SOCIAL NETWORK Facebook has tweaked its privacy scheme so that new users of the share posts only with friends as default, rather than making them public.
For four years, Facebook users' posts have been shared to the public at large as default, but Facebook announced on Thursday that it has switched this setting to friends only.
Facebook said in a blog post, "On Facebook you can share whatever you want with whomever you want, from a one-to-one conversation, to friends or to everyone.
"While some people want to post to everyone, others have told us that they are more comfortable sharing with a smaller group, like just their friends. We recognise that it is much worse for someone to accidentally share with everyone when they actually meant to share just with friends, compared with the reverse."
New Facebook users will be able to share posts with the public if they wish, but the social network noted that users are often worried about sharing something by accident, or with the wrong audience.
Facebook also announced that it will start testing an expanded privacy checkup tool over the next few weeks, which will prompt users of the website to review their settings every now and again.
"We want to do all we can to put power and control in people's hands. This new tool is designed to help people make sure they are sharing with just the audience they want. Everything about how privacy works on Facebook remains the same," Facebook said.
While this sounds like Facebook is taking a new approach to privacy, this announcement follows the launch of Facebook's music and TV discovery service, which essentially means that, from July, it will know what you are listening to. This feature will be switched off by default, however. µ
Tags: Social Media