We were being entertained by the Intel Corporation, so had no access to the Interweb for most of yesterday afternoon.
The site now has relayed what happened to it over the last few days.
Meanwhile we have had a letter from a guy in Odessa who says he tipped off Microsoft about NDA stuff on the neowin site. Here's the chain mail. The only things we've removed are the people's email addresses, real addresses and phone numbers.
Neowin has made a response to this article, here. ยต
----->
From: "Microsoft Anti-Piracy Team"
To: "Andrew G. Tereschenko"
Sent: Monday, March 03, 2003 7:57 PM
Subject: Re: NDA violations by neowin.net (KMM550985C0KM)
Hello,
Thank you for contacting the Microsoft Anti-Piracy Team.
We greatly appreciate your efforts in contacting the Microsoft Anti-Piracy Team and alerting us to the possible unauthorized copying and distribution of Microsoft software. Please be assured we will investigate further the authenticity of this product and take the appropriate action.
You may also visit our Internet site on http://www.microsoft.com/piracy to review additional information on recognizing genuine Microsoft product and Microsoft's licensing policies.
Again, thank you for your interest in our anti-piracy campaign.
Microsoft Corporation
Worldwide Sales Group
----->
Sender: Andrew G. Tereschenko
Hi,
I would like to open this question becouse probably it's not noticed by Microsoft.
There is a wellknown website in Internet a neowin.net. It provide an information about latest technology, but also it reveal a NDA protected information related to Microsoft Beta programs as well it provide an illegal downloads of Microsoft beta files.
I would like beta administrative staff check if there is any beta accounts opened to an owners of this site (by name,email or address) and determine if they have a NDA signed/violated. In case if such a accounts exists I would Microsoft consider it's termination.
According to whois record for a neowin.net domain is owned by:
NeoBond (neobond@neowin.net)
Hathaway, Steven
[Address details removed. Ed.]
And RedMak (redmak@neowin.net)
Klum, Marcel
[Address details removed. Ed.]
In case if Microsoft will find them in violation, their email accounts hosted by free-email Microsoft servers can be also terminated. A legal case can be opened to prevent Steven and Marcel revealing private Microsoft information.
Thank you,
-- Andrew G. Tereschenko
TAG Software Research Lab
Odessa, Ukraine