The Inquirer-Home

Storage

Seagate is first past the post with an 8TB hard drive

Fewer drives means less maintenance

Tue Aug 26 2014, 15:50

Habits shift in NAS servers as personal storage use rises

Smaller boxes, higher capacities

Mon Aug 18 2014, 16:58

Samsung unveils 10nm class enterprise SAS SSD

30 percent more productive than its predecessor

Thu Aug 07 2014, 14:43

HGST announces Ultrastar SSD range for online gaming and server applications

SAS 12Gbps with up to 1.8TB capacity

Tue Jul 29 2014, 11:03

Samsung brings 3D V-NAND SSD to market

Samsung joins the prosumer SSD party

Wed Jul 02 2014, 11:16

Sosecure seeks funding for world's first smartphone controlled SSD

Remote wiping and pin protection built in

Wed Jun 11 2014, 16:14

Fusion IO launches Atomic range of flash storage products

Doubles its predecessor at over six terabytes

Thu Jun 05 2014, 16:41

Toshiba announces 5TB hard drive for cloud data centres

Big drive stores more data

Fri May 23 2014, 12:12

Sandisk announces X300s SSD for business laptops and desktops

The encryption doesn't slow it down

Tue May 13 2014, 13:00

Sony crams 148GB per square inch onto magnetic tape

Big Data sees companies turning to an old friend

Thu May 01 2014, 14:43

Toshiba announces 15nm NAND flash memory chips

You must employ zee little grey cells

Wed Apr 23 2014, 16:35

Sandisk releases four enterprise SATA SSDs

Designed with the cloud back end in mind

Tue Apr 01 2014, 11:06

Lacie announces 'world's fastest' portable external drive

Capable of 2,600MB/s under the right conditions

Tue Mar 11 2014, 17:16

Facebook uses Blu-ray arrays for cold storage prototype

Sometimes to see the future, you have to look to the past

Thu Jan 30 2014, 10:32

Western Digital announces a hybrid upgrade drive

Squares up to the competition

Mon Nov 25 2013, 12:15

Sandisk is sampling I-NAND flash storage for Intel Bay Trail

For faster data syncing and app launching in Windows and Android tablets

Fri Sep 20 2013, 11:51

Kingston bigs up big data with enterprise SSD

Offers businesses a cheaper alternative to the firm’s higher performance drive

Wed Aug 28 2013, 10:48

Sandisk announces Ultra II SSD for upgraders

Includes SSD Dashboard for cloning and upgrading

Wed Aug 20 2014, 13:51

Sandisk announces 'plug and stay' USB 3.0 Ultra Fit

Tiny but fast, like Speedy Gonzales

Tue Aug 12 2014, 13:47

Sandisk announces Ulltradimm DDR3 storage

Old form factor, new use

Wed Aug 06 2014, 15:35

Western Digital introduces 6TB WD Red drive and Pro range

Five platter NAS drive is a first at this capacity

Mon Jul 21 2014, 13:54

Western Digital targets prosumer backup market with My Book Duo

Twice the drives, twice the fun

Tue Jun 24 2014, 15:43

HP offers Storeserv 7450 all-flash array at same cost as spinning disks

Adds dedupe and six-nines uptime guarantee

Tue Jun 10 2014, 08:35

Micron unveils Crucial MX100 SSD with 16nm NAND

Claims it's 89 percent more efficient that a standard hard drive

Tue Jun 03 2014, 14:04

Micron's Crucial MX100 SSD gets detailed ahead of June launch

We take the moral high ground

Thu May 22 2014, 12:23

Seagate announces Samsung-branded wireless media drive

Designed with Samsung phones in mind

Mon May 12 2014, 16:15

Sandisk joins the 15nm storage chip club

Pipped to the post by Toshiba

Thu Apr 24 2014, 16:24

Seagate announces 'world's fastest' 6TB hard drive

Complete with multi-drive rotational vibration tolerance

Mon Apr 07 2014, 16:32

Toshiba unveils adapter that turns HDDs into wireless storage devices

Also launches a 5TB HDD with built-in backup software

Wed Mar 19 2014, 16:24

Sony and Panasonic unveil Archival Disc as Blu-ray successor

Cold storage medium aims for 1TB on a single disc

Mon Mar 10 2014, 14:56

Seagate updates Backup Plus Slim HDD with smartphone support

It's a portable HDD that is 12.1mm thick

Mon Jan 06 2014, 16:56

Western Digital launches My Cloud EX4 NAS for prosumer market

A little bit of self-sufficency

Wed Nov 13 2013, 15:08

Sandisk reveals 4K capable Compactflash cards

Offers 256GB capacity

Mon Sep 16 2013, 10:00

SSD drive shipments have tripled over the last year

Thanks to growing adoption in ultrabooks and tablets

Wed Aug 07 2013, 17:05

AMD teams with Toshiba's OCZ for Radeon R7 SSD line

Will be available in 120GB, 240GB and 480GB capacities

Tue Aug 19 2014, 16:01

AMD is preparing to launch its first SSD drives

Made in association with Toshiba

Fri Aug 08 2014, 15:23

HGST unveils SSD capable of three million IOPS

PCM drive is super speedy, says HGST

Mon Aug 04 2014, 16:40

Rackspace offers 1,000 percent guarantee on managed cloud

Puts its money where its servers are

Tue Jul 15 2014, 14:06

IBM and Pure Storage sign patent licensing accord

Pure Storage buys 100 IBM patents and licenses them back

Fri Jun 20 2014, 12:45

Raspberry Pi powers the Sherlybox personal cloud server

It is serious. And do call it Shirly.

Mon Jun 09 2014, 16:06

SSD drives could triple in speed thanks to firmware

Defrag scheme boosts speed 300 percent

Tue May 27 2014, 16:39

IBM and Fujitsu's 154GB/in tape is another trip back to the future

Promising double density every other year

Tue May 20 2014, 17:25

Seagate outs 2TB wireless hard drive with support for Android, iOS and Windows 8

Take all of the files, all of the places, all of the times

Wed May 07 2014, 16:24

Megaupload applies for Hong Kong assets takeaway

Wants court to drop US restraint order

Thu Apr 24 2014, 09:24

Western Digital irks users as remote access outage reaches day six

No access for nearly a week and people are getting angry

Tue Apr 01 2014, 13:46

Crucial announces M550 solid-state drive for upgraders

To make your laptop run like a rocket

Wed Mar 19 2014, 15:56

Sandisk announces world's fastest memory card for 4K video

Fastest memory card reader to boot

Thu Feb 13 2014, 16:52

WD My Cloud review

The NAS has evolved into something good, but slow connections are a drag

Wed Dec 18 2013, 15:25

HGST announces fastest slimline 1TB ultrabook drive

The fastest things come in small packages

Tue Oct 29 2013, 13:13

Samsung has begun bashing out DDR4 20nm memory modules

For use in enterprise servers

Fri Aug 30 2013, 14:45
Page 1 of 16
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Blackberry completes restructuring process

Do you think Blackberry can bounce back to growth?