EMAILS sent to Call of Duty Fans all over the world have been exposed as fakes by game developer Infinity Ward.
The emails (sample pictured below) offer recipients a place on the beta testing programme for the fifth iteration of the popular modern combat first-person shooter.

A spokesward said: "Just delete it. Don’t open it, reply, or click any links - it’s fake and could contain a virus or be an attempt to phish personal information. The body of the email is an exact replica of the one I sent out during the COD4 Beta, except they’ve replaced all references of Call of Duty 4.
"For the record, there is no beta. Believe me, if we were having a beta, I’d be screaming it from every internet rooftop from Twitter to Forums. We have yet to even officially announce our next project, let alone a beta for it. Although, it is kind of flattering to think Spammers think a beta for our next game is luring enough to get people to open." µ
L'Inq
IAMfourzerotwo
I bet you feel pretty stupid after what you said
"So, how stupid would 'Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 2' sound?
"
Well that is the name stupid or not, all it means to me is that it will be good again unlike treyarch's colored coaster they call world at war.
Phil, the next CoD is Modern Warfare 2. It was announced awhile ago. So using that name for a beta as a scam was pretty smart on their part, they just had the timing completely wrong.
"Additionally, Activision Blizzard acknowledged the “Call of Duty” series will move forward yet again with “Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2″ coming this fall. No details on the game were released."
http://multiplayerblog.mtv.com/2008/12/03/activision-announces-guitar-hero-5-new-tony-hawk-call-of-duty-modern-warfare-2-more-at-in-game-ad-conference/
If you fell for this you must be feeling a right idiot for falling for such an obvious scam.
The basic CoD fan would first notice the email address referring to 'cod5beta'. Given that CoD 5 is already on the market as 'World at War' this would be your first clue to it being fake.
Infinity Ward didn't develop CoD5 - though they have confirmed CoD6.
The final clue and probably the biggest and most obvious. The correct name of the game the scam email refers to is 'Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare'. So, how stupid would 'Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 2' sound?
This day-in-age everyone should question the authenticity of emails.