23 2014, 17:02

Apple should be more worried about Chromebooks than Microsoft

Column The tale of my Macbook disaster

Fri May 02 2014, 12:48

Galaxy S5 could finally convince Apple fans to ditch the iPhone

Column iPhone 6 needs huge overhaul to keep buyers away from Android

Fri Apr 11 2014, 16:36

Windows XP isn't going to disappear in 10 days

Column Microsoft shouldn't rely on upgrade cash

Fri Mar 28 2014, 14:17
Page 1 of 7
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Existing User
Please fill in the field below to receive your profile link.
Sign-up for the INQBot weekly newsletter
Click here
INQ Poll

Microsoft Windows 10 poll

Which feature of Windows 10 are you most excited about?