The Inquirer-Home

Chips

AMD announces an Open Compute based Open 3.0 motherboard

Beats Intel to the first punch

Wed Jan 16 2013, 18:00

Intel will not disclose workload details of 7W SDP Ivy Bridge chips

Claims it is strategic information

Tue Jan 15 2013, 13:28

AMD, Intel and Nvidia start 2013 with bold chip statements at CES

Analysis 2013 already shaping up to be a hot year in the chip market

Wed Jan 09 2013, 16:46

ITC judge rules Intel does not infringe X2Y patents

Customers breathe a little easier

Mon Dec 17 2012, 15:30

Intel launches sub-10W Atom S1200 server chips

Getting closer to ARM rivals

Tue Dec 11 2012, 17:00

Paul Otellini believes next Intel CEO will be an internal candidate

There go Pat Gelsinger's chances

Thu Dec 06 2012, 15:06

Intel's previous bond sale brought in $6bn

Latest sale is rated highly by credit agencies

Wed Dec 05 2012, 12:42

ProMOS to reopen 300mm fab auction in two weeks

Gives TSMC, UMC and Globalfoundries another chance

Thu Nov 29 2012, 14:09

Ceva outbids Imagination for MIPS

Board looks at the fine print

Thu Nov 22 2012, 13:43

Paul Otellini will step down as Intel CEO in May

Should raise a smile from Pat Gelsinger

Mon Nov 19 2012, 15:58

Toshiba reopens smartphone and tablet chip plant in Thailand

To meet demand

Wed Nov 14 2012, 15:03

Intel launches Poulson Itanium 9500 chips

Continues to drag the anchor

Fri Nov 09 2012, 15:11

Wolfson posts 31 percent sales increase and turns a profit

Gets back into the black

Wed Oct 31 2012, 15:28

ARM casts doubt on popularity of Big Little architecture in servers

Better suited to smartphone and tablet workloads

Tue Oct 30 2012, 17:04

IBM researchers put 10,000 carbon nanotube transistors on a chip

Claims manufacturing breakthrough

Mon Oct 29 2012, 17:05

Texas Instruments reports 30 percent increase in profits

Cost cutting pays off

Tue Oct 23 2012, 14:06

Intel says chip vendors' TDP figures are not comparable

Its Atom and Core TDPs can't be compared

Wed Jan 16 2013, 00:37

Apple reportedly taps TSMC's 28nm process node for A6X chip

First warning shot for Samsung chips

Wed Jan 02 2013, 19:34

Intel says app-specific processors might not be feasible

Sees little differentiation between product segmentation

Wed Dec 12 2012, 10:00

IBM achieves 25Gbit/s photonics breakthrough

Shines a light into the future of chip development

Mon Dec 10 2012, 14:45

Banks ease loan terms to help Renesas stay afloat

Japanese circle the wagons

Thu Dec 06 2012, 12:24

Intel will issue bonds to buy back its own shares

Wants a little extra pocket money

Tue Dec 04 2012, 17:33

AMD will sell its Austin campus to fund operations

Aims to free up cash

Wed Nov 28 2012, 13:39

Intel signs a $50m deal with Creative for Ziilabs

Loads up on GPU technology

Tue Nov 20 2012, 15:43

ST Microelectronics will shelve breakup plans

Can't convince the board

Fri Nov 16 2012, 13:56

AMD hires JP Morgan to find buyers

For parts or all of the firm

Wed Nov 14 2012, 12:40

ARM and Imagination take over MIPS for $350m

Want protection from patent lawsuits

Tue Nov 06 2012, 14:40

AMD will use own GPU in ARM Opteron APUs

But will focus on CPUs first

Tue Oct 30 2012, 18:04

ARM announces 64bit Cortex A50 series processors

AMD is joined by Samsung, Calxeda and Broadcom

Tue Oct 30 2012, 16:20

Nvidia says high performance ARM servers are a few years off

But will eventually challenge Intel

Mon Oct 29 2012, 07:00

ARM sees third quarter profits increase by 22 percent to £68m

With margins to make Apple jealous

Tue Oct 23 2012, 13:20

PC sales decline hits Intel's third quarter results

Revenue flat at $13.5bn as PC earnings drop by eight percent

Wed Oct 17 2012, 11:14

Via announces an 800MHz ARM system for harsh environments

Pico ITX based machine has a go anywhere attitude

Tue Jan 15 2013, 21:29

x86 vendors move away from old strategies to compete with ARM

Frequency and core count take a back seat to efficiency

Mon Jan 14 2013, 09:00

Intel's IPTV dreams are hampered by haggling over content

Dates continue to slip

Wed Jan 02 2013, 19:11

Intel will offer Avoton Atom chips with core count and frequency variations

Not just frequency grades

Tue Dec 11 2012, 17:00

TSMC sales increased 24 percent during 2012

28nm process node brings home the bacon

Mon Dec 10 2012, 12:43

Broadcom outs three ARM Cortex A9 chips for cheap smartphones

For vendors that can't be bothered to design their own chips

Wed Dec 05 2012, 14:16

Qualcomm will invest $120m in Sharp

First to make a move for the troubled display maker

Tue Dec 04 2012, 13:21

Renesas gets $2.4bn loan to stay afloat

Edges closer to being state owned

Mon Nov 26 2012, 12:50

Intel will dump PowerVR graphics in Bay Trail Atom

Confident with its own integrated GPU

Tue Nov 20 2012, 11:09

Texas Instruments cuts 1,700 jobs to focus on OMAP business

Aims for products with longer lifecycles

Thu Nov 15 2012, 13:07

HP says mission critical customers want Linux and Windows on X86

It's not worth moving HP-UX to X86

Mon Nov 12 2012, 16:28

Apple is rumoured to be looking at ditching Intel chips in Macs

Intel says nothing will change for a long time

Tue Nov 06 2012, 14:08

AMD will not license Seamicro's Freedom Fabric to CPU vendors

Will use it to win business

Tue Oct 30 2012, 17:37

AMD says ARM based Opteron chips will appear in 2014

Claims Seamicro's interconnect fabric will set it apart

Tue Oct 30 2012, 11:51

Dell offers the Apache Foundation access to ARM based Zinc server

Wants to help the porting effort

Thu Oct 25 2012, 12:32

ARM and Vivante see GPU SoC market share increases

Qualcomm and Imagination are feeling the heat

Mon Oct 22 2012, 12:28
Page 4 of 53
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Microsoft's Windows 10 Preview has permission to watch your every move

Does Microsoft have the right to keylog users of its Windows 10 Technical Preview?