THE OUTFIT PLANNING to take on the might of Apple with its cloned computers, Psystar, seems to have difficulty physically existing in this time and space.
Gizmodo hacks have been trying to track down the company's physical addresses. It is a task made a bit harder because Psystar actually changed the address listed on its website halfway through the day yesterday.
The Miami Chamber of Commerce and BBB do not know anything about Psystar. The address found by the Guardian turned out to be a bungalow in a residential area.
Another address listed was actually a packing supply company called "USA KOEN PACK” which had never heard of Psystar and had been there for two years.
Online, the company is unable to process credit card transactions, but is promising those who have ordered already that their Apple clones are in a queue to be built and shipped.
After Gizmodo published the news about the addresses it found, Psystar changed its address again. A spokesman told Tom's Hardware that they got it wrong on their website, er... three times.
The address that Psystar is now giving has a sign for Logistic Solutions and is a big warehouse.
More promising was the other address which is a $6 million building and might mean that the outfit has made a huge jump in the world. µ
L'Inq
Gizmodo
Tags: Apple
The "Chamber of Commerce" is actually an international corporation that seems to do "not much" for local business. Instead, it seems to lobby governments to enact legislation that is harmful to small business. My business certainly wouldn't join them.

The BBB is a scam, pure and simple. You pay your money, you get a "good" reputation. No matter how many complaints a business gets, they will always have a "good" reputation so long as they pay their fees.

So not being a member of either isn't a measure of how reputable a business is, only how gullible the owners are, or how gullible the owners believe their potential customers to be.

The constantly changing and invariably invalid (except for perhaps the first one) address does point to somewhat more serious problems with Psystar though.
using www.sunbiz.org you can check who a business is registered to in the state of Florida.

Heres a link to the listing for this company
http://www.sunbiz.org/scripts/cordet.exe?action=DETFIL&inq_doc_number=P07000077580&inq_came_from=NAMFWD&cor_web_names_seq_number=0000&names_name_ind=N&names_cor_number=&names_name_seq=&names_name_ind=&names_comp_name=PSYSTAR&names_filing_type=
So we have one address as a shack in some suburb, a Chamber of Commerce who has no record of the company, no HQ in sight and promises that orders will be fulfilled.
Now where have I heard THAT before ?
Oh yeah, the Phantom console. It was supposed to deliver on-line play and be the bees knees, but it was actually a complete hoax. The company, Infinium, listed a few false addresses like that, until they were caught red-handed by HardOCP.
To me, similar causes bring similar consequences. In other words, Psystar is a hoax. I do not trust it, or its "management".