The Inquirer-Home

Phone

Android and iOS claim a combined 96.3 percent share of smartphone market

Squeeze out Windows Phone and BlackBerry

Wed Feb 25 2015, 11:27

Lollipop claims just 1.6 percent of active Android devices

Three months after it made its debut

Tue Feb 03 2015, 10:56

Galaxy S6 will reportedly launch with 'bloat-free' TouchWiz software

Samsung's next smartphone to boast a 'near-Nexus' experience

Fri Jan 30 2015, 11:11

Android 5.0 Lollipop is rolling out to Galaxy S5 handsets in the UK

One month later than expected

Tue Jan 13 2015, 10:48

iOS 8 hits 63 percent adoption as Apple squashes bugs in latest release

A stark comparison with Lollipop's 2.1 percent

Wed Dec 10 2014, 11:32

Android continues smartphone dominance as Kitkat claims a third of devices

But just 0.15 percent are running Lollipop

Tue Dec 02 2014, 11:42

Apple releases iOS 8.1.1 to speed up iPhone 4S and iPad 2 performance

Firm also rolls out Mac OS X 10.10.1 to fix Yosemite WiFi problems

Tue Nov 18 2014, 10:39

LG G3 to receive Android 5.0 Lollipop update this week

Poland first on the hitlist

Mon Nov 10 2014, 12:24

Galaxy S4 to receive Android 5.0 Lollipop update 'next year'

Will follow the Galaxy S5 and Galaxy Note 4

Tue Nov 04 2014, 11:43

iOS 8 is now on more than 50 percent of iPhones and iPads

Compared to Kitkat's 24.5 percent adoption

Wed Oct 29 2014, 14:21

Galaxy Note 4 will see Android 5.0 Lollipop update, Samsung teases

But firm hasn't said when it will arrive

Wed Oct 22 2014, 13:56

Android 5.0 Lollipop coming to last year's Moto G, Moto X and Moto E

But Motorola is probably hoping you'll get a Nexus 6 instead

Thu Oct 16 2014, 14:59

Microsoft: Windows Phone 8.1 is on 'majority' of Lumia devices

While Windows Phone 7.x accounts for less than five percent

Tue Sep 30 2014, 15:39

iOS 8.0.1 is coming 'fairly soon' to fix keyboard, Safari glitches

Apple has released the update to network partners

Wed Sep 24 2014, 10:48

Apple delays iOS 8 SMS Continuity feature until October

Won't arrive with update on 17 September

Mon Sep 15 2014, 12:54

iPhone 6 to feature 'one-handed mode' due to larger 4.7in and 5.5in screen sizes

Users will be able to toggle option for more comfortable app use

Fri Sep 05 2014, 12:35

Windows Phone market share tumbles almost 10 percent as Lumia sales dry up

But Blackberry is the biggest Q2 sufferer

Fri Aug 15 2014, 13:46

Windows 10 Technical Preview arrives on the Lumia 830 and Lumia 730

But Microsoft warns it's likely to be full of bugs

Fri Feb 13 2015, 10:17

Windows 10 has the potential to save Windows Phone

Column Microsoft is trying to beat Apple at its own game

Fri Jan 30 2015, 13:00

Microsoft kicks off Lumia Denim rollout for Windows Phone 8.1 devices

Update brings improved Cortana, Live Folders and boosted VPN security

Fri Jan 16 2015, 10:31

Samsung to make play for Windows Phone in bid to end Android reliance

Firm reportedly testing Windows 8.1 smartphones

Mon Jan 12 2015, 12:53

Blackphone launches privacy-aware app store in bid to reward security-conscious devs

Firm also takes on Samsung Knox with 'Spaces'

Tue Dec 09 2014, 08:00

iOS 8 is installed on 60 percent of iPhones and iPads despite persistent problems

Up from 52 percent in October

Fri Nov 28 2014, 12:05

Microsoft: Windows 10 is coming to all Windows Phone 8 Lumia devices

Likely to arrive early next year

Fri Nov 14 2014, 10:16

Apple claims 70 percent of enterprise smartphone market thanks to iPhone 6 release

Microsoft retains one percent share

Mon Nov 10 2014, 10:07

Android 4.4 Kitkat adoption passes 30 percent, but Jelly Bean still dominates

Android 5.0 Lollipop has yet to make an appearance in the list

Tue Nov 04 2014, 11:08

LG G3 to see Android 5.0 Lollipop update in the fourth quarter

An update for the LG G3 'will follow'

Tue Oct 28 2014, 13:25

iOS 8.1 available to download on iPhones and iPads with 2.2GB free space

Brings Apple Pay, Camera Roll and Continuity features

Tue Oct 21 2014, 10:24

HTC One M8 receives Android 4.4.4 Kitkat with Eye Experience included

Update is rolling out across Europe now

Fri Oct 10 2014, 12:37

iPhone and iPad users report iOS 8.0.2 connectivity, Safari glitches

Update appears to do more harm than good

Mon Sep 29 2014, 10:09

iOS 8 nears 50 percent adoption despite WiFi, performance glitches

Overtakes Android 4.4 Kitkat in just six days

Tue Sep 23 2014, 10:26

Google eyes Nokia with launch of first Android One smartphones

Offers cheap phones for emerging markets

Mon Sep 15 2014, 10:50

Apple bans iOS developers from selling user Healthkit data

Looks to appease user privacy concerns a week before iOS 8 launch

Tue Sep 02 2014, 09:52

Kitkat now runs on more than a fifth of active Android devices

But Jelly Bean continues to claim more than half

Wed Aug 13 2014, 11:09

iOS 9 to shun new features in favour of stability and bug fixes

Apple reportedly plans to focus on under-the-hood improvements

Tue Feb 10 2015, 10:53

Microsoft will 'invest in Cyanogen' to lessen Google's hold on Android

Wants to create Microsoft-friendly Android fork

Fri Jan 30 2015, 11:54

iOS 8.2 beta 4 release confirms imminent Apple Watch release

A dedicated app for the wearable is coming

Tue Jan 13 2015, 11:23

Lollipop fails to dent Android market as Kitkat edges to 40 percent share

Suggests Android 5.0 adoption has been slow

Fri Jan 09 2015, 13:01

Lollipop is installed on 2.1 percent of Android devices

A figure that has been 'flat-lining' for some time

Thu Dec 04 2014, 10:56

Video shows Galaxy Note 3 with Android 5.0 Lollipop

But no word on when the update will arrive

Thu Nov 20 2014, 12:09

Android 5.0 Lollipop hits the Nexus 5, Nexus 10 and Motorola devices

But not yet available for the Nexus 4 or 3G/LTE Nexus 7 models

Thu Nov 13 2014, 10:56

Google delays Android 5.0 rollout due to battery drain problem

Now tipped to arrive on 12 November

Thu Nov 06 2014, 14:07

Android hits 83.6 percent marketshare while iOS, Windows and BlackBerry slide

Thanks to low-cost smartphones and 'ease of use'

Mon Nov 03 2014, 12:25

iOS 8.1 review

Apple might be playing catch-up, but iOS 8 is worth the wait

Mon Oct 27 2014, 11:02

Sony: Android 5.0 Lollipop coming to entire Xperia Z lineup next year

Xperia Z2 and Xperia Z3 will be first to get it 'early next year'

Fri Oct 17 2014, 11:26

iOS 8 adoption climbs just one percent in two weeks

Likely due to issues plaguing Apple operating system

Tue Oct 07 2014, 11:43

Apple releases iOS 8.0.2 to fix botched iPhone 6 handsets

Doesn't include a patch for bent iPhones

Fri Sep 26 2014, 09:54

Galaxy Note 4 and Galaxy S5 to get Android L in 'late November'

Followed by software's debut on the Nexus 9 tablet

Fri Sep 19 2014, 12:42

Latest iPhone 6 leak reveals Apple's Passbook mobile payments service

A day ahead of the handset's launch

Mon Sep 08 2014, 13:08

Opera Mini will be the default web browser on Microsoft's non-Windows Phones

Will be pre-installed on Nokia's Series 30+, Series 40 and Asha handsets

Thu Aug 21 2014, 11:22
Page 1 of 13
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Existing User
Please fill in the field below to receive your profile link.
Sign-up for the INQBot weekly newsletter
Click here
INQ Poll

Microsoft Windows 10 poll

Which feature of Windows 10 are you most excited about?