The Inquirer-Home

AMD

AMD takes on Nvidia with Omega Catalyst driver for better GPU performance

Rivals Nvidia's Dynamic Super Resolution technology

Tue Dec 09 2014, 09:47

AMD appoints Lisa Su as CEO after Rory Read steps down

New chief will have her work cut out as Q3 earnings call looms

Thu Oct 09 2014, 12:55

Michael Dell says Dell might use ARM chips in servers

Founder reaffirms the company’s commitment to desktop computers

Fri Sep 19 2014, 13:50

ARM says momentum is growing for 64-bit chip designs

Announces having signed 50 licensing deals

Tue Sep 02 2014, 11:53

AMD's Opteron A1100 series developer kit is available for £1,800

With the firm's first 64-bit ARM chips codenamed 'Seattle'

Thu Jul 31 2014, 13:16

AMD launches R-series APUs and CPUs codenamed Bald Eagle

Aims to bring 4K displays to digital signage and gaming machines

Tue May 20 2014, 11:00

AMD launches third generation Mullins and Beema APUs

Claims to offer better experience than Intel, which is ‘too little too late for this category'

Tue Apr 29 2014, 05:05

AMD launches the Firepro W9100 professional OpenCL graphics card

Offers up to 2.62 TFLOPS of GPU compute power across up to six 4K displays

Mon Apr 07 2014, 16:54

AMD touts ARM based server processor specifications

Claims it's a tipping point

Fri Feb 07 2014, 16:03

AMD reports strong earnings thanks to PS4 and Xbox console sales

CEO Rory Reed expects the momentum to continue

Thu Jan 23 2014, 13:33

AMD's Kaveri APU ships today touting 50 percent higher GPU performance

The first to boast heterogeneous system architecture

Tue Jan 14 2014, 13:00

AMD makes more profit than Sony on the PS4

Sony makes $18, AMD makes close to $100

Wed Nov 20 2013, 15:55

PS4 and Xbox One drive AMD back into profit

But demand for PC chips continues to decline

Fri Oct 18 2013, 15:13

IBM, Google and Nvidia form Openpower Consortium to rival Intel and AMD

Attempts to mirror ARM's business model

Wed Aug 07 2013, 10:52

Intel is facing hardware and software challenges

Column Open source offers rivals hope

Fri Jul 19 2013, 15:47

Intel claims first place in Top 500 with Xeon Phi

AMD Firepro continues to drive the most power efficient cluster

Mon Jun 17 2013, 14:59

Computex: AMD debuts fourth generation Kaveri APU chip [Video]

The firm talks us through the successor to Richland at the launch in Taipei

Wed Jun 05 2013, 05:09

AMD's Carrizo APUs look to boost laptop and all-in-one performance

Due to hit the market in the first half of 2015

Thu Nov 20 2014, 15:11

AMD demonstrates NFV tool using 64-bit ARM-based SoC codenamed 'Hierofalcon'

Touted to 'revolutionise the next generation of networks'

Wed Oct 01 2014, 17:02

AMD teams with Canonical for easier Openstack deployment

Includes a set of tools to build more flexible and reliable private clouds

Wed Sep 17 2014, 14:24

AMD launches Firepro graphics updates for CAD workstations

Firepro W series to offer double memory with GCN

Tue Aug 12 2014, 14:34

AMD reveals Firepro W8100 workstation graphics card for high-end CAD

Can drive four 4K resolution screens and four teraflops of GPU acceleration for HPC

Mon Jun 23 2014, 13:54

AMD to combine 64-bit x86 and ARM chip architectures in Project Skybridge

Will design 20nm APUs and SoCs so both chips can fit on a motherboard

Tue May 06 2014, 11:52

AMD guns after Intel Bay Trail with 'system in a socket' AM1 Platform

Aims to cut the prices of value PCs

Wed Apr 09 2014, 13:37

AMD, Intel and Nvidia join forces to push OpenGL for games developers

OpenGL touted as offering up to 15 times faster performance

Mon Mar 24 2014, 11:55

ARM, Microsoft and AMD's open-source union will disrupt x86 server market

Analysis Server Base System Architecture aims to future-proof the data centre

Wed Feb 05 2014, 16:49

AMD outs 12 and 16 core additions to Opteron processor series

Built to handle heavily virtualised workloads in the enterprise

Wed Jan 22 2014, 11:35

CES: AMD finally unveils 28nm APU Kaveri to battle Intel Haswell

First APU to feature heterogeneous system architecture (HSA)

Tue Jan 07 2014, 16:30

AMD announces 'industry's first' 12GB supercomputing server graphics card

Firepro S10000 12GB GPU is for big data high performance computing

Fri Nov 15 2013, 16:43

AMD launches R9 and R7 'Hawaii' GPUs with Mantle API

Mantle aims to replace Direct X, offering access to GPU features

Thu Sep 26 2013, 13:50

AMD announces a dual-core 6W x86 chip for fanless applications

Includes Radeon graphics and ECC memory support

Tue Jul 30 2013, 13:00

AMD posts $29m loss but predicts future profits due to PS4 and Xbox One sales

Expects deals with Sony and Microsoft to turn fortunes around

Fri Jul 19 2013, 13:15

AMD's Seamicro SM15000 server gets Red Hat Openstack certification

Important step to spur sales

Thu Jun 13 2013, 14:57

AMD launches Richland APUs with Piledriver cores

Tweaks Trinity to compete against Haswell

Wed Jun 05 2013, 05:00

AMD posts worse than expected Q3 results following CEO shake-up

Misses analyst expectations

Fri Oct 17 2014, 15:22

AMD shows off Hadoop on an ARM-based Opteron server

Says its ARM-based servers are ideal for running Hadoop

Wed Oct 01 2014, 14:14

AMD and RealVNC bring remote desktop to mobile devices with Firepro graphics

Allows users to edit and render large video, 3D and CAD files faster and easier

Wed Sep 17 2014, 11:37

AMD finally releases Kaveri A-Series APUs with 12 compute cores for better desktop gaming

Brings a higher level of gaming and compute experiences to the desktop PC

Thu Jul 31 2014, 16:30

Computex: AMD launches Kaveri APU chip for mobile PCs and notebooks

Revealed less than 24 hours after Intel unveils Core M chip for 2-in-1s

Wed Jun 04 2014, 05:00

AMD announces private beta programme for its Mantle SDK

Launches an online portal for game developers

Thu May 01 2014, 13:00

AMD unveils the Radeon R9 295X2, the 'world's fastest' graphics card

Boasts a closed-loop, pre-assembled and maintenance-free liquid cooling system

Tue Apr 08 2014, 16:11

AMD launches Mantle API via Catalyst 14.1 beta drivers

AMD's answer to Directx 11 is finally available to the public

Fri Jan 31 2014, 14:02

AMD is being sued by investors over Llano expectations

More lame-o

Mon Jan 20 2014, 16:06

Intel, AMD, Nvidia, ARM and Qualcomm: 2013 chips roundup

The past year in all things silicon

Mon Dec 30 2013, 11:30

AMD eyes Intel Bay Trail with Mullins and Beema mobile APU updates

Better performance and efficiency for fanless tablets, laptops and two-in-one devices

Wed Nov 13 2013, 22:15

AMD plots its embedded roadmap

Not so much a roadmap as a chipping forecast

Tue Sep 10 2013, 17:52

Microsoft shows off triple 4K resolution gaming setup with AMD Radeon HD 7970

Manages impressive framerates

Fri Jul 26 2013, 16:30

AMD reveals details of Berlin and Seattle chips

HSA and 64-bit ARM parts to arrive next year

Tue Jun 18 2013, 05:00

AMD announces a 5GHz FX-9590 processor

Turbo mode helps it keep the clock speed crown

Tue Jun 11 2013, 15:16
Page 1 of 19
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Internet of Things at Christmas poll

Which smart device are you hoping Santa brings?