The Inquirer-Home

Hacking

Ex-LulzSec hacker says bug hunters are driven underground by misguided UK laws

Says that companies should be held responsible for poor security

Wed Oct 15 2014, 15:45

Dropbox denies it was hacked as 7 million passwords leak online

Though there's no evidence they aren't just old Friendster credentials

Tue Oct 14 2014, 12:14

Anonymous plans weekend of action to fix Hong Kong, smash China

Plans to turn government sites into the aftermath of a Greek wedding

Fri Oct 10 2014, 15:38

Tyupkin ATM malware makes cash machines shoot their load

But only on Sunday and Monday nights

Tue Oct 07 2014, 16:37

Mastercard offers banks and payment processors a cyber Safetynet

Should nip hacker attacks in the bud

Fri Oct 03 2014, 10:35

US Department of Justice charges four over Xbox and military helicopter attacks

Accused of stealing $100m worth of intellectual property

Wed Oct 01 2014, 15:38

Hackers take advantage of Bash Shellshock bug as developers rush to patch

Apple plays it down, security companies say panic

Fri Sep 26 2014, 14:52

Home Depot admits 56 million card details were stolen

Smashes Target's record

Fri Sep 19 2014, 17:10

The FBI located the Silk Road by legal means

Captcha kicking cyber cops cracked access

Mon Sep 08 2014, 11:54

Apple blames celebrity skin leak on weak passwords, says iCloud wasn't breached

Updated Firm advises using two-step verification to avoid private snaps being stolen

Wed Sep 03 2014, 09:27

UPS admits that its customers might have been hacked

Finds malware in over 50 stores

Thu Aug 21 2014, 12:18

NCA kicks off cyber safety campaign with a stern warning

Says 40 percent of UK punters are not protected against hackers

Wed Aug 13 2014, 09:46

Samba hit by remote code execution vulnerability

Samba got tangoed

Tue Aug 05 2014, 13:06

Tor users' privacy compromised as project admits to 'prolonged attack'

Rival says Tor made hack 'inevitable'

Thu Jul 31 2014, 10:02

The Pirate Bay launches a mobile website for smartphone torrenting

So far it hasn't fallen afoul of the content cartels

Fri Jul 25 2014, 16:28

Dropbox advises users with privacy concerns to add their own encryption

But warns it will break some features if you do

Wed Jul 23 2014, 15:08

Google hires iPhone and Playstation cracker Geohot for Project Zero

When you’re Geohot you’re hot

Thu Jul 17 2014, 14:01

Microsoft fixes three zero-day security flaws in mega Patch Tuesday

Upgrade with rhythm and we won't attract the worm

Wed Oct 15 2014, 14:21

Snowden calls on web users to drop Dropbox and face off with Facebook

Privacy fiend covertly filmed in his kitchen

Mon Oct 13 2014, 11:09

Google's Schmidt: Government surveillance could kill the internet

'Keep playing with it like that, it'll drop off', says web firm's president

Thu Oct 09 2014, 11:53

AT&T confesses to homegrown data breach

Internal staffer stuffed virtual pockets with personal information

Tue Oct 07 2014, 12:12

JP Morgan Chase confesses to massive customer data breach

Financial outfit fumbles 83 million customers' data

Fri Oct 03 2014, 09:38

Mozilla might add Tor encryption to its Firefox web browser

Private browsing mode could leave listening posts silent

Wed Oct 01 2014, 15:14

Bash bug in Mac OS X and Linux could be 'bigger than Heartbleed'

One line of code and they've got you

Thu Sep 25 2014, 12:25

Apple Watch and Dark Web show need for better BYOD security

INQUIRER mobile versus security debate continues

Thu Sep 11 2014, 13:18

Hackers broke into the Obamacare network, apparently took nothing

Used server in denial of service attack

Fri Sep 05 2014, 09:21

Windows XP gets an unofficial Service Pack 4

Developer community steps into Microsoft's shoes

Thu Aug 28 2014, 16:22

Chinese Linux Trojan makes the jump to Windows

DDoS attacks largely aimed within China

Wed Aug 20 2014, 15:36

Hackers root Google's Nest thermostat in 15 seconds

Firm advises buying one of its security cameras

Mon Aug 11 2014, 16:33

Mozilla goof leaves 76,000 developer identities on public server

Database backed up somewhere too public

Mon Aug 04 2014, 10:26

Android 'supermalware' can impersonate any app

'Fake ID' will leave you needing a beer

Tue Jul 29 2014, 16:15

Kim Dotcom plans to 'abolish' mass surveillance

Mega founder to stop government from having 'total citizen control'

Fri Jul 25 2014, 10:54

EFF releases Privacy Badger add-on for Firefox and Chrome

This time, it's the badger doing the culling

Tue Jul 22 2014, 13:44

Crowdstrike follows China’s Deep Panda hackers from the US to Iraq

This Panda moves fastThis Panda moves fast

Tue Jul 08 2014, 13:07

Google warns of Poodle on the loose with killer bytes to make your Heartbleed

SSL 3.0 vulnerability groomed to be disastrous unless it's clipped

Wed Oct 15 2014, 12:52

Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they can't log your keystrokes

Column Windows 10 privacy scoop has gone on a world tour of missing the point

Fri Oct 10 2014, 16:42

Cryptolocker takes down Australian news channel

Airs rocked by virus which can burrow into playout computers

Wed Oct 08 2014, 15:15

Android Wear can now boot Windows 95

Because science, and because it can

Mon Oct 06 2014, 14:50

The FBI used Anonymous Sabu to attack 30 countries including the UK

Sabu rolled over and played nicely with the authorities

Thu Oct 02 2014, 15:45

Europol warns about organised crime service providers

Have a go scammers hire black hats by the blag

Mon Sep 29 2014, 13:59

DDoS attack brings down Destiny and CoD: Ghosts servers

Cold blooded attack from the Lizard Squad

Mon Sep 22 2014, 12:50

Google dismisses all but two percent of Gmail password dump

Claims password dumps are low on credentials

Thu Sep 11 2014, 11:42

Home Depot confirms payment data breach investigation

Credit monitoring? Do it yourself

Wed Sep 03 2014, 17:16

Sony Playstation and Xbox Live networks hit by DDoS attacks

Sony executive gets an in-flight delay

Tue Aug 26 2014, 10:25

Heartbleed to blame for plundering of 4.5 million CHSPSC hospital records

OpenSSL flaw likely lead to Community Health Systems Professional Services Corporation hack

Wed Aug 20 2014, 12:37

Synology 'investigating' Synlocker NAS drive ransomware

Users hit by ransomware advised to shutdown their systems

Wed Aug 06 2014, 10:33

Paddy Power confesses to data leak hitting 650,000 users

Paddy fields questions over 2010 breach

Fri Aug 01 2014, 14:50

Aussie hackers get Doom working on an ATM

Deny plans for Bubble Bobble on a tumble dryer

Mon Jul 28 2014, 15:23

Anonymous hacks Kenya's defence military Twitter account

Corruption leads to a social media coup

Tue Jul 22 2014, 09:26
Page 1 of 3
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Microsoft's Windows 10 Preview has permission to watch your every move

Does Microsoft have the right to keylog users of its Windows 10 Technical Preview?