The Inquirer-Home

Security

IDF: McAfee showcases 'condom for your digital life'

Offers no protection from Zuckerberg

Wed Sep 12 2012, 19:11

Google buys Virustotal to beef up Chrome security

Will help users detect malicious websites

Mon Sep 10 2012, 10:30

US seizes websites shifting pilfered Android apps

Three websites accused of selling ‘pirated’ material

Wed Aug 22 2012, 11:00

School children’s information is leaked online

Sensitive information about children hits the internet

Mon Aug 20 2012, 12:15

Man is accused of creating the Mariposa botnet

Hacker, developer 'Iserdo' in court in Slovenia

Tue Aug 07 2012, 10:23

Apple offers a rare glimpse of its IOS security

Company takes to the stage for the first time at the annual Black Hat conference

Fri Jul 27 2012, 16:12

Russian hacker targets Apple’s App Store

Provides workaround for free in-app purchases

Fri Jul 13 2012, 15:45

McAfee discovers a form of cyber fraud targeting high rollers

Uses evolved versions of the notorious Zeus and Spyeye malware

Tue Jun 26 2012, 16:11

UK should focus more on cyber policing and less on antivirus

A study claims the cost of protection far exceeds the cost of the threat itself

Mon Jun 18 2012, 17:21

Microsoft tops Google’s takedown requests

Firm sends half a million notices Google’s way

Fri May 25 2012, 09:48

Conficker worm is still troubling Microsoft

Virus won’t go away

Thu Apr 26 2012, 09:46

Ofcom is looking at Sky’s canoe man email hack

Confirms its investigation

Mon Apr 23 2012, 17:36

Flashback Trojan is reduced to 140k infections

Mac attack dwindles

Wed Apr 18 2012, 09:40

Apple adds to Flashback cleanup programme

Building a removal tool

Wed Apr 11 2012, 12:06

Global Payments admits losing up to 1.5 million credit card numbers

Investigation is on-going

Mon Apr 02 2012, 17:30

Microsoft confirms Pirate Bay blocking

Updated Says ‘Messenger will kick out threats’

Wed Mar 28 2012, 11:13

Microsoft probes vulnerability leaks

Investigating MS12-020 bug

Mon Mar 19 2012, 11:59

Bluetoad admits it was the source of Apple UDID leak

Has secured its systems

Tue Sep 11 2012, 09:13

Man gets 30 months for selling access to botnet

Ran a network of over 70,000 computers

Fri Sep 07 2012, 09:42

Apple’s Iphone is hit with SMS spoofer

IOS flaw said to be severe

Mon Aug 20 2012, 16:05

Oracle takes charge of Mac OS X Java security and supports Raspberry Pi

Updates Java for Linux on ARM including Raspberry Pi, Beagleboard and Pandaboard

Wed Aug 15 2012, 14:19

Yahoo gets sued over user data leak

Users are not happy with sloppy security

Fri Aug 03 2012, 12:14

Microsoft releases anti hacker tool using Bluehat prize winner code

Bluehat security contestant will see code in action

Wed Jul 25 2012, 10:46

Microsoft revokes 28 of its own certificates

The aftermath of Flame rages on

Wed Jul 11 2012, 17:31

Apple OS X Mountain Lion to add a security update system

As malware threats against the OS increase

Tue Jun 26 2012, 14:09

Coverity to release security testing static analysis for web applications

Bit too late for Linkedin

Mon Jun 11 2012, 13:53

Firm fined for Angry Birds mobile billing scam

Free games not free, but bad

Thu May 24 2012, 10:46

Facebook adds antivirus marketplace

Big names are on board

Thu Apr 26 2012, 09:41

Chinese nationals and a former NASA staffer are charged with software ‘piracy’

Cost companies $100m in revenues

Thu Apr 19 2012, 14:26

Apple issues Flashback fix

Recommended for all Mac users with Java installed

Fri Apr 13 2012, 09:58

Flashback Mac botnet is confirmed but shrinking

Kaspersky confirms infections

Tue Apr 10 2012, 16:58

Apple Macs are targeted though dirty Word docs

Tibetan trojan tracked down

Fri Mar 30 2012, 12:24

Extremists practice terrorism in console games

The Sun is there

Tue Mar 20 2012, 15:41

Sophos warns about a fresh Windows exploit

You were told to patch it

Fri Mar 16 2012, 15:23

Hermione Granger is an internet danger

Emma Watson tops McAfee’s list of celebrity cyber threats

Mon Sep 10 2012, 14:13

Crisis malware is more dangerous than first thought

Symantec warns Trojan is capable of infecting VMware virtual machines and Windows Mobile devices

Wed Aug 22 2012, 17:44

McAfee updates Mobile Security app to use approved apps list

Expensive way to stay safe

Mon Aug 20 2012, 12:34

Apple and Amazon plug security holes exposed by Icloud hack

No more changing your details over the phone

Thu Aug 09 2012, 16:55

Google cracks down on spam Android apps

Hopes to improve its Google Play store

Thu Aug 02 2012, 14:50

UK government disgraced by Gary McKinnon extradition saga

Opinion Decade-long limbo is punishment enough

Tue Jul 24 2012, 13:29

The bad guys are winning the cyber war, security firm warns

Endace warns that cyber criminals are already in most companies' networks

Tue Jul 03 2012, 11:20

Paypal announces a bug bounty programme

Security research on the cheap

Fri Jun 22 2012, 15:33

The md5crypt() author says the algorithm is no longer secure

Has been vulnerable for some time

Fri Jun 08 2012, 16:27

Olympic security: How Atos will ensure that technology systems are protected

Burly guards in high-viz jackets won't be the only protection at the Games

Mon Apr 30 2012, 09:00

Sophos study finds that one fifth of Macs carry malware

Windows threats are most common

Tue Apr 24 2012, 14:18

Credit card poachers are in your hotel

Hacking techniques are being sold in underground forums

Thu Apr 19 2012, 10:57

Microsoft’s Patch Tuesday has four critical fixes

Update or suffer the consequences

Wed Apr 11 2012, 14:21

600,000 infected Macs are found in a botnet

Over half a million and rising

Thu Apr 05 2012, 09:43

Draw Something scam is spreading on Twitter

Clicker beware

Thu Mar 29 2012, 14:28

Russian cops arrest Carberp phishing gang

Eight men picked up over banking hacks

Tue Mar 20 2012, 11:40
Page 6 of 16
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Dead electronic devices to be banned on US-bound flights

Will the new rules banning uncharged devices be effective?