The Inquirer-Home

Megaupload clone is yet to receive Anonymous' seal of approval

Web site claims to be Anonymous
Mon Jan 23 2012, 16:51

AN OUTFIT claiming to be the hacktivist group Anonymous appears to have launched its own filesharing web site called Anonyupload.com.

The news comes shortly after Megaupload was taken down and Filesonic stopped all filesharing activities. The web site is only partially functional so far, with only the social networking and Paypal buttons working.

Anonyupload Web Site

It says, "We are setting up servers. Each user gets a FTPs access, which can be used to safely transfer files. We hope to launch the online version of the site in less than 3 days. (On Wednesday, January 25). For your safety, our infrastructure will be out of the U.S. jurisdiction (Russia)."

It has a special shout out to the founder of Megaupload, Kim Dotcom, who is waiting to hear a delayed ruling on his bail after having been arrested in New Zealand. Its web site addresses including www.anonyupload.com, anonyupload.com and www.anonyvideo.com all return errors at the time of writing, but we took a screenshot earlier.

Although Anonyupload claims to be "100 [per cent] Anonymous", we have found nothing to confirm that this is the case. The Paypal donation button on the web site makes us think it could be pranksters aiming to make a quick buck out of the anarchist Anonymous name.

The Anonymous Central Twitter account said:

µ

Share this:

Comments
Oh god...

Your ignorance on the topic is striking. Why would you write a new report on a topic you apparently know nothing of?

For starters, how can ANY site (or anything at all, for that matter) gain the Anonymous' "seal of approval"? That's ridiculous. About the closest thing to this would be achieving public consensus, as that's essentially what Anonymous is: the public consensus of the internet. It's a concept, an idea, a tactic, more than it is anything else - The confusion reminds me of various Black Bloc demonstrations, and how they've been misconstrued as a "group", when it's mere tactic. (they're guys at protests all in black, with black bandanas over thier faces etc. who've been known to cause massive property destruction - ala Toronto G20)

If the makers of the site say they are Anonymous, they are Anonymous. Anon has been in the mainstream for a couple years now, long enough for Anonymous to repeatedly (attempt to) drive home the message that Anonymous is NOT A GROUP.

Also, Anonymous are not Anarchists. Some may be... You do realize Anarchism is an actual political theory with a pretty long history to it, right? Go read some Mikhail Bakunin or Pierre-Joseph Prohoun... Anarchism is a from of socialism without the state.

posted by : KxWaal, 25 January 2012 Complain about this comment
title

it's obvious.. it's anonymous
how can anonymous knows who anonymous is O__o

posted by : carrots, 24 January 2012 Complain about this comment
@Kiwi

Hi,

Thanks for the comments and thanks for highlighting the error. It's been corrected now.

Chris

posted by : Chris Martin, 24 January 2012 Complain about this comment
.com in 2012, haha

.com domains and visa/paypal? I smell a rat.
Welcome to the wonderful world of entrapment.

posted by : W.-, 23 January 2012 Complain about this comment
Geographically challenged?

Kim Dotcom, who is waiting to hear a delayed ruling on his bail after having been arrested in Australia.

"New Zealand" has not been part of Australia for millions of years!

posted by : Kiwi, 23 January 2012 Complain about this comment
aboutus
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters
Advertisement
INQ Poll

Facebook starts selling shares

Will you buy Facebook shares?