The Inquirer-Home

AMD

AMD announces quad-core Opteron X series chips for microservers

Goes up against Intel's Centerton and Avoton Atoms

Wed May 29 2013, 05:03

AMD announces 2.3TFLOPS Radeon HD 8970M

Immense computing power in a laptop

Wed May 15 2013, 05:00

AMD creates business unit for custom chips after PS4 win

Opens up its design library for all

Thu May 02 2013, 13:46

AMD announces reference dual-GPU Radeon HD 7990 graphics card

Aimed at gamers looking to 4k resolution

Wed Apr 24 2013, 05:00

AMD brought 64-bit to x86 10 years ago today

The biggest change to x86 in decades

Mon Apr 22 2013, 00:05

HP talks up AMD's Kyoto despite seeing Intel as a compute workhorse

More money in AMD for HP

Fri Apr 12 2013, 17:32

Globalfoundries shows working 20nm TSV silicon

Should whet AMD's appetite

Wed Apr 03 2013, 13:10

AMD forecasts GDDR coming to CPUs as prices fall

DRAM lacks bandwidth to feed the firm's GPUs

Tue Apr 02 2013, 10:45

AMD announces Radeon Sky cloud rendering cards

To power pixel generation

Wed Mar 27 2013, 10:30

AMD explains Radeon HD numbering scheme

Says it is not attached to architectures

Thu Mar 14 2013, 16:42

AMD looks to HSA Foundation to avoid AMD64 mistakes

Column Software developers hold the key to AMD's future

Fri Mar 08 2013, 15:01

AMD to sell a cut down version of Sony's Playstation 4 APU

Will show how much work Sony has done

Tue Feb 26 2013, 17:37

AMD announces Turbo Dock to overclock chips in hybrid tablets

More bang from the keyboard

Wed Feb 20 2013, 16:59

AMD confirms no Radeon HD 7970 replacement in 2013

Updated Nvidia's Titan GK110 gets a free run at the speed crown

Fri Feb 15 2013, 17:33

AMD hires former Apple and Qualcomm engineers

To head the SoC and software divisions

Tue Jan 22 2013, 13:31

AMD, Intel and Nvidia start 2013 with bold chip statements at CES

Analysis 2013 already shaping up to be a hot year in the chip market

Wed Jan 09 2013, 16:46

AMD announces four Radeon HD 8000M chips

To appear at CES

Mon Dec 17 2012, 20:00

AMD lifts the lid on Temash and Kabini chips

Jaguar outside of games consoles

Thu May 23 2013, 05:00

AMD says HSA will cut latency bottleneck in GPU processing

Capacity is more important than bandwidth

Fri May 03 2013, 17:15

Intel Haswell chips will have on-package DRAM for CPU and GPU

HSA on a smaller scale

Thu May 02 2013, 04:00

AMD says a sub-9W G series SoC is weeks away

Pushing Jaguar to the power limit

Tue Apr 23 2013, 09:00

AMD narrows losses despite posting a 31 percent drop in revenues

Turning a painful corner

Fri Apr 19 2013, 12:25

HP claims Moonshot servers are more open than AMD's Seamicro servers

Touts the number of silicon vendors

Thu Apr 11 2013, 13:14

AMD claims 20nm transition signals the end of Moore's Law

Economic viability comes into question

Tue Apr 02 2013, 15:41

AMD says it won't sell a Radeon Sky server

Competing with customers is dangerous

Tue Apr 02 2013, 09:35

AMD thinks most programmers will not use CUDA or OpenCL

Familiarity breeds aversion

Mon Mar 25 2013, 10:27

AMD will sell its Austin campus to raise cash

Goes the way of its Sunnyvale offices

Wed Mar 13 2013, 13:05

MWC: AMD claims Turbo Dock boosts APU performance by 40 percent

While the keyboard dock boosts battery capacity

Thu Feb 28 2013, 09:00

AMD becomes a chip designer for hire

Wants more work like Sony's Playstation 4

Tue Feb 26 2013, 16:52

AMD reiterates the need for heterogenous architectures

Claims it will help developers

Tue Feb 19 2013, 13:44

Gizmosphere releases a 4x4in AMD G series computer

Packs impressive graphics power

Fri Jan 25 2013, 15:22

AMD announces an Open Compute based Open 3.0 motherboard

Beats Intel to the first punch

Wed Jan 16 2013, 18:00

CES: AMD announces its Temash tablet platform

Quad-core chip will bring performance to tablets

Tue Jan 08 2013, 04:29

AMD launches mid-range Opteron 3300 and 4300 series Piledriver chips

Can spin four cores at just 25W

Tue Dec 04 2012, 05:00

Intel sees GPU shipments drop while AMD and Nvidia see gains

Nvidia scores in mobile devices while AMD's APUs pay off

Mon May 20 2013, 13:25

AMD says IOMMU v2.5 is key for Linux HSA support

But the real work is in compilers and libraries

Thu May 02 2013, 17:13

AMD touts hardware level memory coherence in HSA architecture

Says developers don't need to worry about CPU and GPU

Tue Apr 30 2013, 05:00

AMD announces quad-core G series x86 system on chip (SoC) parts

Jaguar and Sea Islands on a single die

Tue Apr 23 2013, 05:00

Intel launches 'open' Linux based SDN switch and server

But says it won't sell Intel branded kit

Wed Apr 17 2013, 17:30

Customer designed ARM chips will give Intel headaches

Analysis High volume customers want to roll their own chips

Thu Apr 04 2013, 11:41

AMD sees telecoms operators offering cloud rendering services

Brings up the possibility of quintuple-play providers

Tue Apr 02 2013, 13:32

Chip vendors look to gaming for future sales

Column While game developers look to chips for more horsepower

Fri Mar 29 2013, 11:59

AMD announces Richland laptop APUs

Sticks with Piledriver CPUs and Radeon HD 6000 series GPUs

Tue Mar 12 2013, 12:00

AMD looks to software optimisations to drive chip performance

It's not just about churning out silicon

Tue Feb 26 2013, 19:06

AMD releases Firepro R5000 with remote display technology

Supports up to four remote displays

Mon Feb 25 2013, 14:22

AMD reveals its first 28nm processor

Jaguar is the successor to Bobcat

Tue Feb 19 2013, 11:25

AMD slumps to a $1bn loss after dismal fourth quarter

Bad news continues

Wed Jan 23 2013, 13:11

x86 vendors move away from old strategies to compete with ARM

Frequency and core count take a back seat to efficiency

Mon Jan 14 2013, 09:00

Intel, AMD, Nvidia and ARM: 2012 semiconductor year in review

Competition heated up as firms tried to cut power and improve graphics performance

Thu Dec 20 2012, 14:00
Page 2 of 19
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Masque malware is putting iPad and iPhone user data at risk

Has news of iOS malware made you reconsider getting an iPhone?