The Inquirer-Home

Beware new "Ebay" scam

It's a crooked spamster
Tue Jan 06 2004, 18:59
A SOMEWHAT CONVINCING scam/spam purporting to be from Ebay has started doing the rounds.

The email, titled "Fraud Alert!" purports to be from Ebay and suggests it's opening an investigation into people using your account fraudulently.

But there's some clear give away signs. First, it appears to have been written by an extremely drunken INQUIRER hack, because i before e except after c means receive is misspelt.

The grammar is also a bit dicky-wicky.

And finally, the URL in the spamster doesn't go to Ebay at all, but to this address.

http://piast.t19.ds.pwr.wroc.pl/.mc/ebba/ebay.html.

So if you get one, don't click on the URL.

The emal looks a lot like this:

alt='scamster'

Share this:

Comments

There are no comments submitted yet. Do you have an interesting opinion? Then be the first to post a comment.

aboutus
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters
Advertisement
INQ Poll

Authorities in several countries raided Megaupload recently, shut down all of its services, seized hundreds of servers and arrested several of its executives on criminal charges.

Do you think the move was justified?