Jump to content
The Inquirer-Home

WoW players cautioned

Not your usual gamer's 'no girlfriend' warning
Monday, 24 August 2009, 15:20

A PHISHING SCAM is floating 'round the Interweb and targeting players of the popular online escapist, time-wasting World of Warcraft (WoW).

Any player taking time out of their busy WoW schedule to check their email is being warned to be on the lookout for a message purporting to come from Blizzard Entertainment, the company behind the game.

The mailout offers the chance to opt-in to a trial of some new mounts for WoW, but in truth it is designed to phish your account details. Anyone who gets suckered by the scam will find themselves handing over all of their account details to a gang of mysterious miscreants, and worse still, there is no WoW mount trial either.

Insecurity firm Sophos first warned about the scam saying, "Given that online gaming is a billion dollar industry, it is not surprising that scammers are targeting this particular community."

Anyone who still clicks on links in seemingly random emails probably deserves to be phished to within an inch of their credit, but even so we'll remind you that's something you never, ever do.

Regardless of how tempting the mysterious offer might seem. µ

L'Inq
Sophos

 

 

Share this:

Comments
Thats abit harsh

The same scam has been used for a very long time.
The vast majority of infections on PC's before active page malware came about were from end users opening e-mail attachments or entering their information on bogus sites.
Just because they're now targeting the biggest online game ever played means nothing.

And yes I do play wow.

posted by : Case, 24 August 2009 Complain about this comment
They have been doing this for a while.

If wow players haven't gotten it by now I would be surprised they still have an account, because around 3 times a week I get spamed in game by different bots about "Blizzards is launching new a mount! Please come to blizz-us-real.com for your free trial!" They dont have the real at the end, but you get the point, if anyone is stupid enough to follow the link you really have to question how smart that person is.
Also it changes every day to a new link. So like you might get a spam saying blizz-us.com then blizzard-mount-trials.com

PS: Don't go to any of those links, I am not sure if any of those are real links, but you never know.

posted by : bob, 24 August 2009 Complain about this comment
Woh Woh Woh

There's free mounts? Where do I sign up!!!

posted by : The Gambler, 24 August 2009 Complain about this comment
No Girlfriends Eh....

Me and my GF both play WoW :P. Love the game and so does she.

posted by : DTR, 25 August 2009 Complain about this comment
Advertisement
Subscribe to the INQ Newsletter
Sign-up for the INQBot weekly newsletter
Click here to sign up Existing user
Advertisement
INQ Poll

Christmas computer sales

Will you be buying a new computer this Christmas?