The Inquirer-Home

Opinion

Black Mirror: White Christmas brings a hyper-real version of the Internet of Things

Brooker's twisted take on tech retains its distant plausibility

Wed Dec 17 2014, 12:25

Disney princesses show Barbie how to get kids to code

Frozen's Anna and Elsa lead the charge for women in IT

Fri Nov 28 2014, 14:00

FCC chairman Wheeler's 'hybrid' proposal is questionable

Column Skullduggery is afoot in Washington, DC

Fri Nov 07 2014, 15:06

The Apprentice on wearables shows the risks the market faces

Column Wearable? More like unbearable - and burnable

Fri Oct 17 2014, 15:34

It's time to put US cable companies in their place

Column To preserve net neutrality and foster more competition

Fri Sep 12 2014, 14:00

Microsoft can and should change the name of Internet Explorer

Column Finally, something else that we can agree on

Fri Aug 22 2014, 15:00

CERN's open source commitment shows the IT industry how it's done

Column Open source IT is the future

Fri Aug 01 2014, 13:18

A drip drip drip approach to DRIP would have been preferred

Column Fools rush in to legislate, the wise oppose it

Fri Jul 11 2014, 14:00

BYOD is the wave of the future

Column It'll be a sea change, but will be worth the cost

Fri Jun 20 2014, 17:50

Hold up: Apple's $3bn Beats buy could be one of its smartest moves

Opinion Don't be so quick to criticise

Thu May 29 2014, 12:38

The Internet of Things is already here

Column It will expand, so we need to make good decisions

Fri May 09 2014, 15:40

Looking to its past won't save Blackberry's future

Column Perhaps giving up on mobile phones will

Mon Mar 31 2014, 15:20

AI will play a vital role in our future, just don't expect robot butlers

Column Artificial Intelligence is becoming more commonplace by the day

Fri Mar 14 2014, 15:37

MWC: Nokia's Android shift could be its smartest move yet

Column It might be just crazy enough to work

Mon Feb 24 2014, 14:30

Xbox needs to be top of the agenda for new Microsoft CEO

Column Nadella needs to work on growth in mobile and gaming hardware

Thu Feb 06 2014, 16:41

Microsoft should just rename Windows XP as Windows 9

Scare tactics won't make Windows XP users upgrade

Fri Jan 17 2014, 16:38

Government's data-grabbing hands just won't let go

Opinion DRIP is slow water torture and we are drowning in stupidity

Fri Dec 12 2014, 15:25

Here's why we've not been reporting on Uber

Column As Ubergate rumbles on, time to bring you up to speed

Thu Nov 20 2014, 14:47

Nexus 6 destined to flop owing to high price and pre-order disaster

Column Google demonstrates how not to release a smartphone

Fri Oct 31 2014, 14:36

Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they can't log your keystrokes

Column Windows 10 privacy scoop has gone on a world tour of missing the point

Fri Oct 10 2014, 16:42

The fat cat, the cloud, and the little old lady

Column An allegory for the virtual data age

Fri Sep 05 2014, 14:59

Wearables will transform the healthcare industry

Column But it won't happen quickly

Fri Aug 15 2014, 15:33

Apple-IBM deal will save the iPad

Column Apple is right to target BYOD to turn around tablet sales

Fri Jul 25 2014, 08:00

Voice Memos glitch in iPhone exposes the peril of relying on free apps

Column Lost audio files show the right kit is worth the money

Fri Jul 04 2014, 15:00

I'm not quite ready to trust my pet robot yet

Column Passing the Turing Test doesn't strike me as a good thing

Fri Jun 13 2014, 15:03

eBay: How not to handle a security breach

Column The auction website has failed its customers over password reset

Fri May 23 2014, 17:02

Apple should be more worried about Chromebooks than Microsoft

Column The tale of my Macbook disaster

Fri May 02 2014, 12:48

Galaxy S5 could finally convince Apple fans to ditch the iPhone

Column iPhone 6 needs huge overhaul to keep buyers away from Android

Fri Apr 11 2014, 16:36

Windows XP isn't going to disappear in 10 days

Column Microsoft shouldn't rely on upgrade cash

Fri Mar 28 2014, 14:17

An online BBC Three could be the next Netflix

Column We're already watching IPTV anyway

Fri Mar 07 2014, 15:05

Facebook's Whatsapp buy is a privacy nightmare for users, but it makes sense for the social network

Column It's not just your details it wants

Thu Feb 20 2014, 13:30

The UK government needs to stop fumbling with internet pornography

Column Responsibility for internet use should be given back to homeowners

Fri Jan 31 2014, 15:48

Are curved screen UHD TVs a marketing gimmick?

Column Why the TV announcements at CES have 'curved' my enthusiasm

Fri Jan 10 2014, 15:59

The video games engine and movie post-production gap is closing

Column Games engines will liberate directors from the restraints of post-production processes

Fri Dec 05 2014, 17:08

In praise of puny humans

Column Or why technology won't rise up against us

Fri Nov 14 2014, 15:27

Backlash will render mass surveillance moot

Column The people and the market will defeat it

Fri Oct 24 2014, 16:33

Forget Windows 10, I want to know what happened to Windows 9

Column What foul creature darkened Redmond's development door?

Fri Oct 03 2014, 15:00

Don't let the tech giants kill your gadgets before their time

Skype should still work on 'ancient' Galaxy phone

Fri Aug 29 2014, 15:20

BYOD security involves trade-offs on both sides

Column Professor Alan Woodward says bring your own device requires a fresh approach to security

Fri Aug 08 2014, 12:59

The ATOS debacle shows Westminster is clueless about IT

Column Deja vu all over again

Fri Jul 18 2014, 15:07

Wearable technology cannot be trusted

Column A 135 mile trek across the Outer Hebrides showed it isn't ready yet

Fri Jun 27 2014, 14:54

Reset the Net: Please keep pressing the button

We should fight them on the blogs

Fri Jun 06 2014, 14:33

Virtual assistants like Siri, S Voice and Google Now are futile

Column People won’t get on board with voice-activated software

Fri May 16 2014, 12:00

If we are in another tech bubble, the FCC just burst it

Column Net neutrality rules show we've learnt nothing from the past

Fri Apr 25 2014, 13:56

[Brendan] Eich Carumba: The difficult marriage of politics and business

Column Brendan Eich might have been a good CEO, but Mozilla will never know

Fri Apr 04 2014, 13:01

Don't shun the Internet of Things over privacy and security worries

Column We have the chance to enforce data protection

Fri Mar 21 2014, 16:50

How to foil the NSA and GCHQ with strong encryption

Column Now is the time to secure your communications

Fri Feb 28 2014, 16:05

In-app purchases are evil

Column If I buy an app, I've bought an app

Fri Feb 14 2014, 17:45

As the Apple Mac turns 30, we need another computer revolution

Column We wonder what will replace the graphical user interface

Fri Jan 24 2014, 16:34
Page 1 of 7
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Internet of Things at Christmas poll

Which smart device are you hoping Santa brings?