The Inquirer-Home

Security

Starbucks digital wallet app for iPhone has a major security flaw

Updated But a fix it on the way

Fri Jan 17 2014, 11:56

Oracle to issue huge security patch addressing 36 Java vulnerabilities

144 flaws found across hundreds of Oracle products and components

Mon Jan 13 2014, 11:42

Snapchat snaps into post hacking apology mode

Updates app and gets around to apologising

Fri Jan 10 2014, 11:42

Hackers claim a denial of service attack on Steam

Not a lot of hot air

Fri Jan 03 2014, 15:18

Computing pioneer Alan Turing gets royal pardon

Enigma programmer was jailed for being a homosexual

Tue Dec 24 2013, 09:51

Sony is resetting some user passwords due to 'irregular activity'

Senses a disturbance in the system

Fri Dec 06 2013, 15:15

Adobe customers are still struggling with post hacking issues

Can't give its software away

Tue Nov 26 2013, 14:13

Google offers bug bounties for Android patches

More open source software qualifies

Tue Nov 19 2013, 16:42

Computer virus brought aboard the ISS

In space, no one can hear you plug in a USB stick

Wed Nov 13 2013, 12:56

Microsoft and Facebook set up Hackerone web bounty programme

Common internet bug catchers line up for rewards

Thu Nov 07 2013, 10:38

Google will pay open source vulnerability finders

Up to $3,133.7 in prizes

Thu Oct 10 2013, 09:41

Yahoo does a U-turn on bug bounty hunting

T-shirtgate means it's out with rubber ducks and in with bills

Thu Oct 03 2013, 16:02

RSA warns against NSA code in encryption software

Strongly recommends not using Dual EC DRBG

Mon Sep 23 2013, 10:26

Rogue Android Skype app is open to premium SMS fraud

Unofficial sources bring unwanted attention

Tue Sep 10 2013, 15:20

Germany warns against using Windows 8 due to security risks

Government claims it offers a back door for the NSA

Fri Aug 23 2013, 10:05

FBI is accused of compromising the TOR network

Anonymous internet is missing in action

Mon Aug 05 2013, 15:05

Xkeyscore tool gives NSA access to email, web history and Facebook

Documents from Snowden reveal snooping is worse than first thought

Wed Jul 31 2013, 15:40

Syrian Electronic Army attacks Saudi websites

Also promises a return to Redmond

Thu Jan 16 2014, 13:37

Syrian Electronic Army claims Microsoft as its latest victim

Twitter account falls, emails snarfed

Mon Jan 13 2014, 10:05

Microsoft cancels Security Essentials for Windows XP

Firm adds more reasons to stop putting off upgrading

Thu Jan 09 2014, 17:35

SEA attacks Skype in NSA spying protest

Takes over its Twitter account and blog

Thu Jan 02 2014, 09:31

Half of IT pros plan to use Windows XP after support ends in 2014

Security concerns grow as Microsoft end of support draws ever closer

Wed Dec 18 2013, 13:40

Microsoft and others take down a thieving botnet

Affected millions and cost advertisers millions a month

Fri Dec 06 2013, 09:52

Cryptolocker shrinks ransom as Bitcoin bubble grows

Malware muggers cut their extortion fee

Fri Nov 22 2013, 15:25

Google fined $17m for circumventing Safari privacy settings

Browser bypass bites back

Tue Nov 19 2013, 10:30

Australian robbed of Bitcoin fortune

Police were not called

Fri Nov 08 2013, 12:52

US indicts 28 year old Brit on computer misuse charges

Updated Indicted in the USA

Tue Oct 29 2013, 14:26

Microsoft pays a $100,000 bug bounty

Starts kicking back to the security community

Wed Oct 09 2013, 09:45

Yahoo offers a whopping $12.50 bug bounty

A lot of terms and conditions apply to get that rubber duck

Tue Oct 01 2013, 16:03

Windows Phone 8 is deemed secure by the US and Canadian governments

It might finally get some use in the government and enterprise markets

Wed Sep 18 2013, 16:03

McAfee warns about fake Android apps

Not fair play

Tue Sep 10 2013, 13:06

Security researcher breaks onto Mark Zuckerberg’s Facebook wall

Claims that was the only way to get the firm's attention

Mon Aug 19 2013, 10:35

Google launches Android Device Manager for tracking lost and stolen smartphones

Takes tips from Apple's Find My iPhone app

Mon Aug 05 2013, 12:00

Apple’s developer websites creep back online

Were taken down after security questioned

Mon Jul 29 2013, 10:53

Microsoft's January Patch Tuesday tackles Windows XP security holes

Patching all it can before end of support in April

Tue Jan 14 2014, 11:46

Gmail starts showing images by default on Android

Updated No need to worry about picture security

Fri Jan 10 2014, 12:52

NSA linked Morta Security is bought by Palo Alto Networks

Ex-spies come out of stealth mode

Tue Jan 07 2014, 14:01

2013 was a very hacked year

More to come

Thu Dec 26 2013, 10:40

Microsoft beefs up account security

Adds three safety features

Tue Dec 10 2013, 15:56

Kaspersky claims the average cyber attack costs £255

People still aren't doing backups

Wed Dec 04 2013, 17:18

Tim Berners-Lee warns against government surveillance

Web pioneer puts a flea in the ear

Fri Nov 22 2013, 09:41

100,000 gullible hipsters botnetted in Instagram scam

Many photos of last night's dinner endangered by Instascam

Wed Nov 13 2013, 17:02

Google’s Chrome web browser will block extensions

More secure, more shiny

Fri Nov 08 2013, 09:52

UK National Crime Agency sends £750k phisherman to chokey

Five and a half year sentence is first scalp for crime fighting org

Thu Oct 10 2013, 11:05

Eric Schmidt draws laughs with claim that Android is 'more secure' than iOS

Says it goes through 'rigorous' testing

Tue Oct 08 2013, 11:32

Symantec researchers sinkhole Bitcoin mining Zero Access botnet horde

Scam earns crooks just $2,165 in Bitcoins for every $600,000 stolen

Mon Sep 30 2013, 16:55

John McAfee is alive and kidding

Don’t believe what you read

Tue Sep 10 2013, 15:38

Google shores up security following PRISM revelations

In an arms race against the government

Mon Sep 09 2013, 12:11

Blackberry Z10 and Q10 get thumbs up from US Department of Defense

Canadian firm gets some good news for once

Fri Aug 09 2013, 12:45

Black Hat: NASA JPL boss Brian Muirhead talks about Mars exploration

Encourages balancing risk with preparation

Fri Aug 02 2013, 15:15
Page 3 of 16
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Dead electronic devices to be banned on US-bound flights

Will the new rules banning uncharged devices be effective?