The Inquirer-Home

Devices

Samsung's Galaxy S5 will be powered by a 64-bit ARM Exynos 6 chip

128-bit architecture isn't far away

Wed Nov 20 2013, 13:53

Texas Instruments launches chips for self driving cars

The TDA2x will aid 2D and 3D surround view and rear collision warning

Wed Oct 16 2013, 16:51

Intel Bay Trail benchmarking test and hands-on

We put Intel's latest Atom mobile chip through its paces

Tue Oct 08 2013, 17:02

Intel says open source 3D printed robots are coming

Twenty-first Century Robot project will bridge the technology gap

Fri Sep 13 2013, 13:42

Intel pits Bay Trail against Qualcomm and Nvidia mobile chips

It unsurprisingly wins

Thu Sep 12 2013, 09:59

CSR launches ‘world's thinnest' wireless touch surface

Will wirelessly connect to iOS 7 and Windows 8 devices using the CSR1010 chip

Wed Sep 04 2013, 08:50

IBM, Google and Nvidia form Openpower Consortium to rival Intel and AMD

Attempts to mirror ARM's business model

Wed Aug 07 2013, 10:52

Texas Instruments releases chips to provide HD 720p touchscreens in cars

Tries to improve the quality of in-car entertainment

Wed Jul 03 2013, 16:35

Arduino launches Yún for WiFi connectivity under Linux

Aims to make connecting to complex web services that use XML much easier

Mon May 20 2013, 12:18

AMD says IOMMU v2.5 is key for Linux HSA support

But the real work is in compilers and libraries

Thu May 02 2013, 17:13

Samsung says the Galaxy S4 might use Hynix DRAM

Its own DRAM factory can't meet demand

Thu Apr 18 2013, 13:48

Qualcomm talks up Quick Charge 2.0

Charges smartphones and tablets with a Snapdragon 800 CPU up to 75 percent faster

Fri Feb 22 2013, 12:38

Intel, AMD, Nvidia and ARM: 2012 semiconductor year in review

Competition heated up as firms tried to cut power and improve graphics performance

Thu Dec 20 2012, 14:00

CPC to run 24-hour Raspberry Pi hackathon

Looks for hardware and software hacks

Mon Nov 19 2012, 17:25

Qualcomm sees profits increase 43 percent in 2012

Despite TSMC's capacity issues

Thu Nov 08 2012, 13:10

NXP believes it will be 'many years' before NFC is put into SoCs

Some way to go yet

Thu Oct 18 2012, 09:48

Amazon reportedly is eyeing up Texas Instruments' SoC business

Updated Cheaper chips for the Kindle

Mon Oct 15 2012, 15:50

AMD eyes Intel Bay Trail with Mullins and Beema mobile APU updates

Better performance and efficiency for fanless tablets, laptops and two-in-one devices

Wed Nov 13 2013, 22:15

IBM supercomputer to accelerate Southampton University research

Iridis4 is one of the world's fastest supercomputers, the university claims

Wed Oct 16 2013, 13:03

Arduino teams with Intel to launch robot powering Galileo board

Adds a Texas Instruments board to its lineup too

Thu Oct 03 2013, 15:28

Intel turns wine into electricity to power mobile devices

A solution for power conscious boozers

Fri Sep 13 2013, 10:15

Intel Atom powered tablets to ship for 'under $100' in the US this year

No word on UK pricing or availability

Wed Sep 11 2013, 09:15

ARM buys advanced display technology from Cadence

Looks to improve its mobile processor offerings

Tue Sep 03 2013, 16:55

Apple buys low-power wireless chip designer Passif Semiconductor

Suggests greater effort to cut the power drain of wireless connectivity

Fri Aug 02 2013, 11:13

Apple shifts production from Foxconn to Pegatron

Could be preparing for a budget iPhone

Fri May 31 2013, 10:16

NXP announces MFA100 development kit for iPhone and iPad Lightning accessories

Optimised for audio streaming

Thu May 16 2013, 14:24

AMD says a sub-9W G series SoC is weeks away

Pushing Jaguar to the power limit

Tue Apr 23 2013, 09:00

Nvidia says TSMC's rivals are knocking on its door

Waiting in the wings for any slip-up

Fri Mar 22 2013, 02:35

Qualcomm's little known Quick Charge is in most Snapdragon devices

It just forgot to tell us

Thu Feb 14 2013, 17:26

Broadcom will sample LTE chips in 2013

Suggests mainstream LTE handset availability and pricing by 2014

Fri Dec 07 2012, 14:43

Applied Materials posts $515m loss as silicon demand wanes

Expects improvements next year

Fri Nov 16 2012, 16:37

Intel launches Crystal Forest chipset for network infrastructure vendors

Touts high performance packet handling capabilities

Thu Nov 01 2012, 16:11

NXP says NFC doesn't need Apple to succeed

Claims it can be used in paper materials

Wed Oct 17 2012, 12:06

ST Microelectronics is mulling a break-up

Wants to separate its analog and digital businesses

Fri Oct 12 2012, 17:31

ARM releases faster embedded chip architecture for cars

Will boost the power of embedded chips to support future automotive systems

Thu Oct 24 2013, 11:47

Imagination eyes Intel and ARM with Warrior P5600 CPU based on MIPS architecture

Claims it's 30 percent more efficient than its rivals

Tue Oct 15 2013, 14:43

Teardown reveals Samsung built A7 chip inside the iPhone 5S

Apple looks to its archrival for latest flagship smartphone

Tue Sep 24 2013, 16:52

Intel shows off online virtual shopping service [Video]

Will revolutionise online shopping, apparently

Thu Sep 12 2013, 10:25

Intel is working on its 'smallest SoC ever' for wearable devices

A fifth of the size of Atom chips and ten times more efficient

Tue Sep 10 2013, 20:26

IBM talks up brain inspired programming language for SyNAPSE chips

Calculates tasks that are relatively easy for humans but difficult for computers

Fri Aug 09 2013, 13:38

Nvidia's Shield Android games console uses a fan to keep cool

Not a great sign for Tegra 4

Thu Aug 01 2013, 17:17

Intel sees GPU shipments drop while AMD and Nvidia see gains

Nvidia scores in mobile devices while AMD's APUs pay off

Mon May 20 2013, 13:25

ARM collaborates with Logmein to launch Xively cloud service

Makes it easier to design kit using its microcontrollers

Tue May 14 2013, 13:29

AMD announces quad-core G series x86 system on chip (SoC) parts

Jaguar and Sea Islands on a single die

Tue Apr 23 2013, 05:00

Nvidia says its Tegra 4 Chimera architecture will support many sensors

Not just process high dynamic range images

Tue Mar 19 2013, 22:48

Samsung to spend $1.7bn expanding Kunshan plant

Expands research activities in China

Mon Jan 28 2013, 13:19

ZTE reportedly is designing an eight-core smartphone

Goes for a big jump in core count

Mon Nov 26 2012, 13:52

Intel and Qualcomm consider $378m investment in Sharp

Might not be enough

Wed Nov 14 2012, 15:24

NXP gives an NFC credit card video demo

Capacitive touchscreen is a pattern identifier for NFC payments

Fri Oct 19 2012, 11:28

NXP claims internet of things needs devices to ditch mains power

Says wireless charging doesn't work

Wed Oct 17 2012, 11:38
Page 3 of 5
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Internet of Things at Christmas poll

Which smart device are you hoping Santa brings?