Sun 07 Sep 2008

RSS Feed

Edited by Paul Hales

Published by Incisive Media Investments Ltd.

Terms and Conditions of use.

To advertise in Europe e-mail here

To advertise in Asia email here.

To advertise in North America email here.

Join the INQbot Mail List for a weekly guide to our news stories:

Subscribe

Grisoft subpoenas Microsoft

Take down your links forthwith

THE VOLE has been subpoenad by AV firm Grisoft under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act.

Lawyers filed the subpoena in a Seattle district court, with MSNBC, Linkexchange, and Web TV Networks also being named.

Lawyers for Grisoft wrote Microsoft saying the website www.avg-soft.com appears as a "highly prominent link" when the query AVG is entered into MSN's search engine.

The website, alleges Grisoft, infringes its copyrights and trademarks.

The lawyers said: "The website's proponent, with MSN's facilitation, is taking a 'free ride' on our clients rights" and the proponent of the website is distributing AVG software for a fee. µ

Comments

I like firefox

my firefox 2 just informed me, as I clicked on the link to see what the page was about, that it thought that was a fake web :)
posted by : samspqr, 19 December 2007

Firefox

Firefox seems to have a bit of a tizzy when it sees this site and throws up a warning.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/22017343@N06/2122067943/
posted by : Efros, 19 December 2007

huh?

Can someone explain this article to me? I makes no sense at all.
posted by : ed, 19 December 2007

<aol>Me too</aol>

My Firefox derived Iceweasel does the same...

Errr, I just got the same verification code for this comment as my previous... It came up in the autocomplete! lol!

Quick guys, break out Kai's power goo, you've obviously run out!
posted by : Steve, 20 December 2007

avg-soft is a phishing site

It's hardly Microsoft's fault that scammers managed to get their fake AVG site listed high in the MSN search rankings. Scammers are always juicing search engine results.
posted by : S, 20 December 2007

huh indeed.

Hi, please use comprehensible english in your next update please.

Ed: Grisoft wants Microsoft to remove the avg-soft.com link as it infringes on Grisoft copyrights.
posted by : qurio, 20 December 2007

it's not that difficult...

The site is selling unauthorised copies of AVG, and Grisoft are understandably angry. If they've subpoena'd Microsoft I guess they've already tried locating the webhost and sending C&Ds.

The article could do with a bit of clarity, it's not really clear that pirating is going on.
posted by : Alc, 21 December 2007

What

This article makes no sense. I hope the author is asking for journalism lessons this Christmas.
posted by : Piggy, 21 December 2007
IThound
Search for solutions, reports & analysis

Newsletter signup



 

Top INQ Stories