The Inquirer-Home

Web site offers scam press cards, IDs

NUJ asks cops to investigate
Fri Jun 18 2004, 11:43
THE UK mag for National Union of Journalist (NUJ) members reports that a web site is offering press cards costing $500.

But The Journalist reports that the site is registered at a bogus UK address and the NUJ has asked the Metropolitan Police, which verifies press membership, to investigate the scam.

The site, ptclub.com, also claims to be able to offer advice on how to get alternative passports and other cards including a UK national ID card - which doesn't exist. Yet.

The Journalist said that it has contacted the web site and its Internet provider saying it is "perpetrating a fraud" and requiring it to remove the material relating to the NUJ immediately.

L'INQ
The Journalist
UK Press Card Scheme

Share this:

Comments

There are no comments submitted yet. Do you have an interesting opinion? Then be the first to post a comment.

aboutus
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters
Advertisement
INQ Poll

Authorities in several countries raided Megaupload recently, shut down all of its services, seized hundreds of servers and arrested several of its executives on criminal charges.

Do you think the move was justified?