The Inquirer-Home

Broadband

Irish ISPs will block Bittorrent websites without court orders

Music cartel gathers in Ireland to demand block on Kickass Torrents

Mon Dec 02 2013, 14:15

EE sheds over a million customers but adds 500,000 to 4G network

Still less than five percent of the network's customers are using 4G

Tue Oct 22 2013, 12:21

Three's 4G network will go live in four UK cities in December

Customers can expect speeds of around 14Mbps

Wed Sep 11 2013, 14:04

Online porn block: Legit sites to suffer from David Cameron's ignorance

Analysis Retailers will lose trade and web users will lose trust

Mon Jul 22 2013, 15:39

Ofcom proposes rules to cut costs of superfast broadband

Aims to slash the price of switching customers by 80 percent

Wed Jul 03 2013, 11:04

Netflix names Virgin Media the UK's fastest ISP for sixth consecutive month

Talktalk named and shamed as worst

Mon May 13 2013, 17:07

BT facing Ofcom probe after Talktalk slams unfair broadband pricing

Watchdog to look into whether BT is abusing dominant position

Thu May 02 2013, 10:14

O2 customers to get free WiFi on the London Underground

Three customers are left in the dark

Mon Apr 08 2013, 11:20

EC has a new plan to cut broadband costs: Less roadworks

Rollouts will roll over nations like a bureaucratic broadband blanket

Tue Mar 26 2013, 16:32

EE extends its 4G services to rural Cumbria

LTE comes to the UK's Lake District

Thu Mar 21 2013, 11:15

Sky will move Be Unlimited customers onto its network

More than just a name change

Wed Mar 06 2013, 13:51

BT teams with Barclays to provide free WiFi at UK branches

Claims to be the first high street bank to offer such a service

Mon Feb 18 2013, 10:50

Liberty Global will acquire Virgin Media to create a cable giant

Liberty, connectivity, cable TV

Wed Feb 06 2013, 09:58

German court rules internet is an essential part of life

ISPs are on the hook if things go wrong

Fri Jan 25 2013, 13:22

Inquirer readers want BT Infinity, now and beyond

Frustrated by slow rollout

Fri Jan 11 2013, 11:56

Ofcom plans for 5G as broadband speeds increase

Plans for more spectrum use to meet data growth

Fri Nov 16 2012, 11:47

London Underground will have free WiFi across all stations by 2015

As well as contactless card payments for easier ticketing

Thu Nov 21 2013, 13:16

Sky gets its knuckles rapped over Virgin Media jibe

The ASA defines when broadband is 'superfast'

Wed Oct 09 2013, 17:16

BT Infinity dating ad banned

Back on the shelf

Wed Sep 11 2013, 10:00

UK broadband continues to improve as average speed hits 14.7Mbps

Speeds soar 64 percent year on year

Wed Aug 07 2013, 13:13

BT to launch 300Mbps fibre optic broadband for £50 per month

Will ship with the firm's upcoming Hub 5 router that has support for 802.11ac WiFi

Wed Jul 10 2013, 17:07

EU court advised Google does not have to delete personal data from search index

Not subject to privacy requirements under EU data protection law

Tue Jun 25 2013, 11:18

BT Sport to be free for broadband customers in Sky challenging deal

Premier League games will be free for the first time in 20 years

Thu May 09 2013, 13:20

Virgin Media revises its traffic management policy

Explains its traffic cap

Tue Apr 16 2013, 11:51

4G threat to Freeview TV not as bad as expected, test shows

Only 15 homes from an area of 22,000 affected

Fri Apr 05 2013, 10:31

Broadband startup Hyperoptic hits 12,000 one gigabit per second connections

Offering speeds across London 10 times faster than nearest broadband competitors

Mon Mar 25 2013, 17:02

Broadband speed average in the UK soars to 12Mbit/s

Virgin Media takes the top spot

Thu Mar 14 2013, 15:42

Sky buys O2 and Be broadband services from Telefónica for £200m

Leapfrogs Virgin Media to the number two spot

Fri Mar 01 2013, 10:09

EE says 27 more cities will get 4G by summer

Estate agents, food shops and software vendors all signed up

Thu Feb 07 2013, 14:10

BT cuts the price of high speed broadband

And posts positive third quarter profits for 2012

Fri Feb 01 2013, 17:13

UK broadband speeds increased by 11 percent in the third quarter of 2012

But still lag the rest of the EU in 12th place, says Akamai

Thu Jan 24 2013, 12:26

BT gets its wrist slapped over Infinity promises

Line checker couldn’t make up its mind

Wed Jan 09 2013, 16:47

Virgin Media launches TV Anywhere

Cloud based service brings Tivo to mobile devices

Wed Nov 07 2012, 12:36

BT ad banned for overstating WiFi interference

Hooray for the ASA

Thu Oct 24 2013, 10:58

Ofcom outs Orange and Talktalk as most complained about ISPs

Virgin Media and Sky left unscathed

Fri Sep 27 2013, 12:27

Sky's Bruce Willis advert dies hard following ASA ban

Watchdog rules Sky was 'misleading' potential customers

Wed Aug 14 2013, 14:18

UK internet speeds see 'aggressive' growth as government pushes superfast broadband

Average broadband speed increased by 41 percent year on year

Tue Jul 23 2013, 15:55

Rural broadband rollout delayed by one or two years

It’s probably stuck behind a tractor

Fri Jul 05 2013, 12:20

BT advert banned for not showing broadband cap

Pssst... capped at 10GB per month

Wed May 29 2013, 10:44

Syria gets cut off from the internet

Updated Cause remains unknown

Wed May 08 2013, 11:19

Liberty Global's buyout of Virgin Media gets the thumbs up in Europe

EC says takeover sparks no competition concerns

Mon Apr 15 2013, 14:59

Ofcom names and shames Talktalk, Orange and BT

Telecoms, broadband and Pay TV firms rated

Thu Mar 28 2013, 13:05

Three torrent websites are blocked by BT, O2, Virgin Media and Be There

Kickass Torrents, H33T and Fenopy are censored following a High Court order

Fri Mar 22 2013, 17:21

Virgin Media tops Netflix's fastest UK ISP table

But Google Fibre rules the US

Tue Mar 12 2013, 10:56

EE rolls out 4G across nine more UK towns and cities

Says unlimited 4G data plans are 'unnecessary'

Wed Feb 27 2013, 16:04

Government spooks want more internet and mobile data to fight crime

Can't get enough data from spying on Facebook chats alone

Wed Feb 06 2013, 16:00

Eutelsat bumps satellite broadband to 20Mbit/s

Tooway service for remote web surfers

Thu Jan 31 2013, 10:59

Ofcom thinks 2Mbit/s broadband target is too low

Minimum speeds of 8-10Mbit/s would be better

Fri Jan 11 2013, 15:05

UK government extends ultrafast broadband to 12 more cities

Chancellor's Autumn Statement has a surprise broadband windfall

Wed Dec 05 2012, 15:32
Page 2 of 35
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Microsoft's Windows 10 Preview has permission to watch your every move

Does Microsoft have the right to keylog users of its Windows 10 Technical Preview?