The Inquirer-Home

Devices

AMD says a sub-9W G series SoC is weeks away

Pushing Jaguar to the power limit

Tue Apr 23 2013, 09:00

Nvidia says TSMC's rivals are knocking on its door

Waiting in the wings for any slip-up

Fri Mar 22 2013, 02:35

Qualcomm's little known Quick Charge is in most Snapdragon devices

It just forgot to tell us

Thu Feb 14 2013, 17:26

Broadcom will sample LTE chips in 2013

Suggests mainstream LTE handset availability and pricing by 2014

Fri Dec 07 2012, 14:43

Applied Materials posts $515m loss as silicon demand wanes

Expects improvements next year

Fri Nov 16 2012, 16:37

Intel launches Crystal Forest chipset for network infrastructure vendors

Touts high performance packet handling capabilities

Thu Nov 01 2012, 16:11

NXP says NFC doesn't need Apple to succeed

Claims it can be used in paper materials

Wed Oct 17 2012, 12:06

ST Microelectronics is mulling a break-up

Wants to separate its analog and digital businesses

Fri Oct 12 2012, 17:31

IDF: Intel is looking at ARM's Big Little architecture

Needs an operating system first

Fri Sep 14 2012, 19:58

AMD's Seamicro head is not interested in ARM chips

Prefers to wait a couple of years

Tue Sep 11 2012, 03:46

Samsung will invest $4bn to renovate Texas chip plant

To boost production of chips used in smartphones and tablets

Tue Aug 21 2012, 15:01

AMD launches a 4.5W G series APU for embedded systems

Geode users are urged to upgrade

Mon Jun 25 2012, 13:12

Intel launches Vpro Ivy Bridge chips and Panther Point chipsets

Atom support is on its way

Tue May 15 2012, 13:30

TSMC says it made a 28nm 3.1GHz Cortex A9 chip

Gives Qualcomm a reason to stay

Thu May 03 2012, 12:40

Qualcomm blames TSMC for chip shortage

28nm production can't keep up

Thu Apr 19 2012, 18:16

Raspberry Pi PCs are hard to find

We seek them here, we seek them there

Fri Mar 02 2012, 13:07

Broadcom and Qualcomm announce chips for Android 4.0 and Windows 8

Narrow choices in the hope of success

Mon Feb 27 2012, 14:25

AMD announces quad-core G series x86 system on chip (SoC) parts

Jaguar and Sea Islands on a single die

Tue Apr 23 2013, 05:00

Nvidia says its Tegra 4 Chimera architecture will support many sensors

Not just process high dynamic range images

Tue Mar 19 2013, 22:48

Samsung to spend $1.7bn expanding Kunshan plant

Expands research activities in China

Mon Jan 28 2013, 13:19

ZTE reportedly is designing an eight-core smartphone

Goes for a big jump in core count

Mon Nov 26 2012, 13:52

Intel and Qualcomm consider $378m investment in Sharp

Might not be enough

Wed Nov 14 2012, 15:24

NXP gives an NFC credit card video demo

Capacitive touchscreen is a pattern identifier for NFC payments

Fri Oct 19 2012, 11:28

NXP claims internet of things needs devices to ditch mains power

Says wireless charging doesn't work

Wed Oct 17 2012, 11:38

TSMC announces two 20nm reference flows for chip designers

Preparing the ground for 20nm

Tue Oct 09 2012, 15:47

AMD's Hondo will only support Windows 8 at launch

Linux support coming, Android perhaps later

Fri Sep 14 2012, 18:31

IDF: ARM plays down its ties with TSMC

Talk doesn't match actions

Tue Sep 11 2012, 03:12

AMD offers only more TSMC capacity for Qualcomm

Analysis Little else of real value

Fri Aug 10 2012, 09:30

Intel CPU flaw is vulnerable to hacker attacks

Updated Allows execution of malicious code to gain control of 64-bit Windows OS

Mon Jun 18 2012, 12:16

Apple and Foxconn will share the costs of factory upgrades

Chinese assembler promises to improve conditions for workers

Thu May 10 2012, 12:48

Wolfson releases a high-definition audio chip for smartphones

There's no need to shout

Tue May 01 2012, 17:50

MIPS Technologies hires Goldman Sachs to find a buyer

Gives up the fight with ARM

Fri Apr 13 2012, 14:34

Nvidia says Qualcomm's Snapdragon S4 performance claims are wrong

More cores result in better performance

Wed Feb 29 2012, 10:54

ST-Ericsson promotes CFO to COO hoping for better execution

Rejigged board takes shape

Tue Feb 21 2012, 14:23

Samsung says the Galaxy S4 might use Hynix DRAM

Its own DRAM factory can't meet demand

Thu Apr 18 2013, 13:48

Qualcomm talks up Quick Charge 2.0

Charges smartphones and tablets with a Snapdragon 800 CPU up to 75 percent faster

Fri Feb 22 2013, 12:38

Intel, AMD, Nvidia and ARM: 2012 semiconductor year in review

Competition heated up as firms tried to cut power and improve graphics performance

Thu Dec 20 2012, 14:00

CPC to run 24-hour Raspberry Pi hackathon

Looks for hardware and software hacks

Mon Nov 19 2012, 17:25

Qualcomm sees profits increase 43 percent in 2012

Despite TSMC's capacity issues

Thu Nov 08 2012, 13:10

NXP believes it will be 'many years' before NFC is put into SoCs

Some way to go yet

Thu Oct 18 2012, 09:48

Amazon reportedly is eyeing up Texas Instruments' SoC business

Updated Cheaper chips for the Kindle

Mon Oct 15 2012, 15:50

Qualcomm says 95 percent of users don't need quad-core processors

Real gains to be seen in a few years

Thu Sep 20 2012, 14:19

IDF: Intel reveals 10W TDP Haswell part for ultrabooks

Skaugen wants to reinvent laptops in 2013

Tue Sep 11 2012, 20:49

IDT releases two NVMe PCI-Express SSD controllers

Moving towards controller standardisation

Tue Aug 21 2012, 16:39

VIA announces 1GHz ARM Cortex A8 Pico-ITX board

Tries its hand away from x86

Tue Jul 24 2012, 14:29

AMD puts Piledriver in its R series embedded APU

DirectX 11 graphics for 17W

Mon May 21 2012, 13:40

AMD G series APUs support Windows Embedded Compact 7

APUs for medical, retail and industrial devices

Tue May 08 2012, 13:24

Samsung outs quad-core Exynos 4 Quad SoC for the Galaxy S III

Touts improved power efficiency

Thu Apr 26 2012, 10:37

ARM launches Cortex M0+ for controlling everything

Sensors here, there and everywhere

Tue Mar 13 2012, 16:42

Orange to launch an Intel Medfield smartphone

Intel hopes the future is bright

Mon Feb 27 2012, 16:02
Page 3 of 5
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Dead electronic devices to be banned on US-bound flights

Will the new rules banning uncharged devices be effective?