The Inquirer-Home

Chips

TSMC announces COWOS test vehicle tape out

Claims it is at the pilot stage

Fri Oct 12 2012, 16:47

AMD releases Hondo Z-60 specifications

Aims to undercut Intel's Clover Trail

Tue Oct 09 2012, 05:00

Qualcomm collaborates with Oracle to bring Java 2 ME to its chips

Machine to machine holds the key to future profits

Thu Oct 04 2012, 13:21

Rambus signs six-year patent licensing deal with Fujitsu

Just as Fujitsu wants to get out of the business

Fri Sep 28 2012, 17:35

Fujitsu ropes in UBS to flog its chip business

Wants to focus on systems

Tue Sep 25 2012, 13:19

Intel's top man in China to retire

Maloney ends long Intel career

Fri Sep 21 2012, 14:05

IDF: Intel says Haswell won't use Ivy Bridge transistors

Bigger chips on the horizon

Mon Sep 17 2012, 17:13

IDF: Intel CTO Rattner takes shots at former CTO Gelsinger

Gelsinger's shadow still hangs over IDF

Fri Sep 14 2012, 00:34

IDF: Intel Fellows give Moore's Law another decade

Silicon based computing might not last

Thu Sep 13 2012, 13:37

IDF: Intel talks up Haswell's power efficiency

Not much about performance

Tue Sep 11 2012, 18:37

TSMC rejected billions from Apple and Qualcomm for exclusive access

Wants to remain neutral

Wed Aug 29 2012, 14:40

Mentor Graphics sues Eve alleging patent infringement

Seeks a production ban and damages

Mon Aug 20 2012, 10:10

AMD brings GCN architecture to workstations with CPU and GPUs

The start of certified integrated graphics

Tue Aug 07 2012, 05:00

Court forces Oracle to support Itanium servers

HP claims a hollow victory in court

Thu Aug 02 2012, 12:35

Infineon posts a 57 per cent drop in profits and a bleak future

Looks to cost cutting and investments

Tue Jul 31 2012, 10:42

Texas Instruments sees profits slide as SoC business posts a loss

OMAP market share gets eaten by Snapdragon

Tue Jul 24 2012, 12:25

PC sales decline hits Intel's third quarter results

Revenue flat at $13.5bn as PC earnings drop by eight percent

Wed Oct 17 2012, 11:14

Apple lures Samsung chip designer to join firm

The father of Brazos is now in Cupertino

Fri Oct 12 2012, 13:50

Intel shows off Atom D2500 and D2550 chips for NAS boxes

Talks solutions rather than specifications

Thu Oct 04 2012, 22:29

Renesas faces a loss as 5,000 employees head for the door

Wasn't expecting the mass exodus

Wed Oct 03 2012, 16:44

Qualcomm releases two quad-core Snapdragon chips

Even though it said most users don't need them

Fri Sep 28 2012, 09:51

Renesas share trading halted as Toyota shows interest in bailout

Might rescue Japanese chip giant

Mon Sep 24 2012, 14:45

Globalfoundries launches 14nm process node for SoCs

Expects tape-outs in 2013

Thu Sep 20 2012, 14:56

Intel told Seamicro CEO that Atom servers were not possible

Sees ARM vendors becoming a major force

Mon Sep 17 2012, 15:10

IDF: Intel says Clover Trail will not work with Linux

Banks on Microsoft's marketing for x86 tablet sales

Fri Sep 14 2012, 00:30

IDF: TSMC says it will never serve only one customer

But admits to reserving capacity

Tue Sep 11 2012, 00:53

AMD talks up Steamroller architecture at Hotchips conference

Still no word on Piledriver aside from Fusion

Wed Aug 29 2012, 13:55

ARM and Globalfoundries work on 20nm process node

Competition is on the horizon for TSMC

Mon Aug 13 2012, 12:13

TSMC joins Intel by investing in ASML

In-house rivalry to spur development

Mon Aug 06 2012, 11:37

AMD nabs Apple's chip designer to work on low power chips

Blast from the past comes back to help

Wed Aug 01 2012, 17:23

ARM will work with TSMC on 64-bit ARMv8 chips

FinFETs hold the key

Mon Jul 23 2012, 13:52

AMD is preparing to lay off thousands

Bleak times

Mon Oct 15 2012, 12:21

Calxeda gets $55m in funding for ARM server chips

Just needs server vendors to ship finished systems

Tue Oct 09 2012, 13:50

Applied Materials to shed up to 1,300 jobs due to weak demand

Intel's supplier cuts costs

Thu Oct 04 2012, 14:37

Intel invests in Box as part of $40m spending spree

Spreads the cash

Wed Oct 03 2012, 13:04

AMD confirms dual-core and quad-core Trinity specifications

Hopes it has enough to challenge Intel's mainstream chips

Thu Sep 27 2012, 10:08

Poor Android tablet sales led Intel to deny Linux support to Clover Trail

Column It's all about market share

Fri Sep 21 2012, 16:43

AMD CFO departs

After three years

Tue Sep 18 2012, 12:50

AMD is not limiting Seamicro from using Intel chips

Seamicro wants to sell what the customer wants

Mon Sep 17 2012, 13:50

IDF: Intel touts Atom performance for mobile market

Firm claims it will catch up with rivals

Thu Sep 13 2012, 14:08

IDF: Intel sees Xeon Phi being used for general compute

Foresees thousands of cores

Wed Sep 12 2012, 03:42

Chinese chip upstart aims to take down Intel with Longson refresh

Exclusive ICT has plans to enter the US and European markets

Fri Sep 07 2012, 12:02

Samsung outs a dual-core ARM Cortex A15 chip with 2560x1600 display support

Retina display resolution for tablets

Fri Aug 10 2012, 16:05

ARM submits Mali-T604 GPU for OpenCL certification

Could open the floodgates

Fri Aug 03 2012, 13:23

Mitsubishi loans Renesas $185.5m

Others might have to help

Tue Jul 31 2012, 12:32

ARM sees profits rise by 23 per cent to £66.5m

Sees the good times continuing

Wed Jul 25 2012, 12:39
Page 5 of 53
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Masque malware is putting iPad and iPhone user data at risk

Has news of iOS malware made you reconsider getting an iPhone?