The Inquirer-Home

Chips

MWC: Intel pledges to keep Google's Android safe from hackers

Also signs up Asus, Dell and Lenovo to develop Intel mobile devices

Tue Feb 25 2014, 09:43

Intel CEO talks up wearables, 3D printing, Moore's Law and Apple in Reddit AMA

Brian Krzanich hints at a wearable device he can't talk about yet

Thu Feb 20 2014, 11:52

Hackers exploit Internet Explorer 10 zero-day bug in targeted attacks on military

Update to IE 11 to dodge the risk of attack - or just use Chrome

Fri Feb 14 2014, 11:23

Liquid nitrogen cooled notebook sets overclocking record with Intel Celeron 900

A Chinese man breaks the single-core CPU record with a CPU frequency of 4GHz

Wed Feb 12 2014, 15:12

Broadcom chips with Android 4.4 Kitkat support to bring 4G to budget smartphones

Turnkey chips tout 150Mbps LTE radios so OEMs can ship cheap 4G handsets

Mon Feb 10 2014, 16:14

ARM posts record earnings for Q4 2013, profits up 19 percent

Almost a quarter increase in revenues for 2013

Tue Feb 04 2014, 10:17

Intel will close its Appup store for Windows PCs on 11 March

Apparently no one used it

Thu Jan 30 2014, 12:34

AMD reports strong earnings thanks to PS4 and Xbox console sales

CEO Rory Reed expects the momentum to continue

Thu Jan 23 2014, 13:33

Intel to slash over 5,000 jobs following 2013 revenue slump

The chip maker will cut its global workforce by five percent

Mon Jan 20 2014, 10:33

AMD's Kaveri APU ships today touting 50 percent higher GPU performance

The first to boast heterogeneous system architecture

Tue Jan 14 2014, 13:00

CES: AMD finally unveils 28nm APU Kaveri to battle Intel Haswell

First APU to feature heterogeneous system architecture (HSA)

Tue Jan 07 2014, 16:30

CES: Acer Iconia A1-830 tablet video demo

We check out Acer's latest affordable Android tablet

Mon Jan 06 2014, 13:15

Nvidia launches Grid virtual GPU with Citrix for graphics-intensive remote working

Allows designers and software engineers to work from anywhere on portable devices

Thu Dec 19 2013, 14:42

Qualcomm Snapdragon 805 processor to bring 4K to smartphones

Designed to deliver Ultra HD quality video, imaging and graphics to mobile devices

Wed Nov 20 2013, 17:22

Nvidia announces 'fastest' 12GB GPU accelerator for supercomputing

Set to rival AMD's Firepro S10000 12GB GPU

Mon Nov 18 2013, 16:56

AMD eyes Intel Bay Trail with Mullins and Beema mobile APU updates

Better performance and efficiency for fanless tablets, laptops and two-in-one devices

Wed Nov 13 2013, 22:15

Nvidia takes on AMD R9 series with Geforce GTX 780 Ti gaming GPU

Claims to be 'the planet's best gaming GPU'

Fri Nov 08 2013, 12:12

MWC: Qualcomm outs 64-bit octa-core chips, the Snapdragon 610 and 615

Also the Snapdragon 801 SoC

Mon Feb 24 2014, 16:19

Qualcomm cans Snapdragon 802 Smart TV chip due to low demand

Released and killed in just over a month

Mon Feb 17 2014, 11:34

Mediatek unveils an ARM octa-core 4G mobile chip

Claims its MT6595 SoC is the first of its kind

Wed Feb 12 2014, 11:23

IBM reportedly is considering selling its semiconductor business

Could see complete sale or partnership

Fri Feb 07 2014, 16:22

IBM demonstrates a functioning graphene circuit

Your phone could end up smaller and lighter

Fri Jan 31 2014, 16:18

Qualcomm posts better than expected earnings for Q1

Still slightly under analysts expectations

Thu Jan 30 2014, 10:57

Texas Instruments to cut 1,100 jobs despite profit growth

Will slash three percent of global workforce as revenues increase by two percent

Wed Jan 22 2014, 12:22

Intel revenues fell in 2013 due to flagging PC market

But the Windows XP transition helped in the fourth quarter

Fri Jan 17 2014, 12:14

Intel launches 22nm Xeon E5-2400 v2 chips for servers

10 core prcoessor is aimed at server, storage and communication systems

Fri Jan 10 2014, 16:11

CES: Valve entices 13 partners including Alienware to build Steamboxes

Prices range from $500 to $2,500, no word on release date

Tue Jan 07 2014, 07:45

Intel, AMD, Nvidia, ARM and Qualcomm: 2013 chips roundup

The past year in all things silicon

Mon Dec 30 2013, 11:30

Intel and Barcelona FC sign technology deal

Intel Inside shirts

Fri Dec 13 2013, 12:35

Mediatek unveils first octa-core mobile SoC

Eight to say I told you so

Wed Nov 20 2013, 17:03

World record for quantum memory smashed

A quantum leap

Fri Nov 15 2013, 17:04

Intel is in the Kno

Chipmaker adds to its education portfolio

Mon Nov 11 2013, 15:59

Amazon Web Services adds G2 instances with Nvidia Grid GPUs

Will allow internet connected devices, such as smartphones, to tap the power of GPUs

Tue Nov 05 2013, 17:36

MWC: Intel launches 22nm Atom Moorefield and Merrifield 64-bit mobile chips

Promises to be faster than Apple A7 chip

Mon Feb 24 2014, 09:00

IBM Labs researchers break a speed record for Big Data

Could help boost internet speeds to 400Gbps at 'extremely low power'

Fri Feb 14 2014, 14:10

Rise in PC gaming sees Nvidia post better than expected Q4 earnings

Nvidia's GPU sales for desktop PCs are up despite flagging PC market

Thu Feb 13 2014, 14:16

ARM outs chip designs for 2015 mid-range smartphones and tablets

Includes the Mali-T720 GPU and Cortex-A17 CPU to boost future performance

Tue Feb 11 2014, 16:57

AMD touts ARM based server processor specifications

Claims it's a tipping point

Fri Feb 07 2014, 16:03

AMD launches Mantle API via Catalyst 14.1 beta drivers

AMD's answer to Directx 11 is finally available to the public

Fri Jan 31 2014, 14:02

Qualcomm swallows Palm and buys some mobile patents from HP

Which cover mobile operating system features

Fri Jan 24 2014, 12:32

AMD outs 12 and 16 core additions to Opteron processor series

Built to handle heavily virtualised workloads in the enterprise

Wed Jan 22 2014, 11:35

Intel mothballs a semiconductor plant due to slowing PC market

Fab 42 remains an empty shell

Wed Jan 15 2014, 17:24

CES: Intel talks up Edison micro computer

Intel details the company's mini machine with Linux and WiFi

Thu Jan 09 2014, 16:32

CES: Intel says microprocessors will become emotionally smarter than humans

Get those emoticons ready

Tue Jan 07 2014, 00:43

ARM chip server outfit Calxeda shuts down

Server serving hatch closes

Fri Dec 20 2013, 15:10

Processor chip market soars due to growing demand for smartphones and tablets

Intel still dominates despite decline in market share

Wed Nov 27 2013, 11:40

Samsung's Galaxy S5 will be powered by a 64-bit ARM Exynos 6 chip

128-bit architecture isn't far away

Wed Nov 20 2013, 13:53

AMD announces 'industry's first' 12GB supercomputing server graphics card

Firepro S10000 12GB GPU is for big data high performance computing

Fri Nov 15 2013, 16:43

Bring, buy or choose your work smartphone, tablet and laptop?

Share your views on the best approach to mobile at work

Mon Nov 11 2013, 15:34
Page 3 of 107
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Apple announces the iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus and Apple Watch

Which of Apple's new products will you be buying?