The Inquirer-Home

Storage

Facebook uses Blu-ray arrays for cold storage prototype

Sometimes to see the future, you have to look to the past

Thu Jan 30 2014, 10:32

Western Digital announces a hybrid upgrade drive

Squares up to the competition

Mon Nov 25 2013, 12:15

Sandisk is sampling I-NAND flash storage for Intel Bay Trail

For faster data syncing and app launching in Windows and Android tablets

Fri Sep 20 2013, 11:51

Kingston bigs up big data with enterprise SSD

Offers businesses a cheaper alternative to the firm’s higher performance drive

Wed Aug 28 2013, 10:48

Seagate unveils what it says is the world's fastest hard drive, the Enterprise Turbo SSHD

Combines capacity of a HDD with solid state flash for high speed performance

Tue Jul 23 2013, 14:00

Western Digital buys Velobit for its HGST division

Boosts enterprise SSD assets

Thu Jul 11 2013, 12:33

Toshiba announces 320GB and 500GB hybrid drives for laptops

A single platter backed by NAND flash

Fri Jun 21 2013, 17:10

Megaupload’s Kim Dotcom wins access to evidence

Gets his mitts on all evidence against file storage firm

Fri May 31 2013, 13:23

Fusion IO loses CEO and co-founder in one day

Stock price plunges

Thu May 09 2013, 11:52

Fusion IO reports $20m loss and buys Nexgen

Reveals falling sales and widening losses

Thu Apr 25 2013, 12:05

Seagate launches 1TB per platter 3.5in 4TB hard drive

Slaps on a one year warranty

Tue Mar 12 2013, 16:55

Kim Dotcom’s Mega has three million users

Builds up a digital locker of 125 million files in a month

Thu Feb 21 2013, 11:28

Hitachi releases a 1.2TB 10,000 RPM SAS drive

Keeps hard drives competitive against SSDs

Tue Jan 29 2013, 12:30

Toshiba launches 4TB SATA and SAS hard drives

Offers five year warranties on its MG series

Thu Nov 29 2012, 16:43

Samsung announces high performance SSDs

840 Series is a notebook ready 6Gbit/s SATA drive

Mon Sep 24 2012, 15:59

Western Digital slaps two Velociraptor drives into a Thunderbolt case

Cuts the warranty by two years

Thu Aug 30 2012, 16:56

Toshiba launches 1.6TB 2.5in SSD for servers

PCI-Express SSD vendors under attack

Tue Aug 21 2012, 12:44

Seagate updates Backup Plus Slim HDD with smartphone support

It's a portable HDD that is 12.1mm thick

Mon Jan 06 2014, 16:56

Western Digital launches My Cloud EX4 NAS for prosumer market

A little bit of self-sufficency

Wed Nov 13 2013, 15:08

Sandisk reveals 4K capable Compactflash cards

Offers 256GB capacity

Mon Sep 16 2013, 10:00

SSD drive shipments have tripled over the last year

Thanks to growing adoption in ultrabooks and tablets

Wed Aug 07 2013, 17:05

Sandisk unveils WiFi enabled portable flash drives

Can wirelessly store, share and stream content across mobile devices and PCs

Tue Jul 23 2013, 11:30

Sandisk announces 'world's fastest' SD cards for 4G smartphones and tablets

With 80MBps read and 50MBps write speeds

Tue Jul 09 2013, 14:39

Toshiba announces Q series SSDs for laptop upgrades

Only hard drive maker to take consumer SSDs seriously

Wed Jun 12 2013, 15:01

Western Digital outs 4TB WD Se hard drive for analytical workloads

Touts Apache Hadoop performance

Wed May 29 2013, 16:54

Micron announces 1.4TB PCI-Express SSD for servers

Touts 2.5in size for hot swapping

Fri May 03 2013, 13:42

Fusion-IO acquires Linux storage firm ID7

Takes over the SCST storage subsystem

Wed Mar 20 2013, 12:05

HGST talks up 10nm self-assembling hard drive molecules

Claims density breakthrough

Mon Mar 04 2013, 14:14

Buffalo updates NAS systems with preloaded Trend Micro antivirus

Claims to be first of its kind to provide real time scanning

Wed Feb 13 2013, 16:49

Seagate sees profits fall as hard drive prices hit pre-flood levels

The days of profiteering are over

Tue Jan 29 2013, 11:47

Seagate sees 300 percent rise in profits thanks to Thai floods

The economics of profiteering

Thu Nov 01 2012, 13:29

Lexar announces 45MB/s microSD cards

More space for those that don't use Iphones

Tue Sep 18 2012, 16:53

Kingston launches enterprise SSDNow E100 drives

Claims 10 times the reliability of consumer drives

Tue Aug 28 2012, 14:55

Amazon introduces low cost Glacier storage

Archive, backup and restore at your leisure

Tue Aug 21 2012, 11:39

WD My Cloud review

The NAS has evolved into something good, but slow connections are a drag

Wed Dec 18 2013, 15:25

HGST announces fastest slimline 1TB ultrabook drive

The fastest things come in small packages

Tue Oct 29 2013, 13:13

Samsung has begun bashing out DDR4 20nm memory modules

For use in enterprise servers

Fri Aug 30 2013, 14:45

Sony and Panasonic agree to work on 300GB optical discs

For data archival purposes

Tue Jul 30 2013, 12:19

Samsung announces a 1TB SSD for consumers

Price of flash storage continues to fall

Thu Jul 18 2013, 13:45

Western Digital buys enterprise SSD vendor Stec for $340m

Bolsters its SSD business

Tue Jun 25 2013, 11:33

Seagate releases HDD units for NAS boxes

No word on warranty

Tue Jun 11 2013, 16:15

Western Digital teams with Sandisk for hybrid Caviar hard drive

Follows Seagate's example

Fri May 10 2013, 14:16

IBM makes worlds smallest movie to show atom manipulation capabilities

A blockbuster for storage vendors

Wed May 01 2013, 13:07

Western Digital invests $51m in SSD vendor Skyera

Slowly diversifying from hard disk drives

Wed Mar 13 2013, 14:20

MWC: Samsung unveils Homesync media streaming hub for Galaxy users

Brings 1TB of storage to the home via Android

Mon Feb 25 2013, 15:21

Seagate and Western Digital hard drives outdone by SSDs

The sun is starting to set on hard drives

Tue Feb 05 2013, 14:14

CES: Seagate launches Wireless Plus and Central networked hard drives

One allows portable wireless streaming while the other brings NAS to the home

Mon Jan 07 2013, 15:49

Western Digital doubles profits to $519m

Shorter warranties pay off

Wed Oct 24 2012, 12:38

Western Digital announces ultra-slim hybrid hard drives

5mm drive set for use in ultrabooks

Tue Sep 11 2012, 10:41

Netapp offers 2TB flash cache on SANs after signing up Fusion IO

Cites impressive IOPS boost

Wed Aug 22 2012, 14:49
Page 2 of 16
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Apple announces the iPhone 6, iPhone 6 Plus and Apple Watch

Which of Apple's new products will you be buying?