The Inquirer-Home

Cloud

Xbox needs to be top of the agenda for new Microsoft CEO

Column Nadella needs to work on growth in mobile and gaming hardware

Thu Feb 06 2014, 16:41

Sugarsync ditches its free customers

They sync it's all over

Wed Dec 11 2013, 14:07

Google bolsters cloud security with automatic encryption rollout

Hopes server side encryption applied to all cloud data will ease privacy concerns

Mon Aug 19 2013, 14:40

Microsoft partners with Oracle to bring Oracle DB and Linux support to Azure

Ellison cedes cloud ambitions to Microsoft

Tue Jun 25 2013, 14:30

Cortado launches Thinprint to turn any printer into a cloud printer

A virtual instance mimics drivers so a printer can be installed on any device

Wed May 22 2013, 17:39

Microsoft overhauls Windows Azure in a bid to challenge Amazon

Said it will match Amazon's prices

Tue Apr 16 2013, 14:00

Apple beefs up its iCloud security

Introduces two-factor authentication

Fri Mar 22 2013, 12:29

Microsoft buys cloud monitoring outfit Metricshub

Startup is brought into Microsoft's fold

Tue Mar 05 2013, 13:15

CES: Cisco announces its Videoscape Unity streaming platform

System aims to revolutionise television services

Tue Jan 08 2013, 04:30

NASA JPL bets big on cloud computing

Agency talks up plans for the cloud

Thu Nov 29 2012, 02:03

Amazon launches Cloud Drive Photos app for Android

Offers a place to store 5GB of photos

Fri Nov 02 2012, 12:24

Apple and Oracle need to stop milking Iphone and software licensing cash cows

A year on from Steve Jobs’ death, firms face similar challenges

Fri Oct 05 2012, 15:34

Dropbox makes a post-hacking security fix

Introduces two factor user authentication

Tue Aug 28 2012, 10:29

Rackspace unleashes its Openstack cloud to the public

Amazon watches quietly

Wed Aug 01 2012, 14:26

Apple brings Itunes movies in the cloud to the UK

Frees up valuable space on your Macbook

Fri Jul 20 2012, 12:29

Google announces a cloud based Computation Engine service

Goes after Amazon EC2

Fri Jun 29 2012, 13:36

Collaboration technologies ensure LOCOG doesn’t drop the baton organising the Olympics

Cisco Webex and Show and Share excel for Olympic team’s 6,000-plus staff

Wed Jun 06 2012, 09:00

Satya Nadella confirmed as Microsoft CEO

Will take over from Steve Ballmer immediately

Tue Feb 04 2014, 14:19

Suse adds Linux Enterprise Server to VMware’s hybrid cloud

No release date yet for vCloud Hybrid Service outside of US

Thu Aug 29 2013, 17:00

G Cluster signs with EA to cloud render games

Big name titles are expected

Fri Aug 02 2013, 13:12

Remote working will lead to offshoring of IT jobs

But could solve the housing crisis, say INQUIRER debaters

Wed Jun 19 2013, 12:42

Dell dumps Openstack based cloud service to become a Joyant reseller

Gives up trying to compete with Amazon

Tue May 21 2013, 12:56

Google cuts price of Compute Engine and introduces new features

Persistant disks and European datacentres come online

Fri Apr 05 2013, 13:34

Dropbox hints at email service with Mailbox buy

Coughed up $100m for iOS startup

Mon Mar 18 2013, 09:48

Logmein launches its Cubby cloud storage service

Touts file sharing and security

Thu Feb 07 2013, 15:33

Google rules out developing apps for Windows 8

Thanks, but no thanks

Wed Dec 12 2012, 17:26

Cisco spends $1.2bn for cloud computing outfit Meraki

Buys mid-market player to boost profile

Mon Nov 19 2012, 11:07

Google services downed for about six minutes

Shotguns shined, tinned foods stockpiled

Thu Nov 01 2012, 09:35

Google updates Drive for Android and IOS

Apps get new features

Tue Sep 11 2012, 10:30

Netflix claims one million UK users as it takes aim at Sky

Impressive figures despite small library

Mon Aug 20 2012, 14:00

Cloud failures highlight the need for open standards and better planning

Analysis Fashion must take a back seat to planning

Fri Jul 27 2012, 17:20

Microsoft details Windows Server 2012 pricing

Provides a great advertisement for Linux

Fri Jul 06 2012, 13:28

Red Hat signs with Symantec for cloud disaster recovery services

For those thunder clouds on rainy days

Thu Jun 28 2012, 17:14

Oracle's Larry Ellison rants about HP and Salesforce

And wants to take the Iphone model to the enterprise

Thu May 31 2012, 11:46

Microsoft renames Skydrive as Onedrive following Bskyb spat

Renamed cloud storage service will arrive soon

Mon Jan 27 2014, 14:22

Amazon briefly falls off the internet

Shoppers lost in the wild

Tue Aug 20 2013, 09:40

Microsoft loses Skydrive trademark case to BSkyB

Could lead to renaming

Mon Jul 01 2013, 11:50

Netflix confirms watchlist and Profiles for UK this year

Would also be up for more Arrested Development

Fri Jun 14 2013, 14:03

Virgin Media expands Anywhere TV with 21 more channels

Bringing the total number of channels on offer to 66, 17 more than Sky Go

Mon Apr 22 2013, 17:19

AMD announces Radeon Sky cloud rendering cards

To power pixel generation

Wed Mar 27 2013, 10:30

Netflix will reward cloud computing whizkids with $100,000 in prizes

$10,000 each for ten ideas that improve cloud computing for everyone

Fri Mar 15 2013, 10:39

Barclays cuts software spending by 90 percent with Linux

Internal cloud helps shorten deployment times

Tue Jan 08 2013, 12:54

Google starts charging for Google Apps

A warning for those who rely on cloud providers

Fri Dec 07 2012, 12:06

Microsoft Skydrive usage has doubled in the past six months

Cloud storage service will also add features

Fri Nov 16 2012, 09:44

Microsoft updates Office Web Apps on Skydrive

Claims improved functionality and collaboration tools

Tue Oct 23 2012, 15:10

Samsung Galaxy Note 2 will come with 50GB free Dropbox storage

Samsung Galaxy Camera onboard too

Mon Sep 03 2012, 15:01

Microsoft redesigns Skydrive and announces an Android app

Needs Android users

Wed Aug 15 2012, 13:40

video icon London Olympics 2012: A tour round Cisco House

The INQUIRER visits Cisco House at Westfield Stratford to see some of the technology on display

Wed Jul 25 2012, 13:52

Sony buys cloud gaming outfit Gaikai for $380m

Suggests Playstation 4 will be disc-less

Mon Jul 02 2012, 10:27

Microsoft to offer Ubuntu 12.04 on Windows Azure

Giving punters what they really want

Thu Jun 07 2012, 17:00
Page 2 of 5
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Apple announces the iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus and Apple Watch

Which of Apple's new products will you be buying?