The Inquirer-Home

Cloud

Oracle releases Solaris 11 for Sparc and x86 servers

Pitches at the cloud

Wed Nov 09 2011, 15:00

Oracle closes conference doors to Salesforce cloud talk

Hey you, get off of my cloud

Wed Oct 05 2011, 16:27

Microsoft’s Ballmer touts connected devices and the cloud

But Windows still a key part of its vision

Thu Sep 15 2011, 13:35

The cloud is not smart enough to be reliable, says uptime specialist

Engineering, not marketing hype is required

Thu Aug 18 2011, 18:10

RIM has a big launch, its first for a year

Two Bolds and three Torches

Wed Aug 03 2011, 13:09

Firms still lack faith in cloud security for their data

Breaches increase security awareness

Tue Jul 19 2011, 17:44

Spotify launches service in the US

Free or paid for, you decide

Thu Jul 14 2011, 13:40

Case Study: Isle of Man Government

The Isle of Man government cuts operating costs by 15 per cent with Hyper-V virtualisation technology [Content by Microsoft]

Tue Jun 28 2011, 18:05

HP finds cloud security practices lacking

Updated Survey turns up some worrying results for private data

Tue Jun 14 2011, 16:16

Case Study: PKF UK LLP

Accountancy firm reduces server estate by 87 per cent with virtualisation software [Content by Microsoft]

Fri Jun 03 2011, 12:46

Case Study: KCOM Group

Communications firm transforms business culture with collaboration framework [Content by Microsoft]

Wed Jun 01 2011, 12:43

Apple is making deals with record labels on a cloud music service

Makes agreements that Google and Amazon could not

Mon May 23 2011, 11:54

Red Hat launches Openshift 'platform as a service'

Broad selections of languages, frameworks and cloud providers are available

Thu May 05 2011, 13:03

Microsoft slams Google’s claims about government applications

Government certification called into question

Tue Apr 12 2011, 13:31

Google wipes out Gmail settings and messages

Engineers are still working on it

Mon Feb 28 2011, 10:21

Canonical joins the Openstack community

Bexar cloud stack included in Ubuntu

Fri Feb 04 2011, 11:23

Google expands Docs to include Microsoft Office

It's called Cloud Connect for Microsoft

Tue Nov 23 2010, 09:52

Yahoo co-founder is trying to buy back the firm

With help from a few friends

Mon Oct 10 2011, 11:07

Windows 8 offers Live ID user logins

Easier access to Microsoft’s OS and apps

Tue Sep 27 2011, 10:29

Microsoft’s Hotmail and Windows Live knocked offline

Services downed for hours

Fri Sep 09 2011, 11:10

Amazon launches a cloud service for the US government

What could possibly go wrong?

Wed Aug 17 2011, 14:58

Canonical offers Ubuntu cloud support licences

Highlights the competitive advantage of Free Software

Fri Jul 29 2011, 09:48

Baidu will ignite a web browser war in China

Home-grown browser beta reaches 1.2

Mon Jul 18 2011, 17:29

Canonical releases Ubuntu One for Android devices

Claims that it doesn't look at users' files

Thu Jun 30 2011, 18:11

Red Hat posts bumper financial figures, touts Linux popularity

Every cloud has a Linux lining

Thu Jun 23 2011, 12:00

Steve Jobs takes to Icloud in the post-PC era at WWDC

Mac OS X Lion roars and IOS cuts the cord

Mon Jun 06 2011, 23:53

HP promotes virus scanning for cloud security

Virtual machines' memory access is not so isolated after all

Thu Jun 02 2011, 13:48

Case Study: Royal Mail Group

Royal Mail virtualises server farm to save £1.8m in four years [Content by Microsoft]

Wed Jun 01 2011, 12:40

Napster launches a mobile application for Android and Iphone

Also launches new, more expensive pricing

Thu May 19 2011, 12:28

Amazon says sorry for cloud datacentres outage

Eventually

Tue May 03 2011, 14:34

Microsoft claimed it didn't turn off HTTPS in Hotmail

Dozens of countries denied Windows Live ID over the weekend

Mon Mar 28 2011, 13:54

MWC: Mobile is Twitter's future says CEO Dick Costolo

4,000 tweets per second can't be wrong

Tue Feb 15 2011, 12:50

Nvidia launches a 3D images and video website

Boggled eyes community

Tue Jan 04 2011, 18:42

Amazon's Cluster GPU Instances is now on offer

It's the elastic compute cloud

Tue Nov 16 2010, 17:27

Oracle launches a public cloud

Including an Oracle social network

Fri Oct 07 2011, 13:12

Microsoft Live outage was down to a DNS issue

Firm confesses to a feckless fumble

Wed Sep 21 2011, 15:55

Pogoplug mobile device creates home cloud storage

No storage limits

Fri Sep 02 2011, 15:06

Lightning did not cause Amazon datacentre outage

Firm backtracks on act of nature

Tue Aug 16 2011, 16:35

Linux based Openstack will challenge VMware

Proprietary virtual machine system gets competition

Mon Jul 25 2011, 11:05

Last.fm database server goes gaga

The day the music died

Mon Jul 18 2011, 13:40

HP claims cloud datacentres are a 'bulls eye' for hackers

X marks the spot for data leaks

Wed Jun 29 2011, 17:52

Huawei urges governments to put more effort into cloud data security

Cloud needs help from the top to succeed

Thu Jun 23 2011, 08:47

Whitepaper: Comparing Microsoft and VMware private cloud solutions

A look at how Microsoft and VMware private cloud solutions compare on functionality, benefits and economics [Content by Microsoft]

Fri Jun 03 2011, 18:04

Case Study: Gazprom Marketing and Trading

Energy trader boosts virtualisation density by 50 per cent with software upgrade [Content by Microsoft]

Wed Jun 01 2011, 12:46

Microsoft Private Cloud

Sponsored content

Fri May 27 2011, 15:52

Google will announce a cloud music service today

No record label support, but launching anyway

Tue May 10 2011, 12:39

Spotify places a 10 hour per month limit on music streaming

Shuns advertisers for subscribers

Thu Apr 14 2011, 13:42

HP's Apotheker outlines its strategy

Focusing on cloud, connectivity and software

Tue Mar 15 2011, 10:40

Yahoo's Boss version two will offer cloud searching

But its arrival is up in the air

Wed Feb 09 2011, 10:30

Stallman blasts Google's Chrome OS

Careless computing

Wed Dec 15 2010, 11:12
Page 3 of 5
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Dead electronic devices to be banned on US-bound flights

Will the new rules banning uncharged devices be effective?