The Inquirer-Home

Chips

Texas Instruments sees ARM's Cortex A7 as an Android accelerator

Claims mix and match is the way forward

Thu Oct 20 2011, 13:23

Intel says users are unaware of personal data collection by third parties

Aims to do something about it

Thu Oct 13 2011, 11:34

Intel says 8nm won't be enough for exascale

Transistor scaling is simply not good enough

Wed Oct 12 2011, 12:08

Samsung unveils memory and processor chips for smartphones and tablets

Latest range revealed at Mobile Solutions Forum

Thu Sep 29 2011, 13:48

VIA sues Apple for patent infringement

Apple should have seen this coming

Fri Sep 23 2011, 12:05

USPTO decides two Rambus patents are invalid

After it won lawsuits with them

Mon Sep 12 2011, 17:07

Globalfoundries readies 20nm process node

Gives hope to its customers

Tue Aug 30 2011, 15:05

AMD releases its C and E series Fusion APUs

For laptop and desktop PCs

Mon Aug 22 2011, 13:01

AMD might equip its FX chips with liquid cooling

Cold as ice

Thu Aug 11 2011, 17:02

Intel invests in a Chinese digital surveillance company

Takes a sneak peek at future profits

Wed Aug 03 2011, 15:26

TSMC reports a drop in profits as lack of demand bites

Still no concrete news on 20nm

Thu Jul 28 2011, 15:37

Intel buys a networking chip design firm

Tires of buying shoes and adverts

Wed Jul 20 2011, 14:36

Intel invests in a mobile marketing outfit

Tries another way to get into the mobile market

Tue Jul 12 2011, 17:37

Ixonos adopts Qualcomm chipsets for Android development

Finnish firm is working on Qualcomm reference designs

Wed Jun 15 2011, 15:40

Intel invests in a Russian shoe shop

Becomes a sole trader

Fri Jun 10 2011, 13:50

video icon Acer gets the munchies with its first demo of the Iconia Tab M500 Meego tablet

Computex 2011 An Intel Atom-based tablet designed to offer improved user experience

Wed Jun 01 2011, 14:28

video icon AMD shares its tablet roadmap and shows a Trinity Fusion chip video

Computex 2011 AMD products group general manager Rick Bergman takes to the stage

Wed Jun 01 2011, 06:34

AMD hires Mark Papermaster as CTO

Ex-IBM chip chief joins firm as technology officer and SVP

Thu Oct 20 2011, 13:17

Intel admits its crossbar interconnect is power hungry

Looks towards a ring

Wed Oct 12 2011, 16:09

Intel and Oracle tout Java and middleware collaboration

Big performance gains, they say

Tue Oct 04 2011, 13:25

IBM partners with Intel, Samsung and TSMC for fab research

Four chipmakers will bake larger wafers

Wed Sep 28 2011, 13:32

Everything Everywhere to push NFC in the UK

Not for those locked into contracts

Tue Sep 20 2011, 16:11

IBM and 3M are developing semiconductor adhesives

Could build multi-chipped layered microprocessors

Thu Sep 08 2011, 14:17

AMD hopes to replicate Lenovo's rise to power with CEO

Analysis Looks east for inspiration

Fri Aug 26 2011, 16:53

Intel announces new features for its Itanium Poulson chips

On course for 2012

Mon Aug 22 2011, 10:32

Qualcomm's next gen Krait chip will run at 2.5GHz

Will fill out its S4 line in the first half of 2012

Wed Aug 10 2011, 15:17

HP grasses Oracle to the Spanish competition commission for ditching Itanium

Claims pricing and abuse of power was to blame

Tue Aug 02 2011, 18:17

Intel claims Windows on ARM will require developers to rejig code

Developers might choose to deal with the devil they know

Tue Jul 26 2011, 17:37

Seamicro packs 384 dual core Intel Atom chips into 10U

Increases ultra high density X86 computing

Mon Jul 18 2011, 14:47

Intel plans to reduce PC power use

Sets its sights on the next billion PCs

Mon Jul 11 2011, 12:00

Intel increases its share of the chip market in 2011

Pulls further ahead of Samsung and Toshiba

Mon Jun 13 2011, 12:25

Intel thinks 10 per cent of servers will run Atom chips by 2015

Potentially replacing Xeons

Thu Jun 09 2011, 10:27

Intel demos a slew of tablets as it looks to gain the upper hand

Computex 2011 Key to success will be tight support for all major operating systems

Wed Jun 01 2011, 14:20

video icon AMD unveils a 9-series chipset video

Computex 2011 Rick Bergman shows off AMD's latest chipset, promising improved performance

Wed Jun 01 2011, 06:28

Intel announces record revenues based on laptop growth

Cash makes chip firm chipper

Wed Oct 19 2011, 09:13

Intel will withdraw from the TV market

Smart TV chip adoption disappoints

Wed Oct 12 2011, 13:33

Intel quietly launches four Atom chips

For netbooks and nettops but not tablets

Mon Oct 03 2011, 17:18

AMD's head of products exits

New CEO Read to take on duties

Fri Sep 23 2011, 15:17

First Windows 8 PCs will use Qualcomm Snapdragon chips

It is also supplying Gobi for internet connectivity

Wed Sep 14 2011, 13:28

Renesas announces a USB 3.0 to SATA3 bridge SoC with UASP support

Industry first promises even faster transfer speeds

Wed Aug 31 2011, 12:16

AMD finally hires a new CEO

Appoints Rory Read from Lenovo

Fri Aug 26 2011, 10:30

Nvidia reports a steady second quarter thanks to Tegra

Samsung Galaxy Tab ban might change that

Fri Aug 12 2011, 13:51

Qualcomm says coders must optimise for battery life

It's not just about raw performance

Mon Aug 08 2011, 09:11

Chip sales grow by 3.7 per cent in the first half of 2011

Despite a slump in the second quarter

Tue Aug 02 2011, 17:19

AMD's CPU division posts profits but GPU arm suffers

Unable to take advantage of what it has

Mon Jul 25 2011, 13:16

Smaller firms with hybrid chips will drive innovation

Semicon attendees are warned of challenges

Wed Jul 13 2011, 12:55

AMD believes Intel will never buy Nvidia

But never say never

Wed Jun 15 2011, 17:33

Intel wants help at Kiryat Gat chip plant

More government cash needed for expansion plans

Mon Jun 13 2011, 11:42

The Ipad and Iphone drive up Apple's use of semiconductors

Firm beats out HP as the top chip consumer

Wed Jun 08 2011, 17:34

Enterprise sales could make or break tablet success

Computex 2011 Will not be a passing fad if strong corporate sales follow, says Qualcomm

Wed Jun 01 2011, 11:50
Page 9 of 53
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Microsoft's Windows 10 Preview has permission to watch your every move

Does Microsoft have the right to keylog users of its Windows 10 Technical Preview?