The Inquirer-Home

Devices

Apple's iPhone 7 chip will reportedly be supplied by Samsung Electronics

South Korean chip maker beats off competition from TSMC

Mon Jan 26 2015, 15:00

CES 2015: Intel unveils Curie chip, a button-sized module for future wearables

Tiny chip includes a processor, Bluetooth low-energy radio and sensors

Wed Jan 07 2015, 19:05

Imagination Technologies wants to drive the Internet of Things with Raspberry Pi rival

Releases a single-board minicomputer for both Android and Linux developers

Thu Dec 04 2014, 17:20

Nvidia unveils Tesla K80 GPU accelerator for high performance computing

Boasts double the power of the Tesla K40

Mon Nov 17 2014, 17:35

LG unveils Nuclun, its very own smartphone chip

Will debut the chip in the upcoming G3 Screen smartphone

Fri Oct 24 2014, 14:06

Nvidia's Maxwell GPU architecture hits notebooks with the GeForce GTX 970M and 980M

Brings on board most of the features boasted by the Maxwell desktop versions

Tue Oct 07 2014, 17:26

Intel beats Qualcomm to lead non-iPad global tablet chip market

Takes a fifth of the market share

Thu Oct 02 2014, 10:52

ARM unveils 32-bit Cortex-M7 processor for Internet of Things devices

Will power embedded applications in next generation vehicles and smart homes

Wed Sep 24 2014, 12:26

IDF: Intel is sampling its third generation 14nm data centre SoC, the Xeon D

Offers Xeon-class performance for hyperscale workloads in high density, optimised servers

Fri Sep 12 2014, 10:08

IFA: Intel launches 14nm fanless Core M processor for 2-in-1 devices

Promises to 'reinvent the notebook'

Fri Sep 05 2014, 16:30

Michael J Fox teams with Intel to use big data and wearables in Parkinson's research

Analysis Will track patient data and improve treatment

Thu Aug 14 2014, 13:03

IBM upscales human brain inspired Synapse chip that runs with little power

Says postage stamp size chip could transform the world

Fri Aug 08 2014, 11:47

Imagination launches a tiny GPU for the next generation of wearable technology

The PowerVR Series5XE GX5300 aims to power the growing internet of things

Thu Jul 17 2014, 15:22

Snapdragon 805 benchmarks slightly outperform the Galaxy S5, One M8

Incoming Qualcomm chip shows small boost compared to Snapdragon 801

Thu Jul 10 2014, 15:24

ARM ushers in 64-bit Android architectures with Juno board

Powered by a quad-core ARM Cortex-A53 CPU and dual-core ARM Cortex-A57 CPU

Thu Jul 03 2014, 11:55

Computex: A4WP's Rezence wireless charging could be in all tablets and laptops by 2015

Intel is working with OEMs to bring the standard to devices with Broadwell successor

Wed Jun 04 2014, 11:45

Computex: Intel shows an Internet of Things-powered wireless future [Video]

Working on bringing its vision to fruition in 18 to 24 months

Tue Jun 03 2014, 11:22

Intel CEO dismisses rumours Apple will look to ARM for future Mac chips

But can't explain why it is better than rival firm

Mon Jan 19 2015, 14:36

CES 2015: Qualcomm thinks wearables aren't ready for prime time yet

Require 'trial and error' testing over the next couple of years

Tue Jan 06 2015, 09:00

Intel wants you to scan body parts to eliminate the password

Log-in to your PC using biometric authentication by the end of this year

Tue Nov 25 2014, 15:38

Samsung countersues Nvidia for 'false and misleading' Tegra K1 benchmark scores

Firm claims its own Exynos 5433 processor is faster

Wed Nov 12 2014, 12:23

Samsung ships its first 20nm 8Gbit DDR4 memory chips for servers

As well as 32GB Dimms made on the same process

Tue Oct 21 2014, 16:51

Samsung to splurge almost $15bn on Korean chip plant

To bolster profits in its semiconductor business

Mon Oct 06 2014, 12:37

ARM teams with 1248 to launch Hyperweave gateway to 'IoT-enable' enterprises

Means networks can support IP right to the edge of connected device networks

Tue Sep 30 2014, 16:25

Mediatek's Labs programme offers developers tools to create IoT devices

To drive the next wave of consumer gadgets and apps

Tue Sep 23 2014, 11:21

IDF: Intel previews Broadwell architecture successor Skylake

Will hit PCs, laptops and tablets by the second half of 2015

Wed Sep 10 2014, 13:16

Boston previews upcoming Intel Xeon workstations and servers

A peek at upcoming systems running Intel's Xeon E5-2600 Haswell-EP processors

Fri Aug 29 2014, 10:14

Mediatek releases 64-bit octa-core LTE SoC in Europe

First smartphone in Europe to feature the chip will be Vodafone's Smart 4 Power

Wed Aug 13 2014, 11:22

CSRmesh SDK arrives to speed up low-power IoT product development

Enables devices to be networked together and controlled from a smartphone

Tue Jul 29 2014, 13:59

Intel posts record quarterly earnings thanks to strong PC chip sales

Users upgrading from Windows XP to Windows 8 have helped grow revenue

Wed Jul 16 2014, 11:47

IBM pumps $3bn into semiconductor research to discover chips of the future

Aims to develop alternative technology for 'post-silicon era chips'

Thu Jul 10 2014, 13:16

Intel cuts ribbon on UK Internet of Things Ignition Lab

Centre will spur innovators to collaborate with Intel on end-to-end IoT solutions

Thu Jun 26 2014, 15:23

Computex: Intel shows off Core M 2-in-1 reference designs [Video]

Including a fanless 7.3mm thick dockable laptop tablet hybrid

Wed Jun 04 2014, 10:29

Computex: Intel unveils Broadwell-based Core M chip for 2-in-1 devices

14nm fanless mobile chip family

Tue Jun 03 2014, 11:03

Intel's mobile division hit by major loss in Q4 2014

But firm logs strong sales in PC chips, data centres and IoT

Fri Jan 16 2015, 12:36

CES 2015: Nvidia's Tegra X1 mobile supercomputer chip looks to cars of the future

Claims it's the most 'super energy efficient architecture in the world'

Mon Jan 05 2015, 09:00

Qualcomm to rival Intel with server chip offering

CEO tells analysts the firm is working on chips for the data centre

Thu Nov 20 2014, 12:37

Imagination Technologies launches next-gen PowerVR Series7 GPUs

Aimed at improving efficiency and performance in wearables and IoT devices

Mon Nov 10 2014, 17:20

Galaxy Note 4 features Samsung's smallest ever NFC chip

Claims the S3FWRN5 is the world's only NFC IC built using a 45nm e-Flash process

Wed Oct 08 2014, 16:21

ARM's Mbed OS aims to speed up creation of Internet of Things devices

Offers internet protocols, security and standards based manageability in one tool

Thu Oct 02 2014, 13:27

Intel plots smartphone chip takeover, invests £920m in Chinese mobile SoC firm

Aims to get products to market by the second half of next year

Fri Sep 26 2014, 14:16

IDF: Wearables, robots, 3D body scanning tablets and wireless everything

Highlights from this year's Intel Developer Forum

Mon Sep 15 2014, 10:43

IDF: Intel's tiny Edison chip for wearables is available for $50

Firm also shows off its second generation Basis Peak smartwatch

Wed Sep 10 2014, 09:56

Samsung outs first 20nm octa-core chip to debut inside the Galaxy Alpha

The Exynos 5430 is 25 percent more power efficient over its predecessor

Fri Aug 15 2014, 11:37

Intel ships 14nm Core M Broadwell-Y chips for 'ultra-thin' laptops and tablets

A fanless Macbook could be coming

Mon Aug 11 2014, 17:00

Apple and Qualcomm tipped to dump TSMC in favour of Samsung

Sends TSMC's shares plummeting by almost six percent

Thu Jul 17 2014, 17:15

Raspberry Pi Model B+ vs Model B video

The foundation talks us through the key features of the updated device

Mon Jul 14 2014, 14:13

Worldwide semiconductor sales swell seven percent due to DRAM explosion

But Gartner predicts the next big memory downturn will hit in 2016

Thu Jul 10 2014, 12:22

Intel raises second quarter outlook due to increased demand for business PCs

Companies are replacing PCs due to end of support for Windows XP

Fri Jun 13 2014, 13:44

Computex: AMD launches Kaveri APU chip for mobile PCs and notebooks

Revealed less than 24 hours after Intel unveils Core M chip for 2-in-1s

Wed Jun 04 2014, 05:00
Page 1 of 6
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Happy new year!

What tech are you most looking forward to in 2015