The Inquirer-Home
Comments
Google is accurate


I know a couple of site owners who've gotten blocked, and both of them did find malware on their sites, specifically in the PHP based forums. The problem is that when Google does find something, they don't contact the site owner. I don't know why they don't, but I'm glad they protect those poor bastards running Windows from themselves <EVIL GRIN>.

Seriously though, I'm glad that Google is doing this, and so should all those using Windows. After all the alternative is your computer becoming a botnet slave, and credit card numbers being sold to the highest bidder. 

Again, remember that machines running Solaris, OSX, BSD, Linux, OS2, etc. are immune to this sort of stuff. If you can't switch operating systems, consider running Linux as a virtual machine and using that to access the interwebs.

posted by : Wayne, 13 July 2008 Complain about this comment
Google is right

> AVG is flagging it as a trojan downloader.

That's because it *is* a trojan downloader. wp-stats-php.info is a known Chinese exploit server.

> in fact, Google's intelligent algorithms are too sensitive and are flagging a lot of perfectly honest sites as purveyors of malware, just because a spammer pasted rogue URLs into a blog's comments section.

Rogue URLs are nothing to do with it. It is a compromised web page that is entirely capable of infecting you if you simply visit it.

Please do check what's actually on the page before pronouncing "in fact" that Google is wrong.

> It did actually seem like our blog page got hacked - though I don't know if it was necessarily dangerous to the user

Yes, you got hacked, YES it's dangerous to the user! It's an iframe loaded whenever the page is, not a link someone has to click - you only have to View Source to find that out!

> I can't decipher their instructions for getting the pages exonerated by Google

Free clue: getting your pages exonerated means first you have to FIX THEM. Get the compromised box off the net and stop infecting your users for goodness's sake.

Everyone else: please do not visit this site just to see what happens. You cannot necessarily rely on anti-virus to protect you from all the latest web exploits.

posted by : bobince, 11 July 2008 Complain about this comment
Foxconn

Add mobo maker Foxconn to the list...

They are the only makers with a non 780g amd chipset to have an sb700 ....its a 770 mobo...I wanted to go to thier site to make sure it was not a newegg screwup but google was blocking me.

posted by : Bryan, 09 July 2008 Complain about this comment
Anti-vir agrees

I went to that JavaFX blog and all of a sudden I've got Avira Anti-Vir telling me it's picking up a malicious script in my browsers temporary files.
Either everyone's heuristic engines are a bit broken, or perhaps the blog DOES have some malware on it (by mistake).

posted by : Ratfink, 09 July 2008 Complain about this comment
Remove the malware, then

The point is that Google is usually *right* about malware being available on the site, even before the owners know it. This is especially true for all the "blog" pages out there, which invite posting by all kinds of nasty spammers and phishers.

As to getting removed, clicking about 3 times on Google will lead you to this URL: <http://www.stopbadware.org/home/reviewinfo>, where you can apply for removal.

posted by : Dimitry Andric, 09 July 2008 Complain about this comment
Google Anti-malware

I'd be more concerned if you used Google to search for "Microsoft" and it DIDN'T flag as a malware site.

posted by : Rich Wargo, 09 July 2008 Complain about this comment
Wrong?

Quote:
Of the 14 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 10 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 07/01/2008, and the last time suspicious content was found on this site was on 07/01/2008.
Malicious software includes 15 trojan(s). Successful infection resulted in an average of 2 new processes on the target machine.
...
Has this site hosted malware? No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.
In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites, which would cause us to show the warning message.
-------------
Seems fair enough to warn then eh, 15 trojans might be false detects but 2 new processes doesn't sound like it is to me.

posted by : W.-, 09 July 2008 Complain about this comment
found?

According to IE7 and AVG free, the problem comes from a page called wp-stats.htm from http://www.wp-stats-php.info/iframe/wp-stats.php.
AVG is flagging it as a trojan downloader.

posted by : Niki Mistry, 09 July 2008 Complain about this comment

Google now says JavaFX product blog is dangerous

aboutus
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters
Advertisement
INQ Poll

Authorities in several countries raided Megaupload recently, shut down all of its services, seized hundreds of servers and arrested several of its executives on criminal charges.

Do you think the move was justified?