MICROBLOGGING SOCIAL NETWORK Twitter has rolled out, then clawed back blocking features due to customer feedback.
In a blog post, Twitter VP of Product Michael Sippey said that the launch and reversion took place just a few hours apart, admitting that it had not been received well.
"Earlier today, we made a change to the way the 'block' function of Twitter works," he said. "We have decided to revert the change after receiving feedback from many users - we never want to introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe. Any blocks you had previously instituted are still in effect."
The change has put back in place the system that shows users when they have been blocked by another user and prevents them from sending messages. Sippey said that this solution is not the best one and leaves users and Twitter open to tit for tat retaliation blocking.
"In reverting this change to the block function, users will once again be able to tell that they've been blocked. We believe this is not ideal, largely due to the retaliation against blocking users by blocked users (and sometimes their friends) that often occurs," he said.
"Some users worry just as much about post-blocking retaliation as they do about pre-blocking abuse. Moving forward, we will continue to explore features designed to protect users from abuse and prevent retaliation."
The announcement has been greeted positively, and Twitter users have expressed their appreciation and victory statements underneath the social network's announcement.
The general consensus is that people are happy to be able to block and be seen to block others. µ
Tags: Social Media
Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ