The Inquirer-Home

Phone

S5 vs Nexus 5: Touchwiz vs vanilla Android 4.4 Kitkat

We pit Samsung's latest custom skin against Google's untouched alternative

Thu Apr 17 2014, 12:47

Apple's iOS 7.1 update reportedly is draining iPhone batteries

iPhone 4S users report have WiFi connectivity issues

Mon Mar 17 2014, 11:08

iOS 7.1 arrives on iPhones and iPads with Carplay, Touch ID improvements

But you'll need 2GB of free space

Mon Mar 10 2014, 18:53

Android 4.4 Kitkat hits 2.5 percent adoption but Jelly Bean continues to dominate

Latest version sees 0.7 growth but ageing release sees adoption rise 1.3 percent

Wed Mar 05 2014, 10:38

Ubuntu Mobile hands-on review

We look at how Canonical’s open source Linux OS performs on a smartphone

Mon Mar 03 2014, 13:37

MWC: Elop says Windows Phone remains Nokia's 'primary' strategy despite Android launch

Claims Android adoption will help it to boost app ecosystem, but it remains committed to Android

Mon Feb 24 2014, 09:25

Canonical announces BQ and Meizu as first Ubuntu phone partners

Firm claims it will offer a 'credible' alternative to Android this year

Wed Feb 19 2014, 17:17

Windows Phone 8.1 includes Windows RT app compatibility, iCloud support

Developers cough that it will reach all Windows Phone 8 devices

Tue Feb 11 2014, 15:34

Steve Wozniak thinks Apple should make an Android smartphone

Apple co-founder offers his firm some advice

Fri Feb 07 2014, 12:05

Apple will fix iOS 7 random reboot issue with a software update

Firm finally acknowledges the issue

Thu Jan 23 2014, 10:23

Canonical admits first Ubuntu Touch phones won't arrive until 2015

No Ubuntu Edge coming, either

Wed Jan 15 2014, 12:37

Windows Phone 8.1 to arrive in April with Siri-like assistant

Notification center and on-screen controls are also tipped

Tue Dec 17 2013, 10:32

Android 4.4.2 Kitkat arrives on Google Nexus devices

Rolling out to the Nexus 4, Nexus 5, Nexus 7 and Nexus 10

Tue Dec 10 2013, 10:22

iOS 7 is on almost 75 percent of iPhones, 65 percent of iPads

Outpaces iOS 6 adoption rates

Wed Dec 04 2013, 11:23

Apple pushes iOS 7.0.4 to iPhones and iPads to fix Facetime bug

Other improvements and fixes included

Fri Nov 15 2013, 12:50

Samsung admits that its Touchwiz Android skin isn't very good

Will invest more cash on making it better

Wed Nov 06 2013, 12:23

iPhone's UK market share climbs while Android and Samsung see rare slump

Sony and Motorola take advantage

Mon Mar 31 2014, 11:15

iOS 8 to feature 'overhauled' Apple Maps with public transport data

Apple to get serious about maps

Tue Mar 11 2014, 15:26

Ballmer admits Microsoft failed to crack the mobile market

Ex-CEO calls firm a 'two trick pony'

Wed Mar 05 2014, 11:56

HTC One Android 4.4.2 Kitkat update suspended due to 'difficulties'

Firm promises to 'resolve issue quickly'

Tue Mar 04 2014, 11:16

Acer: We can't take a risk on Windows Phone until app selection improves

Lacking consumer demand also a big deal

Fri Feb 28 2014, 12:16

MWC: Firefox OS expands to 'high-end' LTE devices to rival Android

Debuts devices from ZTE, Alcatel and Huawei

Mon Feb 24 2014, 08:15

Samsung kicks off its Android 4.4 Kitkat update rollout

In the US, at least

Wed Feb 19 2014, 10:06

Google reportedly will force OEMs to use the latest version of Android

In order to have access to Google Play and Google services

Tue Feb 11 2014, 13:55

Apple will release iOS 7.1 to iPhones and iPads in 'early March'

Update is set to deliver Car Display, Calendar View and design tweaks

Wed Feb 05 2014, 11:43

iOS 7 shames Android 4.4 Kitkat with 80 percent adoption rate

Apple boasts that four-fifths of iPhones and iPads are running latest release

Tue Jan 28 2014, 10:57

Samsung Galaxy S5 UI leaks as a tarted-up copy of Google Now

Touchwiz is finally getting a makeover

Mon Jan 20 2014, 12:30

Android 4.4 Kitkat is a slow mover with just 1.4 percent of devices claimed

Android 4.x Jelly Bean dominates with almost 60 percent of the market

Mon Jan 13 2014, 10:42

Apple releases iOS 7.1 beta 2 to developers

Adds car display toggle, improved Touch ID settings and bug fixes

Mon Dec 16 2013, 15:22

Apple reveals that iOS 7 is on 74 percent of iPhones and iPads

Despite gaining widespread criticism

Fri Dec 06 2013, 11:19

HTC One handsets to get Android 4.4 Kitkat update in January

No word on the HTC One Max and One Mini

Wed Nov 20 2013, 12:26

Android 4.4 Kitkat arrives on the Nexus 7 and Nexus 10 tablets

But just WiFi-only models

Wed Nov 13 2013, 10:28

Windows Phone was the only mobile operating system to see third quarter growth in the UK

Android and iOS market shares slip

Mon Nov 04 2013, 14:51

Sony kicks off Android 4.4 Kitkat rollout for the Xperia Z1, Z1 Compact

Update brings PS4-like interface, Xperia Themes

Wed Mar 19 2014, 12:24

Samsung Galaxy S4 and Galaxy Note 3 get Android 4.4.2 Kitkat in the UK

Available to download on unlocked handsets now

Tue Mar 11 2014, 11:37

Apple will likely release iOS 7.1 to iPhones and iPads 'any day now'

Apple's iTunes Festival app will require software bump

Wed Mar 05 2014, 10:48

First dual-OS Android and Windows Phone smartphone will arrive in June

Karbonn Mobiles gets thumbs up from Microsoft to release dual-booting handset

Mon Mar 03 2014, 15:12

MWC: Nokia's Android shift could be its smartest move yet

Column It might be just crazy enough to work

Mon Feb 24 2014, 14:30

MWC: Nokia announces BBM is coming to Windows Phone

Adobe Photoshop also coming, alongside Nokia Imaging SDK

Mon Feb 24 2014, 07:44

Samsung's Context service will collect user data to share with developers

Korean firm apparently hasn't heard of PRISM

Wed Feb 12 2014, 10:26

Samsung likely will tone down Android skin following Google pressure

Reportedly will promote Google services on future devices

Thu Jan 30 2014, 11:21

Kantar says Samsung is 'under real pressure' despite Android's continued dominance

Android grabs 70 percent of the market

Mon Jan 27 2014, 11:09

Nintendo is eyeing smartphones and tablets to save company's future

Mario Kart could be coming to the iPad

Mon Jan 20 2014, 10:43

Nokia Black rollout brings folders to Lumia Windows Phone devices

Arrives on the Lumia 1020 and Lumia 925

Fri Jan 10 2014, 15:04

Ubuntu Touch phones to ship next year as Canonical bags first OEM

Shuttleworth reveals firm is in talks with four other household names

Wed Dec 11 2013, 12:43

Android 4.4.1 Kitkat arrives to fix Nexus 5 camera woes

Promises improved shutter speed and faster focusing

Fri Dec 06 2013, 11:03

Apple releases iOS 7.1 to developers

Likely to arrive on iPhones and iPads in time for Christmas

Tue Nov 19 2013, 10:41

Samsung and Intel reveal 36 partners for the open source Tizen OS

eBay, McAfee and Sharp are onboard with the Android challenger

Tue Nov 12 2013, 12:41
Page 1 of 11
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Heartbleed bug discovered in OpenSSL

Have you reacted to Heartbleed?