The Inquirer-Home

Broadband

UK download speeds slow by 35 per cent at peak times

Fast speeds are available only at 2am

Wed Nov 16 2011, 11:31

Big four ISPs publish pornography blocking plans

Users can choose whether or not to look at adult material

Mon Oct 31 2011, 15:22

BT is readying 300Mbits/s fibre connections

Wants to double speeds by Spring 2012

Thu Oct 06 2011, 09:43

Talktalk is the most complained about broadband provider

Tops Ofcom's list, again

Thu Sep 22 2011, 15:00

Pirate Party MEP tries to block EU copyright extension

Last ditch attempt

Tue Sep 06 2011, 17:06

Facebook will broadcast FA Cup tomorrow

The new way to watch football

Thu Aug 18 2011, 10:54

Documents show the Digital Economy Act was a done deal all along

Public opinion was irrelevant to Lord Mandelson

Mon Aug 01 2011, 13:01

Tesco will offer free in-store WiFi

Browse whilst you shop

Mon Jul 25 2011, 13:41

Ofcom wants better value broadband

Don’t we all

Wed Jul 20 2011, 09:40

Ofcom publishes a broadband winners and losers map

UK high speed postcode lottery results

Wed Jul 06 2011, 15:30

Finnish court orders ISPs to disconnect filesharers

A 'no strikes' system rears its ugly head

Wed Jun 29 2011, 18:09

Chameleon WiGig gains momentum

Faster, safer Wifi-plus can mimic any link technology

Tue Jun 14 2011, 17:14

O2 tops Ofcom mobile broadband study

Ofcom's first mobile broadband research

Thu May 26 2011, 11:53

Talk Talk launches network monitoring to protect children

Tries to help out parents

Mon May 09 2011, 13:20

Virgin Media is testing 1.5Gb broadband in London

Claims fastest speeds in the world

Wed Apr 20 2011, 11:20

Fast broadband connections will hit the 250,000 mark in UK

Speeds of 25Mbps and above

Tue Apr 12 2011, 11:07

BT rivals ask government to intervene on prices

Rents are too high, they claim

Wed Apr 06 2011, 11:41

US citizens prefer to be fined, not shunned for 'piracy'

Nearly half of adults have copied or downloaded material

Wed Nov 16 2011, 09:34

BT accelerates superfast broadband plans

A year early

Mon Oct 31 2011, 11:17

Power failure takes down BT broadband

Downtime causes outages across the UK

Mon Oct 03 2011, 15:21

Uswitch reveals slowest streets for broadband

Might want to change service providers

Tue Sep 20 2011, 11:56

Ofcom pushes on with White Spaces trials

Progress report from UK telecomms body

Thu Sep 01 2011, 11:15

Talktalk and Tiscali are fined £3m for overcharging customers

ISPs must cough up for thousands of users

Thu Aug 18 2011, 10:00

BT is increasing copper speeds in the UK

Plans to double speeds at hundreds of exchanges

Wed Jul 27 2011, 17:06

Andrew Crossley denies Greek ACS:Law business

Foreign letters all Greek to disgraced lawyer

Fri Jul 22 2011, 09:05

Virgin Media is not speedy enough for ad watchdog

ASA upholds rivals' complaints over advertising

Wed Jul 13 2011, 09:25

Virgin Media teams up with Spotify

Music on demand through your TV

Wed Jul 06 2011, 14:58

O2 will trial fibre optic broadband in the UK

Later this year

Tue Jun 28 2011, 12:34

Virgin Media reaches four million homes with 'superfast' broadband

One million per month rollout

Mon Jun 13 2011, 10:51

BT and Everything Everywhere trial 4G LTE

First taste of 4G in the UK

Wed May 25 2011, 15:38

FCC says antitrust laws are not enough protection for Net Neutrality

The open internet needs protection says US regulator

Fri May 06 2011, 10:15

EU net neutrality policies are criticised as favouring companies

No penalties for Internet traffic discrimination

Tue Apr 19 2011, 12:43

Big media propose a scheme to block 'pirate' websites

Want ISPs to do it voluntarily

Mon Apr 11 2011, 12:37

BT will roll out copper broadband to 80 per cent of UK

Copper cabling goes 2.0

Mon Apr 04 2011, 12:04

Virgin Media, Sky and Talk Talk are asked to block Newzbin2

Firms could join BT in ban action

Wed Nov 09 2011, 14:46

FCC files motion to stop Net Neutrality appeals

Wants to dismiss moves from Verizon

Fri Oct 07 2011, 11:25

Advertising Standards Agency clears up web speed boasts

New guidelines should cut the chuff from the chatter

Thu Sep 29 2011, 13:03

Jeremy Hunt wants an end to 4G auction delays

Operators must drop arguments, move on

Wed Sep 14 2011, 09:54

Lightbulbs can be used to broadcast wireless internet

LiFi is coming

Thu Aug 25 2011, 17:16

Three will sell Huawei E586 MiFi

Faster mobile broadband

Wed Aug 17 2011, 11:10

Ofcom says ISP broadband speeds gap widens

Advertising at its worst

Wed Jul 27 2011, 12:13

Virgin Media reaches a quarter of the UK with 'superfast' broadband

Rollout is on track

Wed Jul 20 2011, 11:38

Big US ISPs agree to cut off filesharers

Major internet service providers align themselves with the music and film MAFIAA

Fri Jul 08 2011, 16:10

Virgin Media denies any need for net neutrality rules

Market is competitive and regulates itself

Wed Jul 06 2011, 09:40

Facebook and Twitter cause higher roaming bills

Users are unaware of the costs

Tue Jun 28 2011, 11:53

O2 says 4G auction is illegal, will cost UK £1bn

Updated Suggests Ofcom start over again

Fri Jun 10 2011, 11:57

Nine out of ten UK homes are set for superfast broadband

Jeremy Hunt sets 2015 target date

Thu May 12 2011, 16:05

UK is rubbish for broadband

But one English city hits the top 100 at 99th place

Wed Apr 27 2011, 16:59

Fujitsu takes next gen Internet services to rural Britain

Wants to light up 5 million country connections

Wed Apr 13 2011, 16:07

BT announces more high speed broadband exchanges

Rural Blighty and, er, Kensington Gardens will get connected

Thu Apr 07 2011, 13:18
Page 4 of 35
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Microsoft's Windows 10 Preview has permission to watch your every move

Does Microsoft have the right to keylog users of its Windows 10 Technical Preview?