The Inquirer-Home

Applications

Apple reportedly will bake Shazam into iOS 8

Looks to bolster music smarts as iTunes download sales slip

Thu Apr 17 2014, 16:16

Microsoft Office for iPad sees 12 million downloads in a week

But subscription numbers remain a mystery

Fri Apr 04 2014, 10:28

Microsoft gives away ancient DOS and Word source code

Teams with Computer History Museum

Wed Mar 26 2014, 09:53

Mozilla releases Firefox 29 beta for Mac, Windows, Linux and Android

Tweaked user interface and improved syncing

Fri Mar 21 2014, 14:28

Toyota will use Apple Carplay at some future date

Might be 2015, but do not bet on it

Thu Mar 13 2014, 15:03

Whatsapp for Android gets a privacy update after Facebook buyout

Also allows users to pay for a friend's subscription

Tue Mar 11 2014, 10:46

SMS question and answer app fined £70,000 over blurry charges

It's all in the small print

Thu Mar 06 2014, 11:17

Flipboard acquires rival app Zite to challenge Facebook Paper

Buys app from CNN for an undisclosed sum

Wed Mar 05 2014, 17:03

App leads cyclist onto the M25 motorway

But the cyclist did the pedalling

Tue Feb 25 2014, 15:30

Microsoft renames online Office suite as Office Online

It's dead clever 'cause the name tells you what it is

Thu Feb 20 2014, 11:34

Google Admin app arrives on the iPhone and iPad

Follows release of Android version last year

Tue Feb 11 2014, 11:54

Swiftkey arrives on the iPhone and iPad as a note-taking app

Three years after Android debut

Thu Jan 30 2014, 14:54

UK government looks to open source to cut costs

No more Microsoft in the hallowed halls of Westminster

Wed Jan 29 2014, 17:21

Apple will cough up $32.5m to settle FTC in-app payments case

Parents lost money their children spent

Thu Jan 16 2014, 10:51

Android will shift more than one billion devices in 2014

Sales of PCs and high-end smartphones will tail off

Tue Jan 07 2014, 15:38

Apple snaps up Snappylabs to get Snappycam

Bursting with burst mode photo capture

Mon Jan 06 2014, 11:14

Twitter's Vine to offer users vanity URLs on 20 December

The video app is also now available for Android 2.3 Gingerbread users to download

Thu Dec 19 2013, 12:07

BBC iPlayer downloads arrive on Android smartphones and tablets

Available to all running Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich and above

Wed Apr 16 2014, 12:44

Oracle launches NoSQL 3.0 with emphasis on security and safety

Allows distribution to secondary servers when it's all getting too much

Thu Apr 03 2014, 10:14

Four plead guilty to selling $700,000 of counterfeit Android apps

Appbucket crew takes a fall

Tue Mar 25 2014, 14:58

Antisocial Cloak app will save you from people you don't like

Get all Harry Potter on those who shall not be named

Fri Mar 21 2014, 09:17

Flappy Bird might return to iOS and Android

This time with a health warning

Wed Mar 12 2014, 14:57

Samsung Galaxy S5 will ship with free Android app bundle worth $500

In the US, at least

Mon Mar 10 2014, 10:47

Gmail for iOS gets a major update but users are not happy

Users bemoan performance and battery drain issues

Thu Mar 06 2014, 09:49

Facebook Messenger lands on Windows Phone to challenge BBM

Microsoft continues to boost lackluster app selection

Wed Mar 05 2014, 12:37

Opera announces Max Android app to squeeze more data from mobile plans

Claims 50 percent more bang for your buck

Mon Feb 24 2014, 13:46

BBM 2.0 brings Voice and Channels to iOS and Android today

Also delivers location sharing, Dropbox support and new emoticons

Thu Feb 13 2014, 16:06

Developers have two months to sort out in-app purchase practices

OFT offers to off offenders

Thu Jan 30 2014, 13:13

Google Now arrives on desktop computers

But only for brave beta testers

Thu Jan 16 2014, 17:03

Digital wallet? There's a Zapp for that

Five UK banks sign up to a common standard for digital transactions

Wed Jan 15 2014, 14:53

Twitter troll suspects plead guilty

Updated Will be sentenced later

Tue Jan 07 2014, 15:30

Snapchat snaps at hacking attack chat

Will update its app

Fri Jan 03 2014, 09:39

Instagram Direct messaging arrives to challenge Snapchat and Whatsapp

Available now on iOS and Android

Fri Dec 13 2013, 10:32

Microsoft Office Online comes to Google's Chrome web browser

Has the world gone topsy turvy?

Tue Apr 15 2014, 16:13

Firefox surrenders second place browser position to Google Chrome

More users are outed as chromesexual

Wed Apr 02 2014, 13:52

Apple rumoured to be readying Spotify rival

Reports of streaming plans surface as downloads dip

Mon Mar 24 2014, 15:17

Popcorn Time movie streamer pops back into life

The fan done menace

Tue Mar 18 2014, 11:06

Microsoft maps New York’s complainers

I’m moaning Herehere

Tue Mar 11 2014, 12:22

Samsung’s Milk music service takes on Apple's iRadio and Spotify in the US

Free with no ads, for a limited time

Mon Mar 10 2014, 09:47

Yahoo picks up micro video highlight reel outfit Vizify

Internet search and advertising firm keeps investing

Thu Mar 06 2014, 09:26

Blackberry reveals BBM for iOS and Android will get group photo messaging

Firm ups its game to rival iMessage and Whatsapp

Mon Mar 03 2014, 13:09

Google Currents is dead, long live Google Play Newsstand

Not so current now

Thu Feb 20 2014, 13:25

Rovio teases Angry Birds Stella, looks to cash in on Flappy Bird's demise

Finnish developer outs latest title in never-ending game franchise

Thu Feb 13 2014, 12:47

Apple pulls last remaining Bitcoin app from the App Store

Firm slammed as 'anti-competitive' and 'capricious'

Fri Feb 07 2014, 10:39

Facebook Paper for iOS will arrive on 3 February to challenge Flipboard

No word on a UK launch, though

Thu Jan 30 2014, 12:52

iPhone and iPad users get a Google Play Movies & TV app

But it will only work over WiFi

Thu Jan 16 2014, 11:13

Facebook scoops up mobile app monitoring firm Little Eye

It spies with its little eye

Wed Jan 08 2014, 16:51

Apple punters spent $10bn in its App Store in 2013

A whopping billion in December

Tue Jan 07 2014, 14:35

Google brings radio without rules to UK users

Unlimited music for £10 a month

Thu Jan 02 2014, 12:24
Page 1 of 25
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Heartbleed bug discovered in OpenSSL

Have you reacted to Heartbleed?