The Inquirer-Home

Chips

Nvidia outs CUDA 6 release candidate for faster and easier parallel programming

Unified memory update lets CUDA apps access CPU and GPU memory faster

Fri Mar 07 2014, 11:22

IBM demonstrates a functioning graphene circuit

Your phone could end up smaller and lighter

Fri Jan 31 2014, 16:18

Intel is in the Kno

Chipmaker adds to its education portfolio

Mon Nov 11 2013, 15:59

Beancounters fret about Apple’s memory supply

IHS thinks that Samsung has the edge

Fri Sep 06 2013, 15:20

AMD announces a dual-core 6W x86 chip for fanless applications

Includes Radeon graphics and ECC memory support

Tue Jul 30 2013, 13:00

Qualcomm sees profits jump by 35 percent thanks to smartphone and tablet chips

Snapdragon continues to slay rivals

Thu Jul 25 2013, 14:10

Google buys into semiconductor firm Himax for Google Glass

Follows Intel

Mon Jul 22 2013, 16:30

Intel reports a 28 percent fall in profits as PC sales decline continues

Haswell doesn't have the desired effect

Thu Jul 18 2013, 11:35

Intel Fab 32 leaks gas leaving 11 workers needing hospital treatment

Part of plant under lockdown

Mon Jul 01 2013, 15:25

Intel CTO Justin Rattner steps down after hitting age limit

Chipmaker will create a new position

Fri Jun 28 2013, 10:08

Apple's 11in Macbook Air uses just one Samsung chip

And manages to almost double battery life

Fri Jun 14 2013, 17:27

AMD launches Richland APUs with Piledriver cores

Tweaks Trinity to compete against Haswell

Wed Jun 05 2013, 05:00

Intel announces quad-core Haswell Core i7 processors

Modest CPU improvements make way for big GPU changes

Sat Jun 01 2013, 15:00

Mentor Graphics releases chip verification tools for TSMC's 16nm FinFET process node

Lets designers get started on new chips

Wed May 29 2013, 12:24

ARM announces LG as lead partner for Cortex A50 series

Joins Samsung in supporting 64bit ARM chips

Fri May 24 2013, 13:41

Nvidia demonstrates 150Mbit/s LTE on Tegra 4i

Touts the upgrability of software defined radio

Wed May 22 2013, 14:29

Outgoing Intel CEO Paul Otellini says he turned down Apple's iPhone business

Underestimated iPhone demand

Fri May 17 2013, 16:25

IBM reportedly is considering selling its semiconductor business

Could see complete sale or partnership

Fri Feb 07 2014, 16:22

Intel, AMD, Nvidia, ARM and Qualcomm: 2013 chips roundup

The past year in all things silicon

Mon Dec 30 2013, 11:30

Intel's Dadi Perlmutter to depart in February 2014

Leaving 'to pursue other opportunities'

Thu Oct 24 2013, 15:30

Intel hits back at ARM with Avoton server chips

Chipmaker ramps up performance of its x86 SoCs for high-density servers

Wed Sep 04 2013, 17:30

Samsung reports a 50 percent jump in profits thanks to Galaxy S4 success

Semiconductor demand is also in rude health

Fri Jul 26 2013, 12:15

ARM profits fall due to patent litigation costs despite sales increase

One time hit masks impressive growth

Wed Jul 24 2013, 10:34

Intel is facing hardware and software challenges

Column Open source offers rivals hope

Fri Jul 19 2013, 15:47

Nvidia Tegra 4 will debut in Android Nuvola video streaming unit

Nvidia's Shield delay has cost it first place

Tue Jul 16 2013, 15:10

D-Wave quantum computer passes tests ahead of Google deployment

Researchers claim it passed muster

Mon Jul 01 2013, 13:47

Imagination reveals MIPS 32-bit and 64-bit processor roadmap details

Doesn't waste much time

Thu Jun 27 2013, 14:03

Toshiba shows off a multi-level MROM cell for smartphones

Claims performance improvements for no extra space

Thu Jun 13 2013, 14:30

Intel announces dual-core Haswell chips for laptops

Still no sub-10W TDP parts

Tue Jun 04 2013, 07:00

Nvidia's Geforce GTX 770 comes close to the Radeon HD 7970 GHz Edition

Exclusive But still no cigar

Wed May 29 2013, 18:50

AMD announces quad-core Opteron X series chips for microservers

Goes up against Intel's Centerton and Avoton Atoms

Wed May 29 2013, 05:03

Qualcomm, Broadcom and Nvidia buck falling semiconductor revenues in 2012

Rare highlights in bleak 2012 results

Thu May 23 2013, 12:13

Intel CEO takes direct control of Architecture Group

Doesn't wait long to make changes

Wed May 22 2013, 12:45

Intel says ARM's DS-5 screenshots in Silvermont presentation were a mistake

Updated Gives an inadvertant nod to a competitor

Fri May 17 2013, 16:01

AMD touts ARM based server processor specifications

Claims it's a tipping point

Fri Feb 07 2014, 16:03

Intel and Barcelona FC sign technology deal

Intel Inside shirts

Fri Dec 13 2013, 12:35

Intel launches Xeon E5 v2 processor family for servers and workstations

Chip updated to 22nm Ivy Bridge core for 30 percent performance boost

Tue Sep 10 2013, 20:44

IDC predicts chip revenue will increase despite falling PC sales

Memory prices, smartphones, tablets and cars make up the shortfall

Tue Jul 30 2013, 16:55

Intel and Toshiba are set to make the greatest film since Itanic

Aliens and moustaches to set box office on fire in The Power Inside

Thu Jul 25 2013, 15:52

Samsung updates Exynos 5 Octa chip with six-core GPU

Even more GPGPU power

Tue Jul 23 2013, 12:12

AMD posts $29m loss but predicts future profits due to PS4 and Xbox One sales

Expects deals with Sony and Microsoft to turn fortunes around

Fri Jul 19 2013, 13:15

Fujitsu licenses ARM Cortex A15 and Cortex A7 for Big Little configurations

Says consumer and industrial devices will see chips

Tue Jul 02 2013, 15:50

Nvidia's graphics licensing strategy needs more than just Kepler

Column Chip designers want more than just an architecture

Fri Jun 28 2013, 13:29

Intel invests in restaurant tablet business

One way to get into the tablet market

Tue Jun 25 2013, 13:25

Dell says Intel's Xeon turbo boost causes thread synchronisation problems

Claims it has a software solution

Thu Jun 06 2013, 13:27

ARM announces Cortex A12 chip for midrange smartphones and tablets

Touts Big Little compatibility

Mon Jun 03 2013, 05:00

Intel buys ST Ericsson's navigation chip business for smartphones and tablets

Navigation chip to end up in portable devices

Wed May 29 2013, 13:28

ARM releases dual-core Cortex A15 hard macro for TSMC's 28nm HPM process node

Should speed up chip development

Tue May 28 2013, 17:29

AMD lifts the lid on Temash and Kabini chips

Jaguar outside of games consoles

Thu May 23 2013, 05:00
Page 1 of 53
Advertisement
Subscribe to INQ newsletters

Sign up for INQbot – a weekly roundup of the best from the INQ

Advertisement
INQ Poll

Heartbleed bug discovered in OpenSSL

Have you reacted to Heartbleed?