Americans generally do the right thing, after first exhausting all the available alternatives - Winston Spencer Churchill
PRINTER MAKER Canon has sent a rocket to bog site Wordpress.com ordering it to shut down its Fake Chuck Westfall Bog.
The bog which claims to be written by a fake version of Canon's technical information advisor Chuck Westfall goes down the same tired lines as the Fake Steve Jobs site.
The only difference is that people know who Steve Jobs is but few would know or care about Chuck.
However that has not stopped Canon throwing all its toys out of the pram over the creation of the site. While Apple was reluctantly forced to admit that the Fake Steve Jobs site was probably legal, Canon has no such qualms.
It claims that the Fake Chuck Westfall blog uses Westfall's name and likeness and Canon's trademark without authorisation.
Canon claims some blog posts violate Wordpress.com's Terms of Service as well as "many and federal state laws" by "threats of physical violence," and "the outrageously privacy-invasive identification... of Westfall's wife, Ying, and young daughter, Anne."
Canon also thinks that the blog looks too official and might actually confuse those who are easily confused.
Over the weekend, Fake Chuck Westfall has removed the Canon logo and toned down one of his posts.
And the outfit which runs Wordpress.com, Automattic, has decided tell Canon to go forth and multiply on some of the other points.
Teh bogger claims you would have to be brain dead to think that a site called "Fake Chuck Westfall" was actually real as the tone and content of the whole blog were clearly satirical.
In fact if you go to the site today, the Fake Chuck is claiming that the whole thing came about because he asked his mates in Canon to come up with a cunning guerilla marketing attempt to boost site traffic to his bogsite.
Quite why Canon would pay money to drive punters to a site that says "communicating with customers is not our strong point," he didn't say. µ
L'INQ
Fake Chuck Westfall
Yesterday I was reading an article about the Canon EOS 5D, thought it was a nice camera, and today Canon's marketing droids Loeb & Loeb direct me to http://fakechuckwestfall.wordpress.com/ just to present me a totally different picture. Well, thank you!