SOCIAL NETWORK Facebook has started rolling out the privacy checkup tool that it announced in May, allowing users to review with whom they are sharing posts.
Facebook is asking all of its users to complete a privacy checkup, which includes a review of who can see your posts - with options including "public" and "friends", which third-party apps are linked to your account and the information that you're sharing in your bio summary.
"Today, we're starting to roll out Privacy Checkup, which helps you review and control who you're sharing with," Facebook said in a blog post.
"We know you come to Facebook to connect with friends, not with us. But we also know how important it is to be in control of what you share and who you share with."
The update will appear as a pop-up in order to draw users' attention to it, and should appear "over the next week or two."
The privacy checkup notification will only appear to those using Facebook on a desktop device - despite 30 percent of Facebook's active users accessing the social network only on mobile devices. However, Facebook has said that it is working on a version of the tool for smartphones and tablets.
The rollout of its privacy checkup feature comes as Facebook likely is looking to improve its public image, having been hit by many privacy scandals in the past.
Facebook also looked to rectify this earlier this year by changing the default post sharing setting for new users to "friends", with the default mode previously having been "public". µ
Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ