The Inquirer-Home

Patents

Samsung argues marketing, not copying Apple's iPhone, drove smartphone success

Kicks off week two of patents trial with all guns blazing

Tue Apr 15 2014, 10:53

Microsoft and Dell get cosy on Android, Chrome and Xbox patents

As Spherix sues Cisco over precious Nortel patents

Thu Mar 27 2014, 11:22

Google and Samsung are not happy about Microsoft's Nokia buyout

Firms claim deal will result in higher patent licensing fees

Mon Mar 03 2014, 13:42

Samsung inks a patents cross-licensing deal with Cisco

Will allow more room to innovate without fear of litigation

Thu Feb 06 2014, 11:27

Twitter acquires 900 IBM patents to avoid legal spat

Microblogging website settles with IBM

Fri Jan 31 2014, 15:13

Candy Crush maker King trademarks the word 'candy'

Updated Says move is to stop companies 'constantly' infringing its IP

Wed Jan 22 2014, 10:44

HTC avoids One Mini and One Max ban despite Nokia patent win

UK Court of Appeals rules in Taiwanese phone maker's favour

Fri Dec 13 2013, 10:58

EU regulator warns Nokia not to become a patent troll

Will keep a close eye on it

Mon Dec 09 2013, 13:37

We could all have owned jetpacks

Column This silo culture just debases science

Fri Nov 08 2013, 14:30

Google will let Glass users 'heart' things

You are going to <3 this

Wed Oct 16 2013, 13:39

Nokia scores a legal victory over HTC at US ITC

Taiwanese firm could see products pulled from shelves

Tue Sep 24 2013, 10:49

ITC orders import ban on some Samsung products that infringe Apple patents

Obama set to decide Samsung's fate

Mon Aug 12 2013, 12:20

Apple can't add Samsung's Galaxy S4 to patent lawsuit

San Jose court rules

Thu Jun 27 2013, 15:55

Samsung gets the iPhone 4, iPad banned in the US

Updated ITC rules Apple's iDevices infringe a Samsung data patent

Wed Jun 05 2013, 12:35

Nokia goes after the HTC One with another patent lawsuit

Adds nine patents to ongoing legal war

Fri May 24 2013, 11:03

New Zealand bans software patents

Does the IT industry a favour

Thu May 09 2013, 14:38

Nokia says EU patent system could impede innovation

Although says patent litigation is not a bad thing

Tue Apr 30 2013, 13:20

Samsung blasts $2bn Apple patents case as 'attack on Android'

Apple is having none of it

Wed Apr 02 2014, 10:24

Apple wants Samsung to pay $40 in patent royalties per Android device

Samsung smartphones and tablets might get more expensive

Thu Mar 13 2014, 11:12

Apple and Samsung play happy families in EU patent trolling letter

The enemy of their enemy is their friend

Tue Feb 25 2014, 13:40

Apple is hit with a patent lawsuit over A7 chip in the iPhone 5S, iPad Air

US university claims Apple pinched its patented processor technology

Tue Feb 04 2014, 15:16

Samsung and Google reach landmark patent accord

Ericsson is along for the ride

Mon Jan 27 2014, 10:58

Apple and Samsung call in marriage guidance counsellors

Bickering couple agree to mediation

Thu Jan 09 2014, 12:51

Samsung fails to ban the iPhone and iPad in South Korea

Court rules that Apple's iDevices do not infringe Samsung patents

Thu Dec 12 2013, 12:45

Nokia gets the HTC One Mini and One Max banned in the UK

Updated But fails to get the HTC One removed from shelves

Tue Dec 03 2013, 16:29

Motorola wants you to tattoo a microphone onto your neck

I ink therefore I am

Fri Nov 08 2013, 14:08

HTC One will get chip redesign to avoid wrath of Nokia

HTC and Qualcomm look to avoid US sales ban

Wed Oct 02 2013, 11:04

Obama cancels ITC import ban on older Apple iPhone and iPad devices

Samsung will appeal the ruling

Mon Aug 05 2013, 10:08

Samsung in talks to settle EU antitrust case over Apple patent abuse

Wants to avoid a fine

Tue Jun 25 2013, 17:01

Samsung's Galaxy Tab 10.1 doesn't copy the iPad, Dutch court rules

Updated Samsung scores another victory over Apple

Mon Jun 03 2013, 11:43

Apple adds Samsung Galaxy S4 to second patent infringement lawsuit

Claims it infringes iOS interface patents

Tue May 14 2013, 15:39

Apple drags Google into Samsung patent lawsuit with request for Android source code

Accuses firm of withholding information

Thu May 09 2013, 11:33

Apple vs Samsung lawyer slams UK patent trolls

Judge Birss speaks out

Tue Apr 30 2013, 11:05

Apple seeks $2bn damages from Samsung as patents battle returns to court

Let the battle commence

Mon Mar 31 2014, 10:22

Apple dealt blow in US patent battle as Samsung smartphone injunction is denied

But it will get $930m in damages

Fri Mar 07 2014, 12:04

HTC and Nokia end legal spat with patents agreement

All litigation between the companies is dismissed

Mon Feb 10 2014, 10:08

Google and Cisco enter cross-licensing deal to stop patent trolling

Firms also aim to curtail patent privateering

Tue Feb 04 2014, 14:47

Samsung Android devices infringe Apple's autocorrect patent, US judge rules

Apple can now seek a ban on the smartphones in question

Wed Jan 22 2014, 14:04

Nokia scores an injunction on all HTC Android devices in Germany

Finnish firm notches another legal victory

Thu Jan 02 2014, 12:55

Microsoft patent loss kills fatted Android cash cow

Big FAT profits could evaporate

Tue Dec 10 2013, 16:37

US court rules Apple can seek ban on Samsung devices

Can go after products that infringe its multitouch patents

Tue Nov 19 2013, 11:26

Back under your bridge, patent trolls

Column I see them trolling, I hating

Fri Nov 01 2013, 13:50

Samsung and LG put an end to display patent war

Plot market domination instead

Tue Sep 24 2013, 16:06

Will US patent trolls soon be making their way to the UK?

Column Recent US anti-trolling action could push cases to Europe

Thu Aug 15 2013, 16:00

Apple heads to court over Siri patent infringement allegations

The iPhone and iPad could be banned in China

Wed Jul 03 2013, 14:55

Samsung infringed Apple's 'bounce-back' patent, Tokyo court rules

Korean firm unlikely to be bothered

Fri Jun 21 2013, 10:39

Microsoft's Xbox doesn't infringe Motorola patents, court rules

Ruling comes just days after Xbox One unveiling

Fri May 24 2013, 13:55

US appeals court throws out software patents

Could follow New Zealand

Mon May 13 2013, 11:55
Page 1 of 3
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Heartbleed bug discovered in OpenSSL

Have you reacted to Heartbleed?