The Inquirer-Home

Friction

Undercover report shows exhausted Apple workers falling asleep on the job

Two years on from Foxconn and nothing's changed

Fri Dec 19 2014, 16:10

Europe passes vote to break up Google to stop search monopoly

But needs European Commission agreement to become binding

Thu Nov 27 2014, 16:35

UK Pirate Party slams government plans for IP address identification

New legislation would force ISPs to use static IPs

Tue Nov 25 2014, 10:47

Oracle settles for $356.7m in long-running SAP piracy dispute

A bit of a drop from the original $1.3bn

Fri Nov 14 2014, 13:52

Google takes over Nasa's Moffett Field south of San Francisco

Gets a 60-year lease for $1.16bn

Tue Nov 11 2014, 15:21

CNN presenters use Microsoft Surface tablets as iPad stands

We're not sure that's what the marketing department had in mind

Wed Nov 05 2014, 17:50

Backlash will render mass surveillance moot

Column The people and the market will defeat it

Fri Oct 24 2014, 16:33

Foxconn employees rebel as HP slashes orders

Company cuts overtime to avoid severance pay

Thu Oct 09 2014, 17:03

HP pleads guilty to bribery and is fined $108m

Subsidiaries bribed officials in Mexico, Poland and Russia

Fri Sep 12 2014, 15:42

BYOD security involves trade-offs on both sides

Column Professor Alan Woodward says bring your own device requires a fresh approach to security

Fri Aug 08 2014, 12:59

US ruling on overseas cloud data presents challenges

Firms caught between governments' need for data and citizens' privacy

Thu Aug 07 2014, 14:10

Open Rights Group threatens 'major legal battle' as DRIP becomes law

Cameron rams it through in just seven days

Fri Jul 18 2014, 10:41

Lulzsec hacker Sabu helped the FBI prevent 300 cyber attacks

Praised in court for 'extraordinary' contributions

Tue May 27 2014, 15:19

SMS question and answer app fined £70,000 over blurry charges

It's all in the small print

Thu Mar 06 2014, 11:17

Facebook chief: PRISM has helped us all be friends in tech sector

Industry working better together in wake of NSA scandal

Tue Feb 25 2014, 17:14

HP workers picket Discover event over job cuts

We get on well with our Spanish workers, claims US technology giant

Wed Dec 11 2013, 10:17

David Cameron resigns, according to Welsh news website

Sorry Boris and Ed, it was posted in error

Mon Oct 21 2013, 17:29

Hipsters in mourning as Instagram 'Rapture' wipes out follower counts

All moving to another social network you've probably never heard of

Fri Dec 19 2014, 15:32

The Independent gets hacked by the Syrian Electronic Army

Hacktivist group takes down Indy in the US

Thu Nov 27 2014, 13:21

Chinese Internet Conference Punk'd delegates with ridiculous treaty

Never sign anything slipped under your door if you can still taste toothpaste

Fri Nov 21 2014, 13:31

Groupon backs down from Gnome trademark attack

Reconsiders in the glare of publicity

Wed Nov 12 2014, 15:02

Google barges were barged over fire risk

Coastguard feared internet search and rescue

Fri Nov 07 2014, 16:48

Larry Page: 'We're going to need a bigger mission statement'

Addition of non-search projects makes for a Page turner

Tue Nov 04 2014, 15:42

Facebook complains about identity theft by the DEA

Claims US government violated its terms of service

Tue Oct 21 2014, 15:42

Open source gnome lashes out at Linus Torvalds for seeding trolls

All of the other lame peers seem to laugh and call him names

Tue Oct 07 2014, 15:26

It's time to put US cable companies in their place

Column To preserve net neutrality and foster more competition

Fri Sep 12 2014, 14:00

UK copyright cops arrest man for alleged 'piracy' proxy

20-year-old suspected of running a proxy server

Fri Aug 08 2014, 10:32

Hacker Gary McKinnon faces extradition threat over Scotland visit

Warned against visiting sick father

Fri Aug 01 2014, 14:24

US House Of Representatives agrees to cut funding for 'backdoor' NSA snooping

Agency to be barred from warrantless surveillance of US citizens

Mon Jun 23 2014, 15:12

Mozilla sheds controversial CEO Brendan Eich

Eich coulda been a contender

Fri Apr 04 2014, 09:41

How to foil the NSA and GCHQ with strong encryption

Column Now is the time to secure your communications

Fri Feb 28 2014, 16:05

Apple loses attempt to block ebooks antitrust expert

Judge resists push to part with legal monitor

Tue Jan 14 2014, 12:38

How dare they?

Column Governments need to deliver more answers about unlawful surveillance of citizens

Fri Nov 15 2013, 14:22

Windows 8.1 won't save Windows 8

Column It's still a pig with lipstick

Fri Oct 11 2013, 13:46

'Google Tax' will have limited effect on UK coffers, says tax expert

Tightening up the loopholes - morally right, but financially messy

Wed Dec 03 2014, 17:41

China fines Microsoft $140m for tax evasion

Chi spies with its authoritarian eye something beginning with 'M'

Wed Nov 26 2014, 16:20

Here's why we've not been reporting on Uber

Column As Ubergate rumbles on, time to bring you up to speed

Thu Nov 20 2014, 14:47

Shareholders want Yahoo to merge with AOL as Mayer picks up BrightRoll for $640m

Bring me the head of the rubber duck woman

Wed Nov 12 2014, 13:53

FCC chairman Wheeler's 'hybrid' proposal is questionable

Column Skullduggery is afoot in Washington, DC

Fri Nov 07 2014, 15:06

Intel settlement means cheap round for anyone who bought Pentium 4 processor

Offer also open to liars. But not Illinois residents.

Fri Oct 31 2014, 11:39

HP and EMC merger talks stall over cash

Newly-split company couldn't agree on price

Wed Oct 15 2014, 10:42

Apple says that only nine people have bent their iPhones

That would be nine out of 10 million

Fri Sep 26 2014, 09:33

Ireland slams 'objectionable' US demands for cloud data

Data protection minister Dara Murphy questions impact of US approach

Fri Sep 05 2014, 10:24

Russia extends Edward Snowden's asylum for three more years

NSA whistleblower’s welcome expired on 31 July

Thu Aug 07 2014, 16:36

Police hijack adverts on 'piracy' websites to scare off visitors

Intellectual Property Crime Unit investigates

Tue Jul 29 2014, 12:01

BYOD is the wave of the future

Column It'll be a sea change, but will be worth the cost

Fri Jun 20 2014, 17:50

Cebit: ​Microsoft warns of chilling fridge hacking threat as Internet of Things booms

Microsoft chief says IoT needs its own security policy

Tue Mar 11 2014, 14:28

Teachers panicking over new computing curriculum

Raspberry Pi, IBM and teachers want more government support

Thu Feb 27 2014, 10:10

It's a great time to be a software technologist

Column Foiling NSA surveillance will take a lot of work

Fri Dec 27 2013, 10:30

EPIC petitions US Supreme Court to review PRISM data collection

The FISA court can't have the last word

Tue Oct 29 2013, 17:14
Page 1 of 4
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Internet of Things at Christmas poll

Which smart device are you hoping Santa brings?