The Inquirer-Home

Storage

Seagate releases HDD units for NAS boxes

No word on warranty

Tue Jun 11 2013, 16:15

Western Digital teams with Sandisk for hybrid Caviar hard drive

Follows Seagate's example

Fri May 10 2013, 14:16

IBM makes worlds smallest movie to show atom manipulation capabilities

A blockbuster for storage vendors

Wed May 01 2013, 13:07

Western Digital invests $51m in SSD vendor Skyera

Slowly diversifying from hard disk drives

Wed Mar 13 2013, 14:20

MWC: Samsung unveils Homesync media streaming hub for Galaxy users

Brings 1TB of storage to the home via Android

Mon Feb 25 2013, 15:21

Seagate and Western Digital hard drives outdone by SSDs

The sun is starting to set on hard drives

Tue Feb 05 2013, 14:14

CES: Seagate launches Wireless Plus and Central networked hard drives

One allows portable wireless streaming while the other brings NAS to the home

Mon Jan 07 2013, 15:49

Western Digital doubles profits to $519m

Shorter warranties pay off

Wed Oct 24 2012, 12:38

Western Digital announces ultra-slim hybrid hard drives

5mm drive set for use in ultrabooks

Tue Sep 11 2012, 10:41

Netapp offers 2TB flash cache on SANs after signing up Fusion IO

Cites impressive IOPS boost

Wed Aug 22 2012, 14:49

IBM buys flash storage vendor Texas Memory Systems

Hard drive inventor looks to flash

Thu Aug 16 2012, 14:53

Seagate settles terms for buyout of Lacie

Ups its offer to get agreement

Mon Aug 06 2012, 12:20

Intel announces 240GB 330 series SSD, cuts prices

Tries to compete with Micron and Samsung

Tue Jul 17 2012, 12:52

Western Digital outs Red branded hard drives for NAS boxes

One way of getting a three year warranty

Tue Jul 10 2012, 16:38

Seagate and Western Digital wait for the click of death

Column Lack of competition helps SSD market thrive

Fri Jun 15 2012, 13:25

Hitachi shows off 12Gbit/s SAS SSD drive

When 6Gbit/s is not enough

Wed May 02 2012, 15:04

Western Digital releases 1TB Velociraptor hard drive

Spins 1TB faster than ever

Mon Apr 16 2012, 14:40

Megaupload’s Kim Dotcom wins access to evidence

Gets his mitts on all evidence against file storage firm

Fri May 31 2013, 13:23

Fusion IO loses CEO and co-founder in one day

Stock price plunges

Thu May 09 2013, 11:52

Fusion IO reports $20m loss and buys Nexgen

Reveals falling sales and widening losses

Thu Apr 25 2013, 12:05

Seagate launches 1TB per platter 3.5in 4TB hard drive

Slaps on a one year warranty

Tue Mar 12 2013, 16:55

Kim Dotcom’s Mega has three million users

Builds up a digital locker of 125 million files in a month

Thu Feb 21 2013, 11:28

Hitachi releases a 1.2TB 10,000 RPM SAS drive

Keeps hard drives competitive against SSDs

Tue Jan 29 2013, 12:30

Toshiba launches 4TB SATA and SAS hard drives

Offers five year warranties on its MG series

Thu Nov 29 2012, 16:43

Samsung announces high performance SSDs

840 Series is a notebook ready 6Gbit/s SATA drive

Mon Sep 24 2012, 15:59

Western Digital slaps two Velociraptor drives into a Thunderbolt case

Cuts the warranty by two years

Thu Aug 30 2012, 16:56

Toshiba launches 1.6TB 2.5in SSD for servers

PCI-Express SSD vendors under attack

Tue Aug 21 2012, 12:44

Adata puts a puzzle on its portable hard drive

Piecing together some big bits

Wed Aug 15 2012, 16:09

Seagate profits rise 750 per cent thanks to high prices

Reaping the rewards of higher prices and shorter warranties

Tue Jul 31 2012, 16:11

Toshiba announces dual-stage heads for 900GB SAS drive

Impressive performance claims

Thu Jul 12 2012, 12:45

Seagate cuts revenue forecast despite record unit sales

SSDs come knocking

Fri Jul 06 2012, 15:20

Dell fills Equallogic blade servers full of hard drives

Extreme storage density

Tue Jun 12 2012, 15:04

Fusion IO offers developers direct access to NAND flash storage

When abstracted SSDs are just not fast enough

Wed Apr 18 2012, 23:30

Western Digital outs 7mm 2.5in hard drives for ultrabooks

Provides a non-SSD option for thin and light laptops

Thu Apr 12 2012, 17:05

Western Digital outs 4TB WD Se hard drive for analytical workloads

Touts Apache Hadoop performance

Wed May 29 2013, 16:54

Micron announces 1.4TB PCI-Express SSD for servers

Touts 2.5in size for hot swapping

Fri May 03 2013, 13:42

Fusion-IO acquires Linux storage firm ID7

Takes over the SCST storage subsystem

Wed Mar 20 2013, 12:05

HGST talks up 10nm self-assembling hard drive molecules

Claims density breakthrough

Mon Mar 04 2013, 14:14

Buffalo updates NAS systems with preloaded Trend Micro antivirus

Claims to be first of its kind to provide real time scanning

Wed Feb 13 2013, 16:49

Seagate sees profits fall as hard drive prices hit pre-flood levels

The days of profiteering are over

Tue Jan 29 2013, 11:47

Seagate sees 300 percent rise in profits thanks to Thai floods

The economics of profiteering

Thu Nov 01 2012, 13:29

Lexar announces 45MB/s microSD cards

More space for those that don't use Iphones

Tue Sep 18 2012, 16:53

Kingston launches enterprise SSDNow E100 drives

Claims 10 times the reliability of consumer drives

Tue Aug 28 2012, 14:55

Amazon introduces low cost Glacier storage

Archive, backup and restore at your leisure

Tue Aug 21 2012, 11:39

Toshiba uses Western Digital's plants to make 3TB hard drives

Comes with a two year warranty

Thu Aug 09 2012, 15:03

Western Digital posts three-fold increase in profits despite floods

Shorter warranties and higher prices pay off

Thu Jul 26 2012, 12:39

Western Digital integrates Dropbox into its smartphone app

Cloud and spindle meet in the middle

Wed Jul 11 2012, 15:57

Seagate signs a deal with Densbits, signaling entry into the consumer SSD market

Can't hang onto the spindle any longer

Tue Jun 26 2012, 11:29

Seagate will buy Lacie for $186m

The hard disk drive duopoly extends to portable units

Wed May 23 2012, 17:14

Intel updates mainstream 330 series SSD drives

Last in line

Tue Apr 17 2012, 15:23
Page 2 of 16
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Dead electronic devices to be banned on US-bound flights

Will the new rules banning uncharged devices be effective?