The Inquirer-Home

Security

Microsoft issues 57 patches for February Patch Tuesday

Addresses flaws in Internet Explorer

Wed Feb 13 2013, 11:45

Microsoft and Symantec shut down Bamital click fraud botnet

Shutting the barn door

Thu Feb 07 2013, 15:54

Kim Dotcom puts €10,000 bounty on Mega bugs

Vulnerability reward programme will pay exploit busters

Mon Feb 04 2013, 09:42

Google is criticised for weak Android Play store security

Sophos not happy with the surroundings

Tue Jan 22 2013, 11:21

Mozilla outs Firefox 18 for PCs and an updated Android version

Should improve performance

Wed Jan 09 2013, 12:27

Stolen Iphone snaps a mystery woman with a large sunroof

Police would like to talk to the lady about the missing Iphone

Tue Dec 11 2012, 10:59

South Carolina loses tax details through stolen password

Security audit is all done

Wed Nov 21 2012, 16:23

Belize police seek McAfee founder in murder probe

Antivirus pioneer suspected in killing

Tue Nov 13 2012, 10:30

French hacker admits smartphone app fraud

Slowly softly stealing Frenchman

Fri Oct 19 2012, 09:40

RSA Europe 2012: Cyber crooks and state hackers work together on threats

Shortage of skilled security staff leaves companies at risk

Wed Oct 10 2012, 12:05

World of Warcraft attack kills all in-game characters

Everyone in Stormwind and Orgrimmar was killed, including non-player characters

Mon Oct 08 2012, 10:43

FTC fines scareware scammers $163m

Also banned from selling software

Wed Oct 03 2012, 14:41

Adobe got hacked, security breached

Firm will revoke a code signing certificate

Fri Sep 28 2012, 15:51

Bruce Schneier says security firms need to improve anti-spam software

Schneier discusses encryption and anti-spam at the V3 Security Summit

Tue Sep 25 2012, 11:32

Microsoft warns of Internet Explorer flaw

Flaw will floor ya

Tue Sep 18 2012, 10:08

IDF: McAfee showcases 'condom for your digital life'

Offers no protection from Zuckerberg

Wed Sep 12 2012, 19:11

Google buys Virustotal to beef up Chrome security

Will help users detect malicious websites

Mon Sep 10 2012, 10:30

Mega bug hunters are drawing mostly blanks

So far nothing to worry Kim Dotcom

Mon Feb 11 2013, 10:02

Apple lets latest Java update back on Mac OS X

Despite ongoing security concerns

Tue Feb 05 2013, 10:49

Kaspersky launches its latest business security software

Nothing groundbreaking here

Wed Jan 30 2013, 19:00

Security firm wanders into Russian ‘Red October' cyber attack

Kaspersky Lab finds pesky rat

Mon Jan 14 2013, 15:41

Copyright thief pleads guilty to selling stolen software

Chinese man awaits sentencing

Tue Jan 08 2013, 10:16

Apple hires ex-Microsoft Vista security researcher

Brings in proven talent

Fri Dec 07 2012, 12:39

John McAfee offers a reward for evidence of his innocence

On the lam in the vicinity

Mon Nov 19 2012, 12:36

Man is charged with selling counterfeit Microsoft software worth $1.2m

Worth $1.2m to Microsoft, of course

Fri Nov 09 2012, 11:00

Gary McKinnon will hear his extradition fate tomorrow

Ten year decision in the making

Mon Oct 15 2012, 09:54

Lookout updates its Mobile Security app for Android smartphones

We go hands-on with the redesigned app that brings a host of new features

Tue Oct 09 2012, 13:00

Kaspersky adds mugshot feature to Mobile Security software

Helps users identify phone thieves by taking photos via a front-facing camera

Fri Oct 05 2012, 15:49

Google warns more users about state sponsored attacks

Keep a gimlet eye on your inbox

Wed Oct 03 2012, 11:51

Paypal users are suffering withdrawal problems

Updated Some sent for extra checks

Fri Sep 28 2012, 12:47

Symantec source code is leaked to Pirate Bay

Updated Norton Utilities 2006 spilled by Antisec

Tue Sep 25 2012, 10:21

Kaspersky finds three Flame related malware threats

Firm warns at least one is still operating in the wild

Mon Sep 17 2012, 17:20

Bluetoad admits it was the source of Apple UDID leak

Has secured its systems

Tue Sep 11 2012, 09:13

Man gets 30 months for selling access to botnet

Ran a network of over 70,000 computers

Fri Sep 07 2012, 09:42

Microsoft's Patch Tuesday will have five critical Windows and IE fixes

February patch to come Tuesday

Fri Feb 08 2013, 10:47

Fourth 'Anonymous' Paypal activist avoids jail

Too much, too young

Mon Feb 04 2013, 09:49

Lookout updates Android security software with Lock Cam

Takes a photo of an unauthorised user and emails it to the victim

Wed Jan 23 2013, 11:00

Oracle issues hot patch for zero day Java exploit

Install it while it's hot

Mon Jan 14 2013, 10:39

Gary McKinnon's decade long ordeal is finally over

Hacker won't face charges in the UK

Fri Dec 14 2012, 15:26

EE preloads Lookout Mobile Security on all Android phones

As mobile security threats rise

Tue Dec 04 2012, 10:29

Outwar hacker gets indicted

Roleplaying game got real

Fri Nov 16 2012, 10:33

Microsoft settles with Kelihos botnet defendant

Closes down case

Mon Oct 22 2012, 16:58

Hackers take advantage of Megaupload, Pirate Bay withdrawal

Keygens are criminals' malware spreaders of choice, says Microsoft

Wed Oct 10 2012, 15:40

Microsoft quickly issues Internet Explorer 10 patch for Adobe flaws

Follows security updates for Adobe Flash Player

Tue Oct 09 2012, 11:09

FTC cracks down on technical support scammers

Starts major operation on bogus services

Thu Oct 04 2012, 09:58

US government hit by cyber attack

Finger of blame pointed at Chinese hackers

Mon Oct 01 2012, 17:26

Mozilla demos single signon scheme Persona

Experimental system is in beta

Fri Sep 28 2012, 11:55

Germans are advised not to use Internet Explorer

Microsoft says only use it with caution

Wed Sep 19 2012, 09:47

Microsoft takes on Nitol botnet

Fake software in the supply chain blamed

Thu Sep 13 2012, 11:47

Hermione Granger is an internet danger

Emma Watson tops McAfee’s list of celebrity cyber threats

Mon Sep 10 2012, 14:13
Page 5 of 16
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Dead electronic devices to be banned on US-bound flights

Will the new rules banning uncharged devices be effective?