The Inquirer-Home

Crack an online code, get a job as a spy

Updated Government spy agency wants online applications
Thu Dec 01 2011, 09:42

UK SPY AGENCY GCHQ has opened up its online doors to potential shady job applicants with an online code cracking competition.

Fittingly for a role that requires modern thinking and modern cracking, the agency has put out the employment ad through Facebook and Twitter, and a web page that has a very elaborate puzzle.

The puzzle can be found on the canyoucrackit.co.uk web site and requires that users work out a key word by making their way through a grid of letters and numbers and, we imagine, many cups of coffee.

You have about ten at a half days to work out the code, at time of publication. To save you some time we can confirm that the word is not, "password", "monkey", "jamesbond", "thequeen", thelovelyqueen", or "cabbage".

If you crack the code and want to work for the government, you will be redirected to GCHQ's web site and asked to apply for a job.

This is not the first time that the agency has used alternative methods for finding applicants, and in 2007 it was running a virtual billboard for games including Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent.

We have asked GCHQ for more information and will update if and when we get any.

Update
A reader pointed us towards this Freedom of Information request that asks the government some questions about the competition, and indeed, whether it is appropriate for it to be running it, particularly since it was found to be poorly managing one before.

"Dear Cabinet Office, following the fiasco surrounding the launch of the cyberSecurityChallenge web site (without SSL encryption, and co-hosted with prestigious sites like Wizards-Casino.com, registered to a UK individual and former CPNI member using her home address, launched on her birthday (*)) I was intrigued by the advertised launch of the canyoucrackit.co.uk web site," says the request.

"It turns out this recruitment site is (again) launched without the benefit of SSL encryption, so ensuring that aspiring GCHQ applicants can be identified from the content of their communications... by crooks like Phorm, Huawei, TalkTalk, BT, Vodafone, Bluecoat &c and every other foreign intelligence agency illegally monitoring UK telecommunications with impunity."

We have checked, and yes there is no apparent SSL security in place, meaning that we can't help but agree with the suggestion from the poster that this is a hoax.

"The net effect is that anyone skilled in communications encryption, expert in internet security, or wise enough to comprehend the risks (**) of the post they might be applying for, would not touch the site with a soiled bargepole," it says. "That being the case, please could you confirm (or deny)."

The web site is quite open about its lack of encryption, as you can see for yourself in its web page information by right clicking on the web page.

A whois lookup found a rather relaxed attitude to adding ownership credentials - Registrant type: UK Individual, Registrant's address: Somewhere, London, london, W0A 0AA, United Kingdom, which again looks sloppy for a government backed spy hiring operation.

We've asked GCHQ for more information. µ

 

Share this:

Comments
rascal

Rascals

posted by : arun, 14 April 2012 Complain about this comment
SSL

It's embarrassing that they're looking for potential cyber-spies using data capture over http. Worth mentioning in the article?

I found this FOI request on the subject, this morning:
http://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/canyoucrackitcouk_is_it_a_hoax

posted by : px, 01 December 2011 Complain about this comment
execute

it's a computer program. i'm expecting you execute the set of bytes presented and will get the answer. but i cant be bnothered to do that as i dont have a real intention of working for them unless they track me down via this post and offer me a million dollars.

posted by : jason, 01 December 2011 Complain about this comment
beware

beware - be assured that if they don't take you on to betray your people to corporations - they'll keep an eye on you in future as a potential threat.

posted by : abz, 01 December 2011 Complain about this comment
SE

Do we get a job if we use social engineering to get the answer out of a spook? Or do we get locked up?

posted by : Olaf, 01 December 2011 Complain about this comment
aboutus
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters
Advertisement
INQ Poll

Facebook starts selling shares

Will you buy Facebook shares?