The Inquirer-Home

IBM

IBM revenues fall as hardware sales continue to struggle

But cloud, mobile and security are on the up

Fri Jul 18 2014, 16:00

IBM pumps $3bn into semiconductor research to discover chips of the future

Aims to develop alternative technology for 'post-silicon era chips'

Thu Jul 10 2014, 13:16

IBM to open London data centre for Softlayer cloud expansion

Will have space to host more than 15,000 servers

Mon Jun 30 2014, 11:54

IBM announces winners of Watson Mobile Developer Challenge

GenieMD, Majestyk Apps and Red Ant apps to become a reality

Thu Jun 05 2014, 12:57

IBM's Watson supercomputer gets multiple personalities

A mental telemetry, my dear Watson

Tue May 20 2014, 11:43

IBM Bluemix gets more cloud-based love

Including a garage to hang out and talk about it in

Mon Apr 28 2014, 17:00

US government will probe Lenovo's IBM servers buy

Fear of back door shenanigans

Mon Apr 07 2014, 12:50

MWC: IBM wants developers to take Watson mobile

Thinking machine will rule your apps

Thu Feb 27 2014, 13:20

Twitter acquires 900 IBM patents to avoid legal spat

Microblogging website settles with IBM

Fri Jan 31 2014, 15:13

Watson shows his business smarts with $1bn investment from IBM

Welcome the overlord business unit

Thu Jan 09 2014, 16:45

IBM blames four percent revenue dip on China and struggling hardware division

But posts profits of $4bn, up six percent from last year

Thu Oct 17 2013, 16:49

IBM posts a 17 percent drop in profits despite mainframe sales increasing

Big iron still brings home the bacon

Thu Jul 18 2013, 12:40

IBM collaborates with Red Hat and Suse to port Linux applications to Power architecture

AIX is not the only game in town

Wed May 15 2013, 13:37

IBM reveals a monster 36-core mainframe module

One socket, many cores

Fri Jan 11 2013, 12:45

IBM puts Watson to work training doctors

Wants to understand medical records

Thu Nov 01 2012, 17:06

IBM buys flash storage vendor Texas Memory Systems

Hard drive inventor looks to flash

Thu Aug 16 2012, 14:53

IBM reports higher profit despite lower revenue

Raises forecasts

Thu Jul 19 2012, 13:36

Apple and IBM's partnership is bad news for Google and Microsoft

Opinion iOS is now the biggest player in enterprise mobile

Wed Jul 16 2014, 11:39

China approves Lenovo's purchase of IBM's x86 server business

But American suspicion lingers on

Fri Jul 04 2014, 15:37

IBM and Pure Storage sign patent licensing accord

Pure Storage buys 100 IBM patents and licenses them back

Fri Jun 20 2014, 12:45

Employment groups call for a boycott of IBM, Infosys and Manpower

Wanted ads want non-US applications, worker advocates not keen

Wed Jun 04 2014, 16:32

IBM eyes HP with launch of unified 'Experienceone' cloud offering

Focusing on finding what makes customers tick

Wed May 14 2014, 16:51

Google, Microsoft, Intel and Facebook join forces to prevent another Heartbleed fiasco

Will pump money into the critical software infrastructure that needs it

Thu Apr 24 2014, 16:02

IBM set to show off GPU big data analytics system

Powered by Hadoop open-source software

Mon Mar 24 2014, 13:42

IBM Labs researchers break a speed record for Big Data

Could help boost internet speeds to 400Gbps at 'extremely low power'

Fri Feb 14 2014, 14:10

Lenovo will buy IBM's x86 server business for $2.3bn

It's the biggest ever technology acquisition by a Chinese company

Thu Jan 23 2014, 11:31

IBM opens up Watson supercomputer to third-party developers via the cloud

Lets developers create applications that can use the machine's capabilities

Thu Nov 14 2013, 16:53

IBM supercomputer to accelerate Southampton University research

Iridis4 is one of the world's fastest supercomputers, the university claims

Wed Oct 16 2013, 13:03

Dell's server sales rise while HP and IBM falter

A rare bit of good news for Michael Dell

Fri May 31 2013, 12:55

IBM makes worlds smallest movie to show atom manipulation capabilities

A blockbuster for storage vendors

Wed May 01 2013, 13:07

IBM hits 20 years as top patent recipient

Big Blue leads with thousands of patents

Fri Jan 11 2013, 09:59

IBM researchers put 10,000 carbon nanotube transistors on a chip

Claims manufacturing breakthrough

Mon Oct 29 2012, 17:05

IBM fails to stop Reuters from publishing a patent agreement with Samsung

The cat will get out of the bag

Tue Jul 31 2012, 11:19

IBM announces an augmented reality shopping app

Will allow shoppers to browse personalised information about products

Mon Jul 02 2012, 11:45

Apple and IBM join forces to push iPhones and iPads into the enterprise

Rise of the planet of the enterprise apps

Wed Jul 16 2014, 09:46

IBM Bluemix cloud foundry exits beta in a flurry of services

The cloud is allowed

Tue Jul 01 2014, 16:07

IBM uses big data and Watson for Wimbledon cloud analytics

Advantage tennisheads

Tue Jun 17 2014, 10:32

China tells its banks to remove IBM servers over snooping fears

Because they're bound to have back doors

Tue May 27 2014, 16:07

IBM Elastic Storage brings a touch of Watson to big data

Potentially bigger than the sum of its parts

Mon May 12 2014, 15:23

IBM announces mainframe Hadoop for Linux and flash storage

Plus usage pricing for mobile and cloud processing

Wed Apr 09 2014, 11:36

IBM denies involvement with the NSA and PRISM surveillance

Nothing to see there

Mon Mar 17 2014, 09:13

IBM is rolling out Watson supercomputer in Africa

Watson goes from gameshow winner to developing world

Thu Feb 06 2014, 15:41

IBM holds the most patents in the US

Microsoft, Google and Apple crowding for room

Tue Jan 14 2014, 16:43

IBM outs two-factor mobile authentication for NFC payments

Involves more work but should be safer

Mon Oct 21 2013, 14:34

IBM, Google and Nvidia form Openpower Consortium to rival Intel and AMD

Attempts to mirror ARM's business model

Wed Aug 07 2013, 10:52

IBM gives customer service representatives access to Watson

Might improve telephone customer service calls

Wed May 22 2013, 15:20

IBM uses Texas Memory Systems tech for Flashsystem storage appliances

Storage arrays can hold up to 24TB of data

Fri Apr 12 2013, 16:45

IBM achieves 25Gbit/s photonics breakthrough

Shines a light into the future of chip development

Mon Dec 10 2012, 14:45

IBM launches Power7+ chips in three Unix servers

Claims AIX performance improvements

Wed Oct 03 2012, 14:49

IBM is behind a big question solving radio telescope

Will power probe into origins of the universe

Tue Jul 24 2012, 13:52
Page 1 of 4
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Dead electronic devices to be banned on US-bound flights

Will the new rules banning uncharged devices be effective?