TV AND FILM STREAMING SERVICE Netflix has launched a social recommendations feature, allowing subscribers to share guilty pleasures with their Facebook friends.
Netflix's new recommendations feature means that if you've viewed a show you want to tell your friends about, you no longer have to bother actually communicating with them. Instead, you can share it with them immediately once the programme has ended by clicking on a picture of their face.
However, you'll have to connect your Netflix account to Facebook in order to do so, although Netflix promises that it will not share what you watch on your friends' news feeds, sharing it privately instead.
"At Netflix, we believe that great stories have the power to connect us with the people we care about," Netflix director of product innovation Cameron Johnson said in a blog post.
"You know that feeling when you've watched something really great, something that moves you or makes you laugh, and you immediately think of someone else who would love it too? It's the feeling of wanting your friends and family to enjoy the show just as much as you did.
"Starting today, we're launching our new social recommendation feature that allows you to easily, and privately, recommend the shows you love to the people you care about."
Netflix has made the feature immediately available on the iPad and iPhone, the PS3 and Xbox games consoles and "many set-top boxes and smart TVs".
Netflix said that it will add additional platforms in the coming months, hinting at launches on Android, Windows and the PS4.
The launch of this new feature comes just weeks after Netflix suffered an major outage, with Amazon Web Services (AWS) likely to blame. µ
It's time for our regular two-step through the Google news
Bug bounty offer: accepted