The Inquirer-Home

Phone

Android 4.x Jelly Bean is on 13.6 percent of devices

Android 2.3 Gingerbread has the highest share

Wed Feb 06 2013, 10:47

Android and iOS account for 92 percent of fourth quarter smartphone shipments

Blackberry and Windows Phone left behind

Mon Jan 28 2013, 11:58

Sony Playstation Mobile kicks off a six week free game frenzy

Playstation Mobile users get a free game a week

Thu Jan 17 2013, 09:47

French hacker admits smartphone app fraud

Slowly softly stealing Frenchman

Fri Oct 19 2012, 09:40

Dutch pranksters superglue an Iphone 5 to the sidewalk

Hilarity ensues

Mon Sep 24 2012, 12:13

Apple’s Iphone is hit with SMS spoofer

IOS flaw said to be severe

Mon Aug 20 2012, 16:05

IBM fails to stop Reuters from publishing a patent agreement with Samsung

The cat will get out of the bag

Tue Jul 31 2012, 11:19

Apple's IOS 5.1.1 gets jailbroken

Fanbois want to break free

Fri May 25 2012, 15:58

Sony releases Android ROM for unlocked Xperia Play

Wants feedback on game performance

Fri Mar 30 2012, 12:10

Mozilla announces partnerships for its Gecko HTML5 phone

Telefonica and Deutsche Telekom sign on the dotted line

Tue Feb 28 2012, 14:23

Oracle drops a patent and lowers its damages estimate against Google

Oracle's shambles continue to cost it dearly

Mon Feb 20 2012, 17:16

Google’s Bouncer will boost Android security

If it looks dodgy, it’s not getting in

Fri Feb 03 2012, 09:39

Oracle tries to get out of its Java patents lawsuit against Google

Wants a different judge

Thu Jan 19 2012, 10:42

Android variant Cyanogenmod passes one million installs

Community effort hits a big milestone

Fri Jan 13 2012, 15:34

Windows Phone 7.5 suffers a SMS denial of service flaw

Perhaps a sign of growing popularity

Wed Dec 14 2011, 10:24

Carrier IQ admits its software sees a lot of information but claims no rights over data

Hints at a mobile operator control problem

Mon Dec 05 2011, 09:22

Samsung Galaxy Nexus volume bug fix is rolling out now

Will reach all in the next week

Wed Nov 30 2011, 12:54

RIM’s European MD fends off 'what went wrong' question

We'll never know what he thinks happened

Wed Jan 30 2013, 11:47

Children are at risk from smartphone apps

UK regulator wants parents to step in between kids and apps

Wed Jan 16 2013, 15:22

Apple acknowledges purple photo problem

Suggests a workaround

Mon Oct 08 2012, 09:41

Half a billion Android devices have been activated

It’s a big day for Google's mobile operating system

Wed Sep 12 2012, 14:31

Microsoft suspends Windows Phone app submissions

Cites problems with certificates

Wed Aug 15 2012, 12:47

Microsoft denies HTC early access to Windows 8

Showing loyality to a long-time Windows Phone sufferer

Thu Jun 07 2012, 14:37

Firm fined for Angry Birds mobile billing scam

Free games not free, but bad

Thu May 24 2012, 10:46

HTC details its Android 4.0 updates

Ice Cream Sandwiches line up

Wed Mar 14 2012, 11:32

Windows Phone holds little joy for Nokia as Symbian market share plummets

Falls into a death spiral

Wed Feb 22 2012, 15:26

Google's appeal to remove Lindholm email from Android lawsuit is denied

Oracle scores a minor victory

Tue Feb 07 2012, 17:24

Whited00r brings parts of IOS 5 to Apple's Iphones

Suggests performance is not an issue

Fri Jan 20 2012, 17:38

Vodafone hires Yoda

Heh, Yodafone

Wed Jan 18 2012, 13:29

Google issues an Android application style guide

Advises developers to clean up their act

Fri Jan 13 2012, 14:50

FBI admits to using Carrier IQ data

A tool for the men in black

Tue Dec 13 2011, 16:16

Apple, Nokia and RIM distance themselves from Carrier IQ saga

Don't look at us, Guv'

Fri Dec 02 2011, 15:04

Motorola Mobility shareholders vote in favour of Google merger

Now waiting for the Department of Justice

Fri Nov 18 2011, 11:57

Apple releases iOS 6.1 for iPhones and iPads

LTE support added

Tue Jan 29 2013, 09:39

Mozilla releases details of developer Firefox OS smartphone

Goes for the low-end

Tue Jan 22 2013, 15:36

Microsoft smacks down Apple and Android handsets with Windows Phone duel

Interrupts dinner, smokes a phone and leaves

Tue Nov 20 2012, 12:16

Netflix updates its Android app

Complete overhaul for video streaming application

Mon Sep 24 2012, 15:18

Google’s Android OS has over half of the US smartphone market

Samsung heads the list of sellers

Wed Sep 05 2012, 09:47

Microsoft revamps Windows Phone Dev Centre with Paypal support

More markets but not many users

Tue Aug 07 2012, 14:14

Samsung open sources Galaxy S3 source code

Impressive turnaround

Fri Jun 01 2012, 12:06

Motorola cools on Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich updates

They won’t always work so it won’t always do them

Mon May 21 2012, 14:11

Samsung kicks off Android 4.0 rollout

Starts today, to spread slowly

Tue Mar 13 2012, 15:02

Canonical will pitch Ubuntu with Android on Motorola Atrix 2 at MWC

Dual OS to kill Windows

Wed Feb 22 2012, 14:01

Microsoft will relax hardware specifications for Windows Phone 8

Will nick the NT OS kernel from Windows 8

Fri Feb 03 2012, 15:06

Kodak sues Samsung alleging patent infringement

While filing for Chapter 11 bankruptcy protection

Thu Jan 19 2012, 15:35

Apple IOS 5.0.1 untethered jailbreak is shown off

Not long until public release

Mon Jan 16 2012, 17:05

Apple sued by Cequint for alleged caller-ID patent infringement

Gets in line behind Samsung and HTC

Wed Dec 14 2011, 11:14

Schmidt calls Carrier IQ software a keylogger

More pressure on mobile tracking outfit

Fri Dec 09 2011, 14:54

Apple loads Carrier IQ's trackerware onto IOS devices

But refrains from keylogging

Thu Dec 01 2011, 13:49
Page 5 of 12
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Internet of Things at Christmas poll

Which smart device are you hoping Santa brings?