The Inquirer-Home

Security

Netflix open sources internet security tools

Scumblr, Sketchy and Workflowable open to all

Thu Aug 28 2014, 17:35

GCHQ challenges punters to block and fix a cyber attack

Astute Explorer is part of the cyber security challenge

Thu Aug 21 2014, 09:18

Symantec promises a new world, a new Norton

Nine becomes one

Tue Aug 19 2014, 11:37

Yahoo Mail to follow Gmail's lead with end-to-end encryption

Company offers shaky priest metaphor

Fri Aug 08 2014, 11:09

Synology 'investigating' Synlocker NAS drive ransomware

Users hit by ransomware advised to shutdown their systems

Wed Aug 06 2014, 10:33

Android 'supermalware' can impersonate any app

'Fake ID' will leave you needing a beer

Tue Jul 29 2014, 16:15

Dropbox advises users with privacy concerns to add their own encryption

But warns it will break some features if you do

Wed Jul 23 2014, 15:08

Silent Circle guns for Skype with global expansion of encrypted calling service

Users can make secure phone calls globally without roaming charges

Thu Jul 10 2014, 10:08

Android bug leaks your location via WiFi

Saving your battery could cost your privacy

Fri Jul 04 2014, 11:48

Microsoft says No-IP accounts massacre was a technical error

Seized first, explained later

Wed Jul 02 2014, 06:46

Microsoft launches Interflow to pool threat data in the cloud

Aims to reduce end-user costs

Tue Jun 24 2014, 16:42

Android and Windows Phone devices will get an anti-theft kill switch

Follows launch of Apple's iOS Activation Lock

Fri Jun 20 2014, 13:16

One in five SMBs refuse to let go of Windows XP

How many more times do we have to say it?

Wed Jun 18 2014, 17:16

Feedly hits third day of downtime as DDoS attacks continue

No sign of attacks ending any time soon

Fri Jun 13 2014, 12:31

Gmail exploit foiled for a $500 bounty from Google

Bug could expose all Gmail user addresses

Thu Jun 12 2014, 14:33

US accuses Chinese 'Panda Putter' group of cyber espionage campaign

Group reportedly targeting US and European businesses in space and satellite industry

Tue Jun 10 2014, 13:32

Latest iOS 7 lock screen flaw grants hackers iPhone access 'within five seconds'

Offers access to any app open on Apple smartphone

Tue Jun 10 2014, 11:06

Linkedin settles security breach class-action lawsuit for $1.25m

Affected users will get $50 each

Tue Aug 26 2014, 13:39

Chinese Linux Trojan makes the jump to Windows

DDoS attacks largely aimed within China

Wed Aug 20 2014, 15:36

Google adds protection from spoof downloads to Chrome

Users will see download bar warning

Fri Aug 15 2014, 16:12

OpenSSL receives nine post-Heartbleed critical bug fixes

The CII coding boys are earning their keep

Thu Aug 07 2014, 15:44

Samba hit by remote code execution vulnerability

Samba got tangoed

Tue Aug 05 2014, 13:06

The Pirate Bay launches a mobile website for smartphone torrenting

So far it hasn't fallen afoul of the content cartels

Fri Jul 25 2014, 16:28

Google adds more security to its Gmail servers

You'll get a grilling if your app isn't encrypted

Mon Jul 21 2014, 16:14

Adobe issues critical Flash Player update for Windows and Mac

Google credentials could have been swiped

Wed Jul 09 2014, 15:47

Blackberry CEO lays into Android Knox security

Despite Google's OS overtaking Blackberry in the enterprise

Fri Jul 04 2014, 10:29

Microsoft installs tougher Outlook and Onedrive encryption to curb NSA snooping

TLS and PFS encryption deployed to put an end to back door snooping

Tue Jul 01 2014, 15:36

Google forks OpenSSL to make BoringSSL

Alternative will help, not take over

Mon Jun 23 2014, 13:28

Google Play Store is littered with 'secret keys'

Android app developers are leaving sensitive data in their code

Thu Jun 19 2014, 16:28

Microsoft patches DoS bug in anti-malware engine

Seven months after it was discovered

Wed Jun 18 2014, 16:31

Malwarebytes anti-exploits service protects Windows XP users from attacks

Covers popular targets including Microsoft Office, Java and Adobe

Thu Jun 12 2014, 16:05

LG G3 gets anti-theft Kill Switch courtesy of McAfee

Protected from the hands of pilferers

Thu Jun 12 2014, 12:50

Teenagers hack ATM by reading the instructions

Not punished, but late back from lunch

Tue Jun 10 2014, 12:49

OpenSSL yields yet another vulnerability

'I Got You Babe' is playing on the radio

Fri Jun 06 2014, 15:16

Facebook adds Oculus VR bounties to bug hunter buffet

Minimum of $500 on offer

Thu Aug 21 2014, 10:26

Heartbleed to blame for plundering of 4.5 million CHSPSC hospital records

OpenSSL flaw likely lead to Community Health Systems Professional Services Corporation hack

Wed Aug 20 2014, 12:37

IBM buys Lighthouse to bolster cloud security credentials

Lighthouse shows IBM rocks

Tue Aug 12 2014, 15:08

nCrypted Cloud brings client side integration to Dropbox, Microsoft Onedrive

Puts security at the forefront

Thu Aug 07 2014, 13:10

Chinese authorities announce Microsoft anti-monopoly investigation

Updated Thinks there's something it isn't being told

Tue Jul 29 2014, 17:01

European Central Bank sees customer data pilfered in website hack

But said no financial details have been pinched

Thu Jul 24 2014, 11:24

Blackphone goes for Blackberry's throat in privacy row

Black mark for Canadian rival

Wed Jul 16 2014, 13:08

Open-Xchange: The internet wouldn't have happened without Linux

Interview CEO compares big data firms to Hotel California

Mon Jul 07 2014, 17:18

Post Heartbleed OpenSSL roadmap shows the mountain it has to climb

Admit it's time to get its house in order

Wed Jul 02 2014, 15:29

Luuuk malware lifts €500,000 a week from European bank

Customers of a ‘large European bank' should be extra vigilant, says Kaspersky Lab

Wed Jun 25 2014, 14:13

Android 4.4.4 Kitkat unexpectedly arrives with OpenSSL fix

2.2.2 away from the number of the beast

Fri Jun 20 2014, 15:55

Student beats Simplelocker Android ransomware with Java applet

Flicks the baddies the Control V sign

Thu Jun 19 2014, 11:50

Domino's hackers fail to release customer data following Twitter suspension

Even hackers need to earn a (thin) crust

Tue Jun 17 2014, 11:21

Amazon Web Services is still using Truecrypt

Two weeks after closure it remains the only encryption option

Thu Jun 12 2014, 15:01

HP brings simple split-key encryption to the cloud

Promises the NSA won't be able to access your data

Wed Jun 11 2014, 00:16

Russian Oleg Pliss takers arrested over iOS shakedown scam

The Ministry of Internal Affairs confirms pick up and confessions

Tue Jun 10 2014, 11:57
Page 1 of 16
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Blackberry completes restructuring process

Do you think Blackberry can bounce back to growth?