The Inquirer-Home

Developer

Google's latest update builds Chrome OS straight into Windows 8

Latest update also brings some tab locating features

Wed Jan 15 2014, 10:52

Over 99 percent of apps will not make any money

Less than one percent will be considered a financial success

Tue Jan 14 2014, 14:24

BBC joins the Smart TV army, launches Connected Red Button service on Sony and Samsung sets

Will hit LG Smart TVs in 'early 2014'

Mon Jan 13 2014, 09:41

Roku integrates its streaming service into tellies with Roku TV

Access channels directly from the TV without the need for a separate box

Mon Jan 06 2014, 13:00

Nvidia launches Grid virtual GPU with Citrix for graphics-intensive remote working

Allows designers and software engineers to work from anywhere on portable devices

Thu Dec 19 2013, 14:42

Microsoft might make Windows Phone and Windows RT free

In a bid to challenge Google's Android operating system

Wed Dec 11 2013, 17:26

Microsoft admits it has 'too many operating systems'

Likely will merge Windows RT and Windows Phone

Tue Nov 26 2013, 12:56

Google outbid Facebook for Snapchat with $4bn offer

But the Snapchat CEO thinks it's worth more

Fri Nov 15 2013, 13:40

Microsoft might sell Xbox and drop Bing if Elop gets CEO job

Sources have said

Fri Nov 08 2013, 16:18

Instagram users vexed by the first sponsored post

Don't want to see it

Mon Nov 04 2013, 10:41

We will find proof of aliens, says Canonical founder Mark Shuttleworth

Interview But for now he's looking for life on Príncipe rather than Mars

Mon Oct 28 2013, 12:39

Elon Musk wants to make James Bond’s submersible Lotus a reality

That’s the Espirit

Mon Oct 21 2013, 10:33

Elon Musk’s Grasshopper rocket makes its highest jump

744 metres altitude

Mon Oct 14 2013, 12:26

Elon Musk sends Spacex Falcon 9 rocket into space from California

Shipping satellites

Mon Sep 30 2013, 14:46

Sony Xperia Z1 camera features review

We take a tour of the camera features found on Sony's flagship Xperia Z1 smartphone

Thu Sep 26 2013, 08:00

Map of Great Britain made in Minecraft

Blockbuster

Tue Sep 24 2013, 15:24

IBM holds the most patents in the US

Microsoft, Google and Apple crowding for room

Tue Jan 14 2014, 16:43

UK Ministry of Defence wasted millions on a failing computer system

Delays are costing £1m a month

Tue Jan 14 2014, 13:56

Kickstarter kicked £300m into crowdfunded projects in 2013

Has raised almost $1bn since 2009

Thu Jan 09 2014, 12:22

Google drives Android to cars with help from Audi, Honda and GM

Will bring Android apps and music to the car's dashboard without causing a crash

Mon Jan 06 2014, 11:28

Twitter's Vine to offer users vanity URLs on 20 December

The video app is also now available for Android 2.3 Gingerbread users to download

Thu Dec 19 2013, 12:07

Microsoft might bring back the Start Menu in Windows 8.2

Codenamed 'Threshold', the update could also bring a merge of operating systems

Tue Dec 10 2013, 17:13

Google Street View makes travel easier by mapping airports and train stations

Let's you roam around 16 international airports and over 50 train stations

Tue Nov 26 2013, 10:56

Red Hat announces it has cooked up Fedora 20 'Heisenbug' Beta

No Breaking Bad puns, we're Linux

Thu Nov 14 2013, 14:17

Intel is in the Kno

Chipmaker adds to its education portfolio

Mon Nov 11 2013, 15:59

Facebook gives a thumbs down to the thumbs up

Sharing redesign dismisses familiar icon

Thu Nov 07 2013, 12:29

Microsoft almost doubles marketing budget to flog Windows 8.1 and Surface tablets

But will more advertising be enough to persuade people to buy, buy, buy?

Fri Nov 01 2013, 14:02

PHP.net hacked and malware injected

Visitors are in a compromised position

Fri Oct 25 2013, 12:16

Google shares smash $1,000 barrier for the first time

It's feeling lucky

Fri Oct 18 2013, 17:15

Google is bringing its Chrome OS interface to Windows 8

Browser will work in Windows the same way it does in Google's desktop software

Mon Oct 07 2013, 11:08

Google turns 15 and updates its search algorithm with Hummingbird

Expands search engine's use of its Knowledge Graph

Fri Sep 27 2013, 17:06

Google will drive Youtube comments with Google+

To banish anonymous comments and fight spam

Wed Sep 25 2013, 12:43

Adobe launches Photoshop Elements and Premiere Elements version 12

Available with added tools and features

Tue Sep 24 2013, 14:04

Android apps are quicker to write than iOS and Windows Phone apps

The battle over fragmentation has been won

Tue Jan 14 2014, 14:52

Twitter founder launches question-answering social search Jelly app

Quivers its way onto iOS and Android

Wed Jan 08 2014, 14:25

Shazam iPhone app updated, listens for songs and shows automatically

Auto Shazam works in the background, even when the screen is locked

Mon Dec 23 2013, 14:54

Microsoft tries to poach Gmail users with Outlook import tool

Offers a one-way trip

Thu Dec 12 2013, 09:47

Sky+ iOS and Android app update lets users download On Demand shows on the go

Download to your Sky+ box from anywhere

Tue Dec 03 2013, 12:35

Sky adds 14 entertainment channels to Sky Go

Including Comedy Central, MTV, Dave, Watch and Gold at no extra cost

Tue Nov 19 2013, 12:36

Google tweaks Gmail and Chrome with nifty features for easier use

Adds quick action buttons in Gmail and noisy tab notifications to Chrome

Tue Nov 12 2013, 14:44

Mark Shuttleworth apologises for Ubuntu trademark notice

Canonical founder also retracts comments made in relation to critics of the Mir display

Mon Nov 11 2013, 14:36

Google Street View goes naval and maps a submarine

Get a look around the HMS Ocelot

Tue Nov 05 2013, 12:14

Adobe admits 38 million users were hacked

Updated Not three million as initially thought

Wed Oct 30 2013, 10:16

Google talks up balloon Project Loon antenna technology

Basic setup will become more complex in time for better connectivity

Mon Oct 21 2013, 12:29

Google swallows gesture recognition firm Flutter to rival Microsoft Kinect

Startup lets users control Spotify, Netflix and iTunes by flailing their arms

Thu Oct 03 2013, 11:56

Netflix and Lovefilm rival Wuaki.tv launches in the UK

Priced at £4.99 per month for unlimited access

Thu Sep 26 2013, 12:11

Java will get a GPU boost, says IBM

Nvidia thinks this will pave the way for a new generation of enterprise apps

Tue Sep 24 2013, 16:25
Page 4 of 26
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Microsoft's Windows 10 Preview has permission to watch your every move

Does Microsoft have the right to keylog users of its Windows 10 Technical Preview?