The Inquirer-Home

Infrastructure

UK Pirate Party slams government plans for IP address identification

New legislation would force ISPs to use static IPs

Tue Nov 25 2014, 10:47

All corners come out fighting after Obama supports net neutrality

The cable industry will sue, the protestors will protest. Situation normal.

Tue Nov 11 2014, 15:49

FCC chief set for panto horse net neutrality settlement

Oh no he isn't

Fri Oct 31 2014, 17:25

Google modifies search algorithms in bid to curb online piracy

Will restrict rankings of sites offering illegal downloads

Mon Oct 20 2014, 15:27

UK government revamps broadband subsidy scheme due to lack of interest

It just can't give it away

Tue Sep 23 2014, 17:15

As three million comment on net neutrality, the FCC adjusts its plans

Asks if mobile data should be treated equally

Wed Sep 17 2014, 16:55

Kickstarter and Mozilla join internet slowdown day

It's not slower, it's just a peaceful protest

Thu Sep 04 2014, 17:35

Michael J Fox teams with Intel to use big data and wearables in Parkinson's research

Analysis Will track patient data and improve treatment

Thu Aug 14 2014, 13:03

80 percent of IoT devices are vulnerable to data theft, says HP

Could allow hackers to access users' personal information such credit card credentials

Thu Jul 31 2014, 14:02

London will get 5G connectivity by 2020

Users will be able to download a film in less than a second

Mon Jul 28 2014, 12:45

FCC extends net neutrality deadline as both sides set out their cases

Analysis It's the ISPs versus the public interest in a battle for the internet

Wed Jul 16 2014, 16:57

Robots are already in our homes, IoT should not be feared

IT professionals want to educate users about the Internet of Things

Tue Jul 15 2014, 09:54

UK commuter trains to get free high-speed WiFi thanks to £90m funding

But the RMT is not happy about it

Mon Jul 07 2014, 10:24

UK broadband rollout lags in cities

Poor in Glasgow and Inverness worst off

Thu Jun 19 2014, 10:22

UK government opens 'Imovation Centre' to make British transport smarter

Aims to reduce congestions and delays

Thu Jun 12 2014, 10:57

Aston University throws £1.5m at project to fix internet 'capacity crunch'

Fibre networks due a Petabit Energy Aware Capacity Enhancement

Tue Jun 03 2014, 14:32

Apple courts ISPs for net neutrality busting access

Aims to alleviate iCloud block

Wed May 21 2014, 13:22

US Justice Department 'dirtboxes' snooping on mobile phones from the air

Dragnet surveillance from the skies

Fri Nov 14 2014, 12:58

Obama tells the FCC to uphold net neutrality and reclassify the internet as a utility

But admits he has no way of enforcing it

Mon Nov 10 2014, 16:55

Facebook takes to Tor for weird sort of anonymous socialising

It's anonymous, but everyone can see it and it's a bit weird

Fri Oct 31 2014, 16:15

Google plans shark-proof cable to link Brazil with the US

They're going to need a bigger byte

Mon Oct 13 2014, 16:44

Scotland votes no, so cool your boots tech firms

Saves the mobile firms a bit of worry

Fri Sep 19 2014, 09:23

eBay goes down, ticks off users again

For the second time this month

Mon Sep 15 2014, 12:32

Cameron gleeful as latest EE 4G switch-on includes Witney constituency

Says Witney is now a good place to live

Thu Aug 28 2014, 12:17

Five major differences between professional and free web hosting providers

Understand the significant differences

Tue Aug 05 2014, 13:03

London startups slam Tech City broadband as 'not fit for purpose'

But BT looks to save the day

Thu Jul 31 2014, 13:33

Vodafone looks to put data servers in cell towers

Because all those selfies have to go somewhere

Thu Jul 24 2014, 15:44

Microsoft follows Apple's green lead with major wind energy investment

Amazon once-again called out for lagging behind rivals

Tue Jul 15 2014, 15:13

Verizon tells Netflix, 'It's not us, it's you'

Says speed problems are at Netflix end

Fri Jul 11 2014, 16:47

Microsoft and Google support 25Gbps Ethernet for data centres

25 Gigabit Ethernet Consortium looks to head off capacity shortfall

Wed Jul 02 2014, 14:37

FCC to investigate whether Verizon and Comcast are throttling Netflix

Chairman Wheeler does some net neutrality PR

Mon Jun 16 2014, 14:53

BT commemorates its role in D-Day landings

British Telecom and Colossus helped win WWII

Fri Jun 06 2014, 17:17

UK copyright cops shutter Torrentz.eu, briefly

PIPCU peelers try to push off 'pirates'

Tue May 27 2014, 11:53

Intel primes market for silicon photonics to lift data centre interconnect speeds

Aims to replace copper with fibre optics

Mon May 19 2014, 17:03

Ex-Microsoft head honcho Ballmer dismisses net neutrality in 26 tweets

FCC delays decision as basketball coach wades in

Wed Nov 12 2014, 16:49

FCC chairman Wheeler's 'hybrid' proposal is questionable

Column Skullduggery is afoot in Washington, DC

Fri Nov 07 2014, 15:06

IBM battles Ebola outbreak with data analytics

Allows African citizens to report cases using voice calls or toll-free SMS

Mon Oct 27 2014, 13:17

BT researchers are close to gigabit internet through copper wire

G.FAST standard could mean ultrafast speeds for most

Thu Sep 25 2014, 15:24

Bittorrent Bleep chat alpha opens to all with Android and Mac aboard

It has more issues than Vogue, but it's getting there

Thu Sep 18 2014, 15:17

IDF: Intel is sampling its third generation 14nm data centre SoC, the Xeon D

Offers Xeon-class performance for hyperscale workloads in high density, optimised servers

Fri Sep 12 2014, 10:08

Microsoft Azure and IoT to modernise London Underground monitoring systems

Will make for 'faster maintenance, better service and lower costs across the system'

Thu Aug 21 2014, 16:52

UK launches £10m scheme to host driverless car trials in January

Announces regulatory measures to legally allow autonomous cars on UK roads

Thu Jul 31 2014, 14:46

Netflix signs a peering agreement with AT&T

Third major carrier deal as net neutrality consultation continues

Wed Jul 30 2014, 17:15

BT lands undersea fibre cable in Isles of Scilly

Remote islands get closer to a fixed internet connection

Thu Jul 24 2014, 08:35

Samsung, ARM and Google's Nest join forces to create IoT standard

Aims to help the Internet of Things 'realise its potential for years to come'

Tue Jul 15 2014, 10:51

TfL pushes London closer to electronic payments with cash-free buses

Only passengers using an Oyster or contactless payment card can board

Mon Jul 07 2014, 15:46

Philips shows off Ethernet-powered LED connected lighting for offices of the future

Could also be used in retail for more accurate indoor location services

Tue Jul 01 2014, 16:49

UK 'Imovation Centre' to pave the way for nationwide digital ticketing on trains and buses

Catapult's new hub aims to make Britain's transport more digitally dependant

Fri Jun 13 2014, 17:31

FCC web commenting returns after net neutrality protest

Updated Satirist John Oliver tells internet users 'fly my pretties!'

Wed Jun 04 2014, 15:02

Google says Netflix can use its fast lane for free

Shows Verizon how it should be done

Fri May 23 2014, 16:10
Page 1 of 8
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Masque malware is putting iPad and iPhone user data at risk

Has news of iOS malware made you reconsider getting an iPhone?