The Inquirer-Home

Infrastructure

FCC delays net neutrality decision with 120 day consultation

Two commissioners slag off the FCC and a woman gets evicted

Thu May 15 2014, 17:16

Web host throttles FCC access to 28.8kbps in protest at net neutrality plan

Warns of a Ferengi future for the internet

Mon May 12 2014, 13:23

Ofcom looks to 5G and Internet of Things with spectrum review

Freeview television could be on the move too

Wed Apr 30 2014, 16:34

IBM unveils Openpower servers to manage big data faster

Capable of analysing data 50 times faster than the latest Intel x86 systems

Thu Apr 24 2014, 11:06

Intel launches Internet of Things gateway platform based on Quark and Atom chips

Partners taking advantage of the gateway will be introducing products this quarter

Thu Apr 03 2014, 16:17

Google and Yahoo reveal US far ahead in requesting user data

And that doesn't even count all the NSA requests

Fri Mar 28 2014, 16:39

How technology helped and hindered the hunt for Flight MH370

Analysis Changes needed in the way aviation uses technology

Mon Mar 24 2014, 17:41

Netflix tells ISPs profit sharing works both ways as net neutrality row continues

Reed Hastings says ISPs are sacrificing the interests of their customers

Fri Mar 21 2014, 16:17

The World Wide Web is 25 years old

We have to give it a mention, it's the reason we're here

Wed Mar 12 2014, 09:09

Victorian sewers help London’s internet flow faster

Analysis Geo Networks brings fibre service to London from the city's sewers

Mon Mar 03 2014, 11:00

Verizon wants Netflix to pay for traffic

Neither side gives as video quality falls

Wed Feb 19 2014, 12:48

Microsoft denies censoring Chinese Bing search results

It's not imperialist propaganda, it's a genuine cockup

Wed Feb 12 2014, 10:52

Net Neutrality is thrown a lifeline by Washington

Bipartisan support for a temporary reprieve

Tue Feb 04 2014, 16:02

Sky and ITV sign a deal for Sky Go and Now TV

ITV to launch Encore channel as part of the agreement

Wed Jan 29 2014, 15:33

Net neutrality ruling fallout begins

It's the FCC's move

Thu Jan 16 2014, 13:56

The BBC will launch five more HD channels tomorrow

Auntie Beeb's Christmas presents arrive early

Mon Dec 09 2013, 10:53

Waterstones counters Amazon drones with owls

This could be a hoot

Mon Dec 02 2013, 17:38

D-Day for net neutrality as FCC vote looms

Campaigners bring the fight to chairman Wheeler

Thu May 15 2014, 16:11

Microsoft and Google among tech firms demanding net neutrality in FCC letter

Amazon, Dropbox and Facebook also onboard, but no sign of Apple

Thu May 08 2014, 12:06

If we are in another tech bubble, the FCC just burst it

Column Net neutrality rules show we've learnt nothing from the past

Fri Apr 25 2014, 13:56

50 years later and still no one is video calling

Analysis The zeitgeist you have dialed doesn't exist

Tue Apr 22 2014, 17:05

European Parliament backs Net Neutrality

Shows the US how it is done

Thu Apr 03 2014, 13:20

IBM set to show off GPU big data analytics system

Powered by Hadoop open-source software

Mon Mar 24 2014, 13:42

Fox News claims Obama is giving the internet away

11 years before he came to power

Mon Mar 17 2014, 17:15

An online BBC Three could be the next Netflix

Column We're already watching IPTV anyway

Fri Mar 07 2014, 15:05

Netflix and Comcast agree terms of net neutrality truce

No priority, but direct traffic

Mon Feb 24 2014, 16:22

A turn by turn history of GPS

Analysis As the modern GPS network turns 25, we look back at its history

Mon Feb 17 2014, 17:03

Verizon blames its slow speeds on Netflix as net neutrality row continues

Oblique swipe at Netflix as customer experience continues to disappoint

Tue Feb 11 2014, 15:12

Rival operators EE and Three strike a deal to share 4G infrastructure

£1bn deal will accelerate networks' 4G rollout and cut costs

Mon Feb 03 2014, 16:42

Netflix wades in on net neutrality row

Celebrates 44 million subscribers and says it won't be bullied by ISPs

Thu Jan 23 2014, 12:32

Net neutrality rules lie in tatters as FCC overruled

Verizon wins appeal paving way for tiered internet

Tue Jan 14 2014, 17:39

Bluetooth 4.1 looks to the future

Latest protocol version sows the seeds of IPV6

Fri Dec 06 2013, 13:47

Pick of the Cyber Monday deals

Not as good as we hoped

Mon Dec 02 2013, 17:19

US ISPs threaten to break the internet unless they get their way

The day before the decision, one side gets nasty

Wed May 14 2014, 16:14

Mozilla lobbies FCC to reform net neutrality

Hang on, it's got a brilliant idea

Tue May 06 2014, 11:27

FCC guts net neutrality to pave way to tiered internet

Leaves Brazil to show how its done

Thu Apr 24 2014, 13:23

DynDNS irks users with shutdown of free service model

Says it's due to abuse of trust

Wed Apr 09 2014, 16:07

Intel rallies vendors in 100G CLR4 Alliance to make optical fibre a data centre standard

To drive down costs and space usage

Tue Apr 01 2014, 13:00

AT&T boss pours scorn on Netflix net neutrality proposals

Says Netflix customers should be shouldering costs

Tue Mar 25 2014, 17:04

Apple courts Comcast for net neutrality-evading TV service

Apple wants a direct internet connection

Mon Mar 24 2014, 13:17

Tim Berners-Lee didn't expect so many cats on the World Wide Web

Now he's having kittens

Thu Mar 13 2014, 13:34

Cisco declares bounty on Internet of Things security problems

$300,000 on offer for the best innovation

Mon Mar 03 2014, 15:33

FCC won't appeal Verizon net neutrality ruling

Opts instead for a softly softly approach

Thu Feb 20 2014, 14:53

FCC promises to end net neutrality uncertainty 'in the coming days'

But it might not be quite that simple

Wed Feb 12 2014, 14:21

Top 10 tips for Satya Nadella as Microsoft CEO

Things we think Ballmer's successor should note

Wed Feb 05 2014, 15:22

AT&T and Verizon will explore replacing phone numbers with IP addresses

FCC clears the way for trials

Fri Jan 31 2014, 16:45

UK fibre optic trial achieves 1.4 terabit network link

All hail the Alien Superchannel

Thu Jan 23 2014, 10:49

EE opens its 4G network to roamers

Visitors can be bewildered by the tube map even faster

Wed Dec 18 2013, 12:41

Facebook shuns memes for community news

I can haz seriouz dizcorse

Tue Dec 03 2013, 14:26
Page 2 of 8
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Masque malware is putting iPad and iPhone user data at risk

Has news of iOS malware made you reconsider getting an iPhone?