The Inquirer-Home

Components

LG will use quantum dot technology for better TV display colours

Firm claims much higher resolution 4K content

Tue Dec 16 2014, 15:04

Samsung to splurge almost $15bn on Korean chip plant

To bolster profits in its semiconductor business

Mon Oct 06 2014, 12:37

Hardkernel cancels Raspberry Pi-like Odroid W after Broadcom stops supplying SoC

Meanwhile the Pi foundation updates the Epiphany browser

Mon Sep 01 2014, 17:26

Intel unveils tiny modem for the Internet of Things

Aimed at future networked sensors and IoT devices such as wearables

Tue Aug 26 2014, 14:03

Intel announces 'self encrypting' solid state drives to fight data breaches

SSD Pro 2500 series aims to protect against 'significant financial loss'

Tue Jul 22 2014, 17:15

IBM pumps $3bn into semiconductor research to discover chips of the future

Aims to develop alternative technology for 'post-silicon era chips'

Thu Jul 10 2014, 13:16

Don't shun the Internet of Things over privacy and security worries

Column We have the chance to enforce data protection

Fri Mar 21 2014, 16:50

Samsung announces 20nm 4Gb DDR3 RAM

Twice the yield of 30nm DRAM

Tue Mar 11 2014, 15:07

Lacie launches 'first' 5TB external hard drive

Because cloud storage isn't enough

Thu Feb 20 2014, 16:40

CES: Intel talks up Edison micro computer

Intel details the company's mini machine with Linux and WiFi

Thu Jan 09 2014, 16:32

Samsung unveils first 1TB mSATA drive

It's bigger on the inside

Mon Dec 09 2013, 16:47

Nvidia announces 'fastest' 12GB GPU accelerator for supercomputing

Set to rival AMD's Firepro S10000 12GB GPU

Mon Nov 18 2013, 16:56

Apple will produce Sapphire crystal in Arizona for future iPhones and iPads

Not like Breaking Bad crystal

Tue Nov 05 2013, 14:21

Motorola joins forces with Phonebloks to introduce open source hardware

It's called Project Ara

Tue Oct 29 2013, 11:54

Samsung bigs up its 'advanced' 13MP smartphone camera

Likely to appear in next year's iPhone

Mon Oct 07 2013, 11:54

USB-IF demos superspeed USB 3.1 data transfer [Video]

Hits just short of 900MBps

Thu Sep 12 2013, 12:14

The best and worst of Computex 2013

A roundup of what delighted and dismayed at the Taipei computer trade show

Fri Jun 07 2013, 12:56

IBM will pay $1.5bn to get rid of its chip-making unit

Has confirmed a deal with Globalfoundries to take the loss-making semiconductor arm off its hands

Mon Oct 20 2014, 15:18

IBM teams with Nvidia to launch Power Systems server based on Openpower Foundation

The Power S824L server claims to be 20 percent better performing than Intel's Xeon v3 processor

Fri Oct 03 2014, 15:52

Boston previews upcoming Intel Xeon workstations and servers

A peek at upcoming systems running Intel's Xeon E5-2600 Haswell-EP processors

Fri Aug 29 2014, 10:14

iPhone 6 backlight glitch could force Apple to delay 9 September launch

Flaw could also see limited handsets available at release

Fri Aug 22 2014, 11:09

Internet of Things needs to be encrypted to offer proper security

Research reveals data protection and user education gaps are holding back IoT

Mon Jul 21 2014, 08:50

Computex 2014 round-up: Intel Core M, Kingston fabs and electric toilets

The good, the bad and the ugly at Asia’s biggest computer trade show

Mon Jun 09 2014, 09:10

The Internet of Things will make us all mind readers

Telepathy and trust are the hot topics of our IoT privacy debate

Fri Mar 21 2014, 11:55

Sandisk targets Android users with 128GB micro SD card

From 128MB to 128GB in the space of a decade

Tue Feb 25 2014, 11:15

Toshiba's $35m acquisition of OCZ is complete

Updated SSD maker is now part of Toshiba but will continue to operate independently

Wed Jan 22 2014, 11:59

Gorilla Glass now keeps your screen clean

Toughened glass adds antimicrobial properties

Tue Jan 07 2014, 14:50

USB Type-C to be slimmer and reversible like Apple's Lightning connector

Will launch in mid-2014

Wed Dec 04 2013, 12:36

Lenovo sells four devices every second, shuns dwindling PC market

Quarterly results make happy reading for Chinese computer maker

Thu Nov 07 2013, 11:36

HGST ships helium filled hard drive in UK with help from Netflix

6TB HDD claims to reduce power consumption by 23 percent

Mon Nov 04 2013, 16:04

Dick Cheney had a terrorist proof pacemaker

Ex US vice president who dun shot a man!

Mon Oct 21 2013, 13:55

EU announces compulsory common charger standard

Apple, we're looking at you

Fri Sep 27 2013, 15:51

LG develops world's first 2560x1440 smartphone display

Quad HD on mobile becomes a reality

Wed Aug 21 2013, 10:51

Computex: Asus launches raft of Intel Haswell focused gaming hardware

Asus' Republic of Gamers unveils a desktop, a notebook and some motherboards

Tue Jun 04 2013, 06:05

Raspberry Pi-powered Pi-Top 3D printed laptop hits crowdfunding site Indiegogo

Reaches almost a quarter of funding goal in first 24 hours

Tue Oct 14 2014, 15:42

IDF: Intel kicks off Android reference design programme for low-cost tablets

An attempt to ramp up availability of Intel-based tablets worldwide

Thu Sep 11 2014, 13:31

Doctors and nurses need to take their Internet of Things pills

Medical staff pose biggest obstacle to IoT benefits in healthcare

Thu Aug 28 2014, 14:02

CSRmesh SDK arrives to speed up low-power IoT product development

Enables devices to be networked together and controlled from a smartphone

Tue Jul 29 2014, 13:59

Raspberry Pi Model B+ vs Model B video

The foundation talks us through the key features of the updated device

Mon Jul 14 2014, 14:13

LG Display outs 5.5in QHD screen ahead of LG G3 reveal

Flagship smartphone to trump Galaxy S5 with 538ppi 2K resolution panel

Thu May 08 2014, 11:39

Internet of Things will see 26 billion connected devices by 2020

Long live the machines

Tue Mar 18 2014, 17:06

Dell joins A4WP to help develop wireless charging for ultrabooks and 2-in1 PCs

The Alliance for Wireless Power wants to liberate users from wired chargers

Fri Feb 21 2014, 13:04

Microsoft is expected to put the Nvidia Tegra K1 in Surface tablets

It'll be faster than Mo Farah in a Bugatti fired from a cannon

Fri Jan 10 2014, 15:58

EU pushes for a single laptop charger standard

Dead battery blues could be a thing of the past

Wed Dec 18 2013, 15:50

Siemens' tube of the future aims to ease sardine-like commutes

Inspiro trains will carry 10 percent more passengers

Mon Dec 02 2013, 15:28

Nexus 5 is more repairable than the iPhone 5C

And almost any other phone, apparently

Tue Nov 05 2013, 17:16

HP sues optical drive makers for price fixing

Alleges collusion

Wed Oct 30 2013, 12:13

IBM blames four percent revenue dip on China and struggling hardware division

But posts profits of $4bn, up six percent from last year

Thu Oct 17 2013, 16:49

The Dukepad is the Raspberry Pi based Linux tablet you build yourself

Necessity is the motherboard of invention

Thu Sep 26 2013, 13:23

Sharp sees 32.6 percent rise in sales thanks to IGZO smartphone LCD panels

Qualcomm will be happy with its investment

Thu Aug 01 2013, 13:50
Page 1 of 9
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Internet of Things at Christmas poll

Which smart device are you hoping Santa brings?